Proactive Child Protection and Social Work, 2nd edn by
Protecting children from abuse and neglect is a serious and complex area of social work practice and understanding the critical skills of communicating with and listening to children′s voices, and those of their advocates and survivors, is essential. In this new edition of a highly-regarded book, the authors offer a strengthened children′s rights perspective and explore four main categories of child abuse - emotional abuse, sexual abuse, neglect and physical abuse. The book also considers legal safeguards and protective processes to increase the creativity and confidence of those undertaking such work. Locating knowledge and skills within a series of case examples from real life practice and serious case reviews, this book is an indispensable resource for students, professionals and others concerned with protecting children. This second edition has been comprehensively revised and updated to include current research evidence and a focus on the neglected protection needs of sexually exploited young people, children in custody, disabled children, young carers and unaccompanied child migrants.
Social Work with Children and Families by 
Social Work and Social Policy, 2nd edn by
An understanding of social policy is vital for engaging practically with social work values, and dealing with political and ethical questions about responsibility, rights and our understanding of 'the good society'. This textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to social policy, tailored to the needs of a social work audience. The new edition of this popular and accessible text analyses current policies and policy themes relevant to social work, and locates them in the context of fundamental social policy principles and debates. It discusses the nature of social policy and its relationship to social work, and covers essential themes such as: - service user participation and involvement - the balance between individual, societal and state responsibility for people's wellbeing - the interactions of the state, the private sector, voluntary organisations and the family - the relationships between needs, rights and choices - the purposes and challenges of professional social work - the meanings of 'equality', 'prevention' and 'personalisation'. Each chapter ends with activities for reflection and analysis, and suggestions for further reading. Social Work and Social Policy is invaluable for students undertaking social work qualifying courses, all of whom are required to demonstrate an understanding of the social policy contexts of practice.
Child Sexual Abuse by
Child sexual abuse is a major public policy challenge. Many child protection measures were beginning to reduce its occurrence. However, that progress was impeded by online grooming, the downloading of indecent images of children and even their abuse online in real time. This now places major demands on national and international policing. The book brings together groundbreaking case studies from a wide range of settings. As well as family members and those near the home, offenders can also be found in religious, sporting and childcare settings. This extensive picture is drawn deliberately in order to highlight a split in the academic analysis of child sexual abuse. The mainstream or orthodox view, defended by the author, is that child sexual abuse is an under-reported crime. However, a minority view, presented but criticised, is that it is a moral panic created by public hysteria, child protection experts and campaigning politicians. By the end of the book, this division of academic opinion and its implications for public policy are explored in detail. The book is essential reading for anyone interested in preventing child sexual abuse and the dilemmas of responding to both victims and perpetrators. It will be of particular use to practitioners in social work, the police and in the mental health professions.
Active Social Work with Children with Disabilities by
Active Social Work with Children with Disabilities provides a comprehensive social worker's guide to working with children with disabilities, exploring current issues from the perspective of both the social worker and the family. Many people are afraid of working in this field of social work and this book dispels the myths and fears about working with children with disabilities and build the social worker's confidence in an area that is often left behind within the social work world. The book will help you to: undertake a social work assessment with a child with a disability consider the holistic needs of the child and the family explore the impact of grief and loss upon the family build emotional intelligence and resilience within families. communicate with children with disabilities communication techniques. The new SEND legislation and issues around Safeguarding of Children with Disabilities and Transition to Adult Social Care for the young person are explored, and activities and scenarios help you to critically reflect and explore theory and practice further
Safeguarding Black Children by
Providing an exploration of the key issues, this book offers practical advice on how to improve the safeguarding and welfare of black children and young people in need. With contributions from academics, researchers and practitioners, it promotes an understanding of the particular cultural and social issues that affect black children in relation to child protection. It highlights how race and racism, as well as culture, faith and gender, can influence the ways need and risk are interpreted and responded to. Drawing on insights from research evidence, case examples and practice guidelines, it outlines the range of factors that contribute to the vulnerability of black children and describes how to improve techniques of working with minority ethnic families. The book covers issues such as the effects of parental mental health problems, living with domestic violence, child maltreatment, and demonstrates how these might be understood differently for black children and young people. There are also chapters on topics such as female genital mutilation, witchcraft and forced marriage. Essential reading for all social workers and child protection workers, as well as students and support managers, Safeguarding Black Children provides the tools and understanding needed to better support these children.
Contemporary Risk Assessment in Safeguarding Children by
This book is for anyone involved in the protection and safeguarding of children and young people. At all levels, risk and risk assessment are key concerns and preoccupations. Yet, across and within the various concerned professional groups, there is an inadequate knowledge base to inform practice. There is no official guidance, not even a shared agreement on what 'risk' means. The book's varied and illuminating perspectives help refine the exercise of professional judgement in estimating and managing uncertainties prospectively, rather than being judged retrospectively. It will direct professional progress towards risk assessments that are evidence-based, comprehensive, and equitable; risk management strategies with levels of intrusion commensurate to levels of risk; and greater shared understanding of terminology. Contemporary Risk Assessment in Safeguarding Children also examines dilemmas in daily decision-making, considering how lack of guidance leads to inconsistency and how differences in approach cause tension and confusion. It examines emerging dilemmas around rights, protection, and responsibilities; and offers some contemporary risk assessment frameworks.
The New Politics of Social Work by
With contributions from those at the forefront of modern social work thought, this edited volume reflects the growing eminence of critical social work in the 21st Century. Taking a truly global outlook, this text advocates the promotion of equality through a range of radical perspectives and provides a blueprint for the future of practice
The Story of Baby P by
In England in 2007 Peter Connelly, a 17 month old little boy - known initially in the media reporting as 'Baby P' - died following terrible neglect and abuse. Fifteen months later, his mother, her boyfriend and the boyfriend's brother were sent to prison. But media attention turned on those who worked to protect children, especially the social workers and their managers, who became the focus of the reporting and of the blame. This book tells what happened to 'Baby P', how the story was told and became focused on the social workers, its threatening consequences for those who work to protect children, and its considerable impact on the child protection system in England. This is the first book to draw together all evidence available on this high profile case and will make a unique and crucial contribution to the topic. It will make essential reading for everyone who is concerned about child protection and the care of children and about the media's impact. This revised edition contains a new Afterword bringing the story up to date.
Social Work with Unaccompanied Asylum-Seeking Children by
Kohli offers a comprehensive overview of what is known about the resettlement of young asylum-seekers, answering social work practitioners' need for a fuller understanding. After reviewing existing approaches, research evidence and current practice, students and practitioners are presented with a new conceptual framework for social work.
Communicating and Engaging with Children and Young People by
Practitioners must be able to listen, talk, communicate and engage with children and young people if they are going to make a real difference to their lives. The key principles of collaborative, relational, child-centred working underpin all the ideas in this bestselling, practice-focused textbook.Using an innovative 'Knowing, Being, Doing' model, it features reflective exercises, practice examples, vignettes, cutting-edge research findings and theoretical perspectives.This new edition includes:* Updated references to policy, legislation, professional requirements, practice tools and research, including around unaccompanied young refugees and asylum seekers, and child sexual exploitation;* New learning from ethnographic and observational research of social workers' direct practice with children;* Added focus on the context for practice, including the role of supervision and organisational containment in developing practitioners' emotional capabilities. With detailed coverage of key skills, this book will equip students and practitioners with the critical thinking and tools needed for effective practice in order to promote the welfare, protection and rights of children and young people.
Tackling Child Sexual Abuse by
In this outspoken and challenging book, Sarah Nelson argues that progress in addressing childhood sexual abuse has been in fearful or complacent retreat and that change is urgently needed in order to prevent abuse occurring, and to better support survivors.From this starting point, she puts forward radical suggestions for new models of practice. These are designed to provide perpetrator-focussed child protection, to encourage community approaches to prevention, and to better support those who have survived abuse.As revelations of widespread child abuse continue to emerge at an unprecedented rate, this book campaigns for change, offering policy makers and practitioners solutions for new ways in tackling sexual abuse, working alongside survivors to reduce its prevalence and impact.
The Politics of Child Protection by
From Every Child Matters and the Munro Review, to changing shifts in thinking from Coalition government; the child protection system has seen dramatic political and policy developments over recent years. This book brings you a critical analysis of these developments from a leading writer and commentator. It begins by exploring the origins of present-day arrangements, locating English policy and practice in both a wider British and international context. It examines tragic cases such as 'Baby P' and Maria Colwell, considering their impact on public and professional attitudes and, in turn, the implications for the child protection system. Looking to the future of child protection, Nigel Parton considers the current state of the system and argues that we need to address wider social and political issues, including poverty, class and inequality. Original, authoritative and up-to-date, The Politics of Child Protection is an important book for all students, practitioners and researchers interested in safeguarding and child protection.
Youth Justice and Social Work, 2nd edn by
It is vital for social work students and practitioners to understand the complexities of the youth justice system. This fully revised second edition analyses and puts into context several pieces of new legislation such as the Criminal Justice and Immigration Act 2008, the Youth Rehabilitation Order 2009 and the new Youth Conditional Caution. Carefully selected case studies and summaries of contemporary research help to underpin this accessible and essential resource. Ideal for students on placement, this new edition enables the reader to follow complex and often difficult legislation and law.
Beyond Blame by
What can we learn from inquiries into cases of fatal child abuse? Beyond Blame offers a new way of looking at such cases and shows that it is possible to draw important lessons from them. The authors, all three experienced in child protection work, summarise thirty-five major inquiries since 1973, setting them in their social context and discussing the implications both for practical work in the field and for future inquiries. They stress the need for those who work day to day in child protection to develop and apply a more sophisticated level of analysis to assessment and intervention. They identify common themes within abusing families, in the relationships between members of the professional networks, and in the interactions between the families and the professionals.
Offending Girls by
At the dawn of the twenty-first century, panic about girls' offending in Britain reached fever pitch. No longer sugar and spice, a 'new breed' of girl, the hedonistic, violent, binge-drinking 'ladette', was reported to have emerged. At the same time, the number of young women entering the youth justice system, including youth custody, increased dramatically. Offending Girls challenges simplistic and demonising popular representations of 'bad' girls and examines what exactly is new about the 'new' offending girl. In the light of enormous social and cultural changes affecting girls' lives, and expectations of them, since previous British research in this area, the book investigates whether popular stereotypes problematising female youthful behaviour resonate with the accounts of criminalised young women themselves, and to what extent they have infiltrated professional youth justice discourse. Through the lens of original detailed qualitative research in two Youth Offending Teams and a Secure Training Centre - the first study of its kind since the 'modernisation' of the youth justice system over a decade ago - Offending Girls questions whether the 'new' youth justice system is delivering justice for girls and young women. It also contends that the panic about an 'unprecedented crime wave' amongst girls is not supported by robust evidence, but that the interventionist thrust which characterises contemporary youth justice has had a particularly pernicious impact on girls. It will be key reading for students and academics working in the areas of criminology, criminal and youth justice, education, gender studies, youth studies, social work, sociology and social policy, as well as youth and criminal justice practitioners and policy-makers.
Domestic Violence and Protecting Children by
In this volume, the authors present an overview of the innovative work taking place in relation to domestic violence and child protection. This book looks at new prevention initiatives and how interventions for children exposed to domestic violence have been developed. It shows how services for abusive fathers have evolved and provides discussion and critique of a number of new initiatives in the field of interagency risk assessment. With international perspectives and examples drawn from social care, health care and voluntary sectors, this book brings together established ideas with recent thinking to provide an authoritative summary of current domestic violence and child protection practice. As a valuable source of guidance on how to work safely with children living with domestic violence, this is a key reference for social workers, health professionals and policy makers.
Children Behind Bars by
Every day children exiled to prison are exposed to abusive and neglectful treatment, yet their plight is hidden. Based on wide-ranging research and first-person interviews, this passionately argued book presents the shocking truth about the lives and deaths of children in custody. Drawing on human rights legislation and progress in the care and treatment of vulnerable children elsewhere, it outlines the harsh realities of penal child custody including hunger, denial of fresh air, cramped and dirty cells, strip-searching, segregation, the authorised infliction of severe pain, uncivilised conditions for suicidal children and ever-present violence and intimidation. The issues are explored through the lens of protection, not punishment, and the author finds there can be only one conclusion: child prisons must close. Providing a compelling manifesto for urgent and radical change, this book should be read by everyone who cares about child protection and human rights.
