Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work Reading Lists: Databases and Journals

Title

A-Z eResources List

Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

A-Z eJournal List

Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Requesting Articles

Requesting Articles 

If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.

University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library. 

The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.  
 

Database and Journal information

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

CareKnowledge (For students on placement with a Suffolk.gov.uk e-mail address)

Children and Young People Now
To access this database you need to sign-in at the link above to get the username and password, you can then access the resource.
A dedicated magazine for professionals working with children, young people and families.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Full-text archive of journal articles (excluding the last few years.)  Titles include Family Relations; Journal of Family and Marriage; Social Psychology Quarterly.

Lexis Library
the UK’s most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley.

Oxford Journals Archive
Full-text academic social sciences journal articles. Titles include British Journal of Social Work.

ProQuest Central
is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subject areas.

Proquest Psychology Journals
provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text.

Research in Practice (For students on placement with a Suffolk.gov.uk e-mail address)

SAGE Premier
Includes over 645 peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 500,000 articles, dating back to 1999 spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more. 

ScienceDirect
is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. 

Social Care Online 

Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, books, text books and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains around 155,000 records from the 1980s onwards.

Please Note: Social Care Online is free to search but to use all of its features you will need a Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) account. If you do not have a SCIE account, please use the 'Sign up today' link to go to the SCIE site. Once you have registered, you can return to Social Care Online and login using the details you provided.

Taylor & Francis
A collection encompassing over 1,600 titles and is one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals, spanning content areas such as Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.

Wiley Online Library
Provides a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences, social sciences and the humanities.

How to use Journals

Attribution

All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0