Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Thee is no essential reading for this module
Bioenergetics Primer for Exercise Science by Although there are chapters in exercise physiology texts and a few books on the topics of human bioenergetics and energy metabolism, those chapters and books often do not cover the pertinent information in sufficient detail and are generally highly research oriented or outdated. Bioenergetics Primer for Exercise Science is an up-to-date text that encompasses all available information regarding human bioenergetics and energy metabolism and brings together diverse issues that are of theoretical interest and practical importance. Written as a primer, this text explains the foundational and critical knowledge and research findings in bioenergetics and the application of those findings. To evaluate research more knowledgeably and decide which techniques best fit their own research, students and professionals will learn about lab- and field-based techniques used to measure energy metabolism, including lipid metabolism. In addition to bioenergetics concepts and research, the text emphasizes the metabolic challenges brought about by obesity and diabetes. A dedicated chapter discusses metabolic impairments associated with both diseases, alterations in metabolism during exercise for affected individuals, and the role of exercise in enhancing energy utilization and improving glucose response and insulin sensitivity. The text also provides a more specific discussion of bioenergetics applied to the subpopulations of children, elderly people, and women. Without weighing down the reader will highly academic and technical jargon, the text explains the science behind energy metabolism in an accessible and inclusive format specifically designed for exercise science students studying areas other than bioenergetics and professionals working in related areas such as health and fitness, nutrition, and weight management. Bioenergetics novices will appreciate the cohesive presentation of information within a four-part structure: -Part I illustrates how carbohydrate, fat, and protein are metabolized and converted into energy for sport and physical activity. It conveys basic but critical information before pursuing more advanced topics in bioenergetics. -Part II presents lab- and field-based techniques for measuring energy metabolism, including a variety of instrumentations and protocols commonly used to assess energy and fuel utilization. Connections to sport and physical activity, including the energy cost of walking, running, cycling, and resistance exercise, are emphasized. Strategies that can be used to enhance energy utilization with special focus on weight management are also introduced. -Part III explores ideas and strategies for enhancing energy production and expenditure. Metabolic adaptations to exercise training are covered (such as changes in cellular function, fuel utilization, and oxygen uptake after aerobic, anaerobic, and resistance training). Special attention is given to obesity and diabetes, primarily the effect of glucose responses and insulin sensitivity on affected populations and how age, gender, and metabolic diseases affect those populations. -Part IV discusses additional aspects of bioenergetics, including factors influencing resting metabolic rate and the thermic effect of food and its relationship to physical activity and obesity. Also included is a discussion of intended use, working mechanism, related research, and potential side effects for select pharmacologic and nutritional substances. Helpful textbook features such as chapter summaries, key point boxes, key terms bolded in the text and defined in the glossary, review questions with an appendix of answers, and an extensive reference list make this text ideal for effective learning and retention for students. More in-depth than cursory discussions found in exercise physiology texts and more practical and accessible than dedicated bioenergetics texts, Biooenergetics Primer for Exercise Science encompasses all the up-to-date research and information regarding human bioenergetics and energy metabolism, offering both students and professionals a depth of knowledge that will inform their further study, research, and profession. Bioenergetics Primer for Exercise Science is the third volume in Human Kinetics'' Primers in Exercise Science Series. This series presents a foundational understanding of the science behind each topic in the series and, when appropriate, its application. Written by leading researchers and teachers in their respective areas of expertise, these books convey the essential concepts in dynamic, complex areas of scientific knowledge using an accessible writing style. Designed for quick reference and ease of assimilation, these books provide students and professionals with up-to-date foundational knowledge in an otherwise unfamiliar scientific area. Other books that have appeared in the series include Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Third Edition, by Michael E. Houston and Genetics Primer for Exercise Science and Health by Stephen M. Roth.
Call Number: 612.044 KAN
Publication Date: 2008
Exercise Metabolism by Exercise Metabolism, Second Edition, provides a systematic, in-depth examination of the regulation of metabolic processes during exercise. Exercise physiologists, exercise biochemists, and biochemists will find this book a comprehensive reference, using the up-to-date information and the nearly 1,000 references in their own research and writing. In addition, graduate students in these disciplines can learn firsthand about the various regulations of metabolic processes during exercise as they prepare for careers in exercise physiology or biochemistry. Written by internationally recognized researchers, Exercise Metabolism, Second Edition, is both revised and expanded while retaining the essential elements of the first edition. It delves into the mobilization and utilization of substrates--glucose, lipid, and protein--during physical activity, and it explores metabolic factors in fatigue and metabolic adaptations to endurance training. Chapter 1 provides an overview of exercise metabolism. Metabolism during high-intensity exercise and the transition from rest to exercise are covered in chapter 2, which details the so-called anaerobic energy pathways. Chapter 3 discusses the effects of exercise on carbohydrate metabolism in skeletal muscle, while chapter 4 provides an overview of the important metabolic functions of the liver during exercise. Chapter 5 is a new chapter that addresses lactate transport in skeletal muscle, given the increased understanding of this topic since the first edition was published. Chapters 6 and 7 summarize the effects of exercise on lipolysis in adipose tissue and lipid metabolism in skeletal muscle, respectively. The contribution of protein and amino acids to exercise metabolism is discussed in chapter 8. Finally, metabolic factors in fatigue and the metabolic adaptations to endurance training are reviewed in chapters 9 and 10, respectively. Chapter-ending summaries help to condense the information and facilitate understanding. Exercise Metabolism, Second Edition, is a valuable reference to exercise physiologists, exercise biochemists, and biochemists, and it serves as an ideal text for graduate students in these disciplines.
Call Number: 612.044 SPR
Publication Date: 2005
Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance by Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, will help students and practitioners understand the function of the nutrients in the body and how these nutrients affect health and athletic performance. The authors present clear, comprehensive, and accurate nutrition information that may be applied to a variety of careers. The text provides students with practical knowledge in exercise and nutrition science, and it keeps practitioners on the cutting edge of current research and practices in the field. Using the authors' extensive backgrounds in nutrition, exercise physiology, and fitness, the text combines micronutrients into functional groupings to provide an easy framework for understanding how these nutrients can influence exercise performance and good health for both athletes and active individuals. This unique presentation allows readers to fully understand why proper nutrition helps athletes prevent injury, enhance recovery, improve daily workouts, and maintain optimal health and body weight. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the latest issues, guidelines, and recommendations for active individuals. Chapters dealing with macronutrients and micronutrients have been entirely rewritten, and all chapters have been revised to reflect the latest Dietary Reference Intakes, USDA Food Guide Pyramid, Food Pyramid for Athletes, Dietary Guidelines for Americans, and physical activity recommendations from various organizations, including the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines by DHHS. Following are some of the current topics discussed in the text: -Carbohydrate recommendations for athletes before, during, and after exercise -Protein requirements of athletes based on the latest research -Updated evaluation of the fat needs of athletes and the role of fat loading -An evidence-based reexamination of various diets and techniques used for weight loss -New research on body composition assessments and standards -The latest on controversial nutrition issues such as the role of protein, vitamin D, and energy in bone health and new criteria for assessing bone health in young adults -New nutrition and fitness assessments, questionnaires, and methods for measuring energy expenditure -Updated information on various topics such as the issues of the active female, ergogenic aids, energy balance, and fluid balance Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, has also been improved with an attractive two-color format, new artwork, and a slimmer design that allows the text to maintain the content while reducing "backpack bulge." The text also includes an online image bank that instructors may use to create customized PowerPoint presentations using artwork, tables, and figures from each chapter. In addition, a variety of features help readers comprehend the material presented, including chapter objectives, key concepts and key terms, additional information to learn more about a topic, and references. Chapter highlights provide in-depth information on topics and critically evaluate issues regarding myths and controversies in sport nutrition. This book provides readers with clear, authoritative content that will help them understand the scientific basis of nutrition and make sound recommendations in their careers. With up-to-date content based on current guidelines, Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, is an outstanding text for both students and practitioners concerned with achieving good health and maximizing performance.
Call Number: 613.2 MAN
Publication Date: 2009
Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science by Students trained in traditional exercise physiology have learned the basic concepts of energy but often don't fully understand human energy consumption at the molecular level. Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Fourth Edition, provides an introduction to biochemistry that will give readers greater insight into the molecular aspects of human physical activity. Reflecting the rapid development of the field, this classic text continues to present the essentials of biochemistry--molecular biology, basic chemistry, metabolism, and transcription regulation--in an easy-to-understand format. The fourth edition features the most recent research in exercise biochemistry plus new and revised content, including the following: * All-new coverage of the control of biochemistry and biochemical and muscular adaptations to exercise and training via signaling pathways, an area of study that has received much attention in recent years * Added information on the regulation of gene expression, which highlights the need for students to comprehend the basics of molecular biology * Next Stage sections in each chapter, which lead students toward emerging areas of knowledge in the field by examining new or controversial areas of research * An integration of the chapters on DNA, RNA, and the regulation of protein synthesis to provide a more focused and effective presentation of these key concepts Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Fourth Edition, combines information from nutrition, physiology, and biochemistry to provide a clear explanation of the working of metabolism and the human body's response to physical activity. Special elements throughout the text help to demystify this complex and dynamic field of study. Key points reinforce essential concepts and aid readers in relating them to sport and exercise. Chapter summaries outline important information to take away, and review questions with answers allow readers to test their knowledge of each chapter's content. A comprehensive glossary and the list of abbreviations found on the inside front and back covers help readers become familiar with commonly used biochemistry terms, and a reference list provides a starting point for exploring areas of interest in more detail. With its combination of essential topics, new findings, and future directions in research, Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Fourth Edition, is a perfect resource for anyone looking to build an understanding of exercise biochemistry. Both students and professionals alike will find the information they need to begin their exploration of this fascinating field of study.
Call Number: 612.044 TII
Publication Date: 2012
The Biochemical Basis of Sports Perfomance by Some understanding of the biochemistry of exercise is fundamental to any study of the factors that contribute to sports performance. It is the physical, chemical and biochemical properties of cells and tissues that determine the physiological responses to exercise, and yet the teaching ofexercise biochemistry is poorly developed compared with exercise physiology. Where the subject is taught, the student often finds the approach somewhat daunting, with its focus on thermodynamics, chemical structures and metabolic pathways.Many students find the subject difficult, when it should not be so. This book introduces the student of sports science or exercise physiology to the biochemical processes that underpin exercise performance and the adaptations that occur with training. The focus is on skeletal muscle metabolism andthe provision of energy for working muscles and the principles of exercise biochemistry are introduced in a context that is immediately relevant to the student of sports science.Instead of the traditional approach of working through the main classes of biomolecules and metabolic pathways, the subject is tackled by considering the biochemical processes involved in energy provision for different sports events and the way in which limitations in energy supply can causefatigue, and thus limit performance. Recovery from exercise is important for athletes who train and compete with only a limited rest period, and the biochemical processes that influence recovery and restoration of performance capacity are also addressed. The processes fuelling the activities thatcontribute to sport form the core of this book, together with the changes that occur with training and the role of diet in providing the necessary fuels. But sporting talent is a rare gift, and a brief description of its hereditary basis is included.* A complete introduction to the biochemical basis of sports performance, appealing to undergraduate students, coaches, and athletes* Numerous links made between biochemistry and physiology for an integrated view of the subject* The student is directed to carefully chosen further reading articles, allowing them to readily explore key topics in more detailOnline Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany The Biochemical Basis of Sports Performance features:For students:* 'In the News' updates* Multiple choice questions* Hyperlinked bibliography* Extended case study following an athlete through a season, with exercisesFor lecturers:* Figures from the book, available to download
Call Number: 612.044 MAU
Publication Date: 2010
Exercise Biochemistry by Exercise Biochemistry brings an admittedly difficult and technical subject to life. Extremely user- and student-friendly, it is written in conversational style by Vassilis Mougios, who poses and then answers questions as if in conversation with a student. Mougios does an excellent job of making the information interesting by using simple language without compromising scientific accuracy and content. He also uses ample analogies, related works of art, and numerous illustrations to drive home his points for readers. The result is that Exercise Biochemistry is a highly informative and illuminating text on the effects of exercise on molecular-level functioning. It presents the basics of biochemistry as well as in-depth coverage of exercise biochemistry. The book uses key terms, sidebars, and questions and problems posed at the end of each chapter to facilitate learning. It also covers metabolism, endocrinology, and assessment all in one volume, unlike other exercise biochemistry books. In exploring all of these topics, Exercise Biochemistry makes the case for exercise biochemistry to have a stand-alone textbook. In fact, this book will encourage more universities to introduce exercise biochemistry courses to their curricula. Having the necessary topics of basic biochemistry in a single volume will facilitate the work of both instructors and students. Exercise Biochemistry will also be useful to graduate students in sport science who have not been formally introduced to exercise biochemistry during their undergraduate programs. Additionally, it can supplement exercise physiology textbooks with its coverage of the molecular basis of physiological processes. This book is also for physical education and sport professionals who have an interest in how the human body functions during and after exercise. And this book is addressed to health scientists who are interested in the transformations in human metabolism brought about by physical activity. The book is organized in four parts. Part I introduces readers to biochemistry basics, including chapters on metabolism, proteins, nucleic acids and gene expression, and carbohydrates and lipids. Part II consists of two chapters that explore neural control of movement and muscle contraction. The essence of the book is found in part III, which details exercise metabolism in its six chapters. Included are chapters on carbohydrate, lipid, and protein metabolism in exercise; compounds of high phosphoryl transfer potential; effects of exercise on gene expression; and integration of exercise metabolism. In part IV, the author focuses on biochemical assessment of people who exercise, with chapters on iron status, metabolites, and enzymes and hormones. Simple biochemical tests are provided to assess an athlete's health and performance. Exercise Biochemistry is a highly readable book that serves as a source for understanding how exercise changes bodily functions. The text is useful for both students and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 612.044 MOU
Publication Date: 2006
Sports and Exercise Nutrition by This edition of McArdle, Katch, and Katch's respected text reflects the most recent, evidence-based information on how nutrition affects exercise and sports performance. Using high quality research to illustrate teaching points, the authors provide detailed yet accessible coverage of the science of exercise nutrition and bioenergetics, along with valuable insights into how the principles work in the real world of physical activity and sports medicine. New content, new research citations, and new case studies throughout help prepare students for a successful career in exercise science. eBook available . Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. New coverage. The authors provide new and expanded coverage of such key topics as special populations (diabetes, vegan), micronutrients, and exercise and nutrient prioritization. New activities and assignments direct students to the USDA's Super Tracker, where they can follow a personalized nutrition and physical activity plan and track their food intake and physical activities. New Case Studies. Each chapter contains case studies that connects personal health and exercise nutrition. Studies include real world examples that highlight application of dietary guidelines, weight control, body composition assessments, and practical physical activity recommendations. Striking full-color art program featuring more than 500 figures and images to bring the content to life . An accessible handbook approach makes detailed and challenging material more accessible. Focused organization. The book starts with coverage of the basic science of nutrition, builds on that, and ultimately applies the content to diverse exercise science contexts. Built-in learning aids . In every chapter, Test Your Knowledge assessments, Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition boxes, Connections to the Past features, Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition activities, Section Summaries, and Additional Insights help students master key content. FYIs interspersed throughout the text help bring timely examples to expand on information in the text. References include links to current research to help students expand on their knowledge and learning.
Call Number: 613.202479 MCA
Publication Date: 2019