Social Work by
This collection charts the key developments in the social work field from 1970 to the present day and shows how by fully understanding social work's past, we can make better progress for practitioners and service users in the future. It brings together a broad collection of experts from across social work who trace how thinking and approaches to practice have changed over time, examine key legislative developments in the field, look at the impacts of major inquiries and consider the re-emergence of certain specialisms. Providing students and practitioners of social work and social policy with a full picture of the evolution of social work, it also shares important insights for its future directions.
The Care Act 2014 by
Exploring exactly how the provisions and principles of the Act are implemented in practice, The Care Act 2014 brings together the work of experts across the fields of social work, social policy and care, law, mental health, mental capacity and safeguarding. Case studies developed through the chapters will help you to understand how the Act relates to social work practice, alongside evidence from research, case law and service user and carer testimonies. Mapped closely to both the social work curriculum, and the post-qualifying standards, the book will support social work students in developing good practice through learning, and will further critical reflection of this crucial piece of legislation for practitioners pursuing their continuing professional development.
Social Policy and Social Work by
An understanding of social policy is crucial for social workers as it underpins and shapes the legislative framework that they work within. From safeguarding service users and enabling them to improve their lives, to protecting the most vulnerable in society, social policy also has a vital role to play within social work education. It is important therefore for students to engage critically with social policy. Social Policy and Social Work introduces policy and shows how it has changed and evolved over time, how it reflects changes in society, and how it is applied to everyday practice.
The Social Worker's Guide to the Care Act 2014 by
The Care Act 2014 is arguably the most significant piece of legislation in the UK since the National Health Service and Community Care Act 1990 in relation to adults who have social care needs. It is particularly important for social workers as it sets out the legislative context for the core social work processes that apply to all adults. The Social Worker's Guide to the Care Act 2014 considers the Act and the statutory guidance from the perspective of what is most important and relevant for social workers. It covers the key stages of what is known as the 'customer journey'-first contact, assessment of needs, prevention, consideration of eligibility, charging and financial assessment, care and support planning, and review. In addition, other chapters look at significant issues that cut across several stages of the customer journey, such as safeguarding and working with NHS colleagues. To provide a broader context for the Care Act, consideration is made for how the Act consolidates and modernises social care law and codifies good practice. There is also an examination of how the new legislation is reshaping the language of social care. This book provides qualifying social workers with a working knowledge of what the Care Act and the accompanying statutory guidance says about their professional role and how professional judgments are to be made, and helps them to understand the good practice that is codified in the statutory guidance. (Series: Critical Skills for Social Work) [Subject: UK Social Work]Ã?
Social Policy for Social Work by
Contemporary social work cannot be understood without an appreciation of the broader context of social policy in which it takes place. Such an understanding is increasingly important as social workers are expected to work across institutional, professional and even national boundaries in new ways profoundly affected by the changing global context. This insightful book examines how shifts in the dominant political ideology have affected the nature of welfare provision, the kinds of social problems addressed by policy, and the balance of responsibilities for well-being between individuals, the family, voluntary organizations, the market and the state. It explains the impact of these developments on the organization of social work and on relationships between social workers and service users. The book discusses contested concepts central to social work - such as justice, liberty, equality, difference, need and risk - and illustrates these through a range of examples. The critical analysis provided in this book offers students of social work a crucial foundation for negotiating difficult and sensitive practice situations and defending their profession, providing them with the tools and knowledge to uphold key professional values.
Social Work with Adults by
Social work with vulnerable adults is becoming increasingly centred on a key piece of legislation: the Mental Capacity Act. The Act provides a framework for protecting the vulnerable while allowing those who may lack capacity to have certain safeguards enshrined in law. This book will help support students to learn two things: first, how the Mental Capacity Act operates and what its key principles are when applied to safeguarding adults; and second, what are the compassionate skills and values that need to be interwoven with legislative knowledge? The authors show how these two principles interact and inform one another and how taking a person-centred approach to safeguarding vulnerable adults will mean better outcomes for the individual and our wider society.
Social Work Law, Ethics and Social Policy by
Are you a social work student looking to understand how the law, ethics and social policy interrelate in practice? Then look no further! Whether you a student or Newly Qualified Social Worker working with children and families or adults at risk of harm, this practical guide will equip you with the knowledge and skills you need to fulfil your professional responsibilities and practice with confidence. This book covers all the areas of law you need to know: social work with children and families, vulnerable adults and social issues such as welfare and homelessness. Each section concludes with a discussion of how social policy and ethics relate to each area of social work law. This gives real-world context to what you have learnt, alongside thought boxes, exercises and case studies in each chapter to further encourage reflection and put theory into practice.
Anti-Oppressive Social Work Practice by
Grounded in principles and values of fairness and equality, anti-oppressive practice (AOP) lies at the heart of social work and social work education. This book will equip you with the tools and knowledge to address the concepts of diversity, oppression, power and powerless, and practice in ethically appropriate ways for contemporary social work practice.
Social Work and COVID 19 by
Captures the unique moment in time created by the Covid-19 pandemic and uses this as a lens to explore contemporary issues for social work education and practice. The 2020 coronavirus pandemic provided an unprecedented moment of global crisis, which placed health and social care at the forefront of the national agenda. The lockdown, social distancing measures and rapid move to online working created multiple challenges and safeguarding concerns for social work education and practice, whilst the unparalleled death rate exacerbated pre-existing problems with communicating openly about death and bereavement. Many of these issues were already at the surface of social work practice and education and this book examines how the health crisis has exposed these, whilst acting as a potential catalyst for change. This book acts as a testament to the historical moment whilst providing a forum for drawing together discussion from contemporary educators, practitioners and users of social work services.
A Contemporary History of Social Work by
Drawing on lessons from the recent history of social work to identify how and why it has lost its privilege and influence, this book challenges social work students to understand why social work has failed to maintain its position as a driver of social reform. Bamford looks forward to a new model of practice that places a commitment to put social justice back at the heart of professional practice. The book contributes to the topical debates about social work education and the identity of the profession, encouraging critical thinking about organisation models, practice content and meaning of professionalism in social work. Students are asked to consider questions such as 'why has social work found it so hard to define its role? ', 'is the neoliberal tide irreversible?', and 'do the jibes of political correctness have any substance?'. The book provides students of social work, history of social work and social policy, with a greater understanding of how social work became an unloved profession, whilst simultaneously charting a more hopeful course for the future.
The Mental Capacity Act 2005 by
The Mental Capacity Act 2005 and its accompanying Codes of Practice continue to have a huge impact on mental health professionals working with some of the most vulnerable people throughout England and Wales. Whether you are a Social Worker, Best Interest Assessor, Mental Health Nurse, Doctor, Psychiatrist or an Approved Mental Health Professional (AMHP), understanding the Mental Capacity Act and its implications for practice is essential and this indispensable guide will help you do just that. The Mental Capacity Act 2005 is designed to protect and empower individuals who may lack the mental capacity to make their own decisions about their care and treatment and this bestselling book will provide invaluable support to busy practitioners needing to draw on the Act in the following ways: - Sets out the full text of the main body of the Act for quick reference - Contains practical advice and checklists for working with the Act and the main principles and Codes of Practice - Shows how the Mental Health Act and Mental Capacity Act interact so that statutory requirements can be put into practice. Written in a style accessible to all professionals, this fully updated Third Edition has been revised and enlarged to incorporate revisions to the Mental Health Act Code of Practice 2015 and the crucial impact of the Supreme Court decisions in the Cheshire West cases.
Law for Social Workers by
Law for Social Workers has been supporting social work students and professionals for over 25 years. Written by an expert team with practical experience, this book provides the perfect combination of legal explanation and practical insight and is the ideal text to see students through their course and career. This edition continues to provide an accurate, jargon-free account of the law social workers need to know, with helpful diagrams and case studies included throughout to explain areas of difficulty and ensure understanding for students and professionals at all levels. It also includes the Social Worker's Toolkit, which offers practical advice on topics such as going to court, preparing evidence, and writing reports, providing the ideal support while on placement or in the workplace. Digital formats and resources The sixteenth edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources. The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks This edition's online resources include: -Video tutorials on a range of practical topics -Multiple choice questions for students to test their knowledge -Guidance on answering the exercises from the book -Further reading suggestions -Glossary and flashcards of legal jargon - PowerPoint slides with accompanying notes for lecturers
Safeguarding in Social Work Practice by
Safeguarding is a serious and complex area of social work practice and for all students, demonstrating an understanding of important safeguarding theory, law, policy and skills for practice is essential. Students need to understand what safeguarding is and means across the life course, and this new text brings together common themes and knowledge in safeguarding across children, young people and adult social work to do just that. This approach will encourage students to approach the subject from a holistic perspective, helping them develop their understanding of core themes and transferable skills for practice.
Social Work Practice with Older Adults by
Social Work Practice With Older Adults by Jill Chonody and Barbra Teater presents a contemporary framework based on the World Health Organization's active aging policy that allows forward-thinking students to focus on client strengths and resources when working with the elderly. The Actively Aging framework takes into account health, social, behavioral, economic, and personal factors as they relate to aging, but also explores environmental issues, which supports the new educational standards put forth by the Council on Social Work Education. Covering micro, mezzo, and macro practice domains, the text examines all aspects of working with aging populations, from assessment through termination.
Poverty, Inequality and Social Work by
This book offers a critical, sociological analysis of the domino effect of neoliberalism and austerity politics on the role of social work and wider welfare provision. It argues that social work should move away from the resultant emphasis on risk management and bureaucracy, and return to a focus on relational and community approaches as the cornerstone of practice. Applying theoretical frameworks to practice, including those of Bourdieu and the recent work of Wacquant, the book examines the development of neoliberal ideas and their impact on social welfare. It explores the implications of this across a range of areas of social work practice, including work with children and families, working with asylum seekers and refugees and mental health social work.
Experiencing Social Work by
In Experiencing Social Work: Learning from Service Users people tell their stories of positive social work and the difference it has made to their lives. The book was inspired by the knowledge of the many positive stories of social work practice and a belief that we can learn more from what goes right than what goes wrong. Follow these stories to understand good practice, reflect on the lessons learned, and to feel uplifted by social work's potential for positive change, support, and social justice. Each chapter is constructed around one or more case examples, emphasizing the importance of service users' own knowledge in developing our learning about good practice. Key Features Offers a wide range of service user groups, including people with mental health problems, disabilities, parenting difficulties, living in care, those experiencing loss, and other life transitions Presents editorial commentaries that unpack the core themes and issues from each practice example and open a dialogue to understand the experience and learn from it Provides a strong grounding in the ethical guidelines and skills-base required of all social work trainees and practitionersThis important book encourages readers to learn from examples of positive practice and underlines the significant role that social work plays in many people's lives. It is an essential text for all undergraduate social work students and will also be useful for qualified social workers, service users, and careers.
Radical Social Work in Practice by
Radical social work is a tradition often identified exclusively with the movement which developed in the UK in the 1970s, yet as this much-needed new textbook demonstrates, the relevance of radical approaches to contemporary social work practice have never been stronger. Challenges to a neoliberal approach to social work have been gaining ground academically, and, to a lesser extent, in practice circles. This book provides a fresh understanding of the radical tradition and shows how it can be developed in contemporary social work. Using case studies to illustrate the type of dilemmas faced by workers in their day-to-day practice, the book sets out the ways in which a radical social work approach can inform constructive responses. The book emphasises the need to understand the diverse lives of service users, encouraging readers to share experience and knowledge and to discuss past and present events, to build confidence in tackling injustice at individual and societal levels. As many social workers are becoming disillusioned and dissatisfied with the profession, this book promotes a practice that is rooted in a commitment to positive change and to social justice that will offer a breath of fresh air to students and practitioners alike.
A Caring Society? by
In the twenty-first century, characterized by population aging, family fragmentation and the entry of women into the paid workforce, caring has become a major public issue. This book offers a comparative analysis of the sociology, philosophy and emergent practices of care in the context of the political economy of post-industrial societies.
Compassion by
Compassion traces the ways in which various societies across the globe have responded to the vulnerable among them from early human history to the present. Along the way, Alvin Finkel assesses the impacts of economic developments, colonialism, political arrangements, gender, race, and social class in influencing how different peoples have defined the rights of individuals and communities facing hardship. From Russia to Iran, from Scandinavia to Vietnam, this book looks at how social policy has been shaped by global social forces such as capitalism, imperialism and neoliberalism and analyses why different countries and regions diverged in their ways of dealing with inequalities and social needs. This is a valuable resource for students on history, sociology or social work degrees taking modules or courses on the history of welfare/social policy or global history.
Human Rights by
Human Rights is an introductory text that is both innovative and challenging. Its unique interdisciplinary approach invites students to think imaginatively and rigorously about one of the most important and influential political concepts of our time. Tracing the history of the concept, the book shows that there are fundamental tensions between legal, philosophical and social-scientific approaches to human rights. This analysis throws light on some of the most controversial issues in the field: Is the idea of the universality of human rights consistent with respect for cultural difference? Are there collective human rights? What are the underlying causes of human-rights violations? And why do some countries have much worse human-rights records than others? The third edition has been substantially revised and updated to take account of recent developments, including the 'Arab Spring', the civil war in Syria, the refugee crisis, ISIS and international terrorism, and climate change politics. Widely admired and assigned for its clarity and comprehensiveness, this book remains a 'go-to' text for students in the social sciences, as well as students of human-rights law who want an introduction to the non-legal aspects of their subject.
Personalisation in Social Work by
The government agenda on Personalisation and self-directed support is fast-moving and rapidly changing. It is vital therefore that students and practitioners alike are aware of the key issues and debates, as well as the policy that surrounds this area of practice. This timely and fully revised second edition provides an overview of the personalisation agenda and looks at the recent legislation in a broad historical and theoretical perspective. This approach will provide opportunities for students to consider the changes to the social work role and to evaluate the impact of this for service users and as practitioners.
Welfare Words by
Insightful and engaging, Welfare Words provides a critical analysis of social work and social policy in its articulation and discussion of a number of significant words and phrases. Written by an authoritative voice in the field, Paul Michael Garrett makes sense of complex theories which codify everyday experience, giving students and practitioners vital tools to better understand and change their social worlds. Lucid and accessible in style, Garrett offers an innovative approach to the study of Social Welfare, encouraging readers to think critically about the key issues in social work and social policy, including welfare dependency, social inclusion and exclusion, underclasses, anti-social behavior, and more.
The New Politics of Social Work by
With contributions from those at the forefront of modern social work thought, this edited volume reflects the growing eminence of critical social work in the 21st Century. Taking a truly global outlook, this text advocates the promotion of equality through a range of radical perspectives and provides a blueprint for the future of practice
Capacity and Autonomy by
Practice issues surrounding the legal concept of capacity are of fundamental importance to social work. The profession is committed to maximizing service users' autonomy yet vulnerable people may be at risk of abuse or injury if they exercise complete independence – so practitioners need to know in what situations it is appropriate for that autonomy to be curtailed. This accessible and practically-grounded text equips social workers with the legal knowledge needed to work effectively with some of the most vulnerable people in society. It explores capacity in relation to minors, vulnerable adults and mental health, as well as covering complex issues such as refusal to accept treatment and deprivation of liberty. The book goes on to explore the different legal mechanisms that are available for promoting autonomy and safeguarding people's interests. The text is supported by a range of innovative features and boxed information to aid learning and stimulate reflection: - Key Case Analysis boxes summarize the details of particular legislation cases and outline the implications for social work practice. - Practice Focus boxes apply legal principles and processes to practice through the use of social work scenarios. - On-The-Spot Questions reinforce understanding and encourage critical reflection
Safeguarding Adults by
Safeguarding adults is a rapidly evolving area of professional practice and this timely new text book provides an authoritative guide that critically engages with the recent developments and encapsulates some of the emerging approaches to contemporary adult safeguarding practice. Written by a collection of authors with a wealth of academic and practice experience, and with a strong focus on multi-disciplinary working, the text covers key topics such as: Safeguarding adults who lack capacity, or whose level of capacity is unknown or unclear Common issues and tensions surrounding the various UK laws and policies that seek to safeguard adults with mental health problems Safeguarding older adults, with a unique and insightful focus on the perspective of carers Current limitations in practice, including the blurred nature of the boundaries between informal and legally mandated care, relating to the safeguarding of people with learning disabilities. Illustrated throughout by engaging case studies to help readers apply what they have learnt to everyday practice, this comprehensive guide to safeguarding adults is essential reading for students across a broad range of health and social care disciplines, as well as practitioners looking for an up-to-date source of reference.
Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by
Although the vast majority of LGBT persons are healthy, resilient, and hardy individuals who do not seek social work intervention, some have been or will be clients in social work agencies. The third edition of Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People updates this classic text and expands its scope to include new content on social work with older and younger LGBT people. Written by a team of highly experienced experts, this book provides a knowledge base for practice that will better prepare students and practitioners for working sensitively, competently, and effectively with LGBT individuals and groups. Comprehensive and practical, this unique text discusses the pragmatic aspects of social work with lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people. It will improve and reinforce competent practice with LGBT persons and their families in multiple settings. Chapters focus on important topics such as: the profession's core values and ethical principles; social work and queer theory; LGBT and race--heterosexism, racism, and sexism; applying the life model and the stress-coping process; practice with bisexual, transgender, and gender non-conforming persons; relationship building between lesbian partners; the impact of creating family for lesbian couples; internalized homophobia, heterocentrism, and gay identity; group work practice with the LGBTQ community; clinical assessment for families where sexual orientation is an issue; and LGBT parenting. There are also new chapters on social work with LGBT young people and LGBT older people. Complete with a highly detailed appendix of symbols, definitions, and terms, Social Work Practice with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People, third edition is an invaluable resource for social workers and mental health professionals as well as for students and educators at all levels of experience.
Social Work: The Rise and Fall of a Profession? by
This book traces the changing fortunes of radical and critical social work, and examines the theory, context and application of such approaches. Radical social work of the 1970s declined as the rise of neoliberalism over subsequent decades changed the nature of the welfare state along with what social workers do and how. A looser critical approach developed, although practitioner demoralisation and disillusionment led to the 'second wave' of radical social work in the late 2000s. Despite challenges, critical practice is both necessary and possible in the neoliberal world. Core areas of practice with children and families are covered, including some real life case studies, key point summaries and suggestions for further reading. The essential argument is for an emancipatory practice geared to meeting immediate needs, as well as having some vision of a future, more socially just and equal society. The book will be invaluable to undergraduate and postgraduate social work students, experienced practitioners, educators, managers and policy makers.
Crippled: Austerity and the Demonisation of Disabled People by
By the end of 2018 over 28bn of benefit will be cut as a result of the government's policies on social security, housing, employment, and healthcare, specifically aimed at the disabled community. In the age of austerity, it's disabled people who are hardest hit, affecting over 3.7 million people. This is in addition to a situation in which half of those in poverty are either disabled or living with a disabled person. In Crippled, leading commentator Frances Ryan tells the story of those most affected by this devastating regime. This includes the tetraplegic living in a first floor flat forced to crawl down flights of stairs because the council doesn't provide accessible housing; the young girl forced to sleep in her wheelchair and admitted to hospital with malnutrition; or the Londoner with schizophrenia found 'fit for work', found dead at home three months later. Through these personal stories the book shows the scale of the crisis, while also showing how the disabled community is fighting back. It is a passionate demand for the recognition of disability rights and a call for an end to austerity policies that disproportionately affect those most in need.
Social Policy Simplified by
This core text book takes social policy back to its basics. Concise, accessible and engaging, each chapter is structured around a key question, such as 'What Is Social Policy And Why Is It Relevant To You?', 'Do You Pay Too Much Tax For The Social Policy Benefits You Receive?' Or 'Can Social Policy Solve The Problem Of Poverty?'. It breaks the subject down to make it more understandable and relatable to real life so students understand the theory that underpins social policy but also what it actually means in practice. This is essential reading for students taking an introductory Social Policy module as part of a Social Policy or Social Work degree programme, and anyone else wanting a straight forward guide to connecting the theory with people's lives.
Social Problems and Social Justice by
Modern society is beset by a vast range of problems - such as poverty, homelessness and terrorism - that cause immense suffering for a significant number of people. These social problems both reflect and contribute to wider inequalities; consequently, in order to develop a true understanding of them, we must consider the social injustices with which they are inextricably linked. In this ground-breaking text, Neil Thompson turns his attention to the range of complex issues relating to social problems and social justice, and the relationship between them. With the help of engaging features that have become synonymous with his books, Thompson provides a clear exploration of some key social problems currently challenging us, analysis of the connection between social problems and social justice, and a review of how social policy initiatives to tackle these issues have fared to date. Innovative and absorbing, Social Problems and Social Justice is essential reading for students and practitioners across a wide range of social science disciplines and the social professions.
Risk in Social Work Practice by
The study of 'risk' in social work involves complex interplay between human behaviour, emotion, evidence of fact, professional values and organisational systems. This book brings together contributions from key social work researchers and theorists from the UK, USA, New Zealand and Italy, writing with a focus on aspects of risk within social work. It examines key debates concerning risk in contemporary social work practice, including ethical dilemmas, approaches to decision-making and the challenges of ignorance and errors. Contributions range from the perennial challenges of how one uses formal knowledge when assessing risk to emerging risks arising from the counterterrorism agenda. This book will enable practitioners, policy makers and researchers to appreciate the complexities of risk in different settings and apply this understanding to their own practice. This book was originally published as a special issue of the Journal of Social Work Practice.
British Journal of Social Work
Critical and Radical Social Work
European Journal of Social Work
Journal of Social Work – see e.g. special issue on risk in social work Vol. 31 (4) 2017.
Journal of Evidence-Informed Social Work Practice
Journal of Social Work Practice in the addictions
Adfam – Family Drugs and Alcohol Support
Association of Directors of Adult Social Services
Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme
NAPAC - National Association for People Abused in Childhood
Equality and Human Rights Commission
Rethink – A National Mental Health Charity
Shaping our Lives – Network of Service Users and Disabled People
Social Care Institute for Excellence
SCIE Assessment in social work: a guide for learning and teaching