There are no essential texts for this module.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
An essential guide for succeeding in today's competitive environment, this book provides beginning scientists and experienced researchers with practical advice on writing about their work and getting published. This brand new, updated edition also includes a new chapter on editing one's own work, a section on publicizing and archiving one's paper, and updates on authorship, including information on new authorship criteria and on the author identification number ORCID. The book guides readers through the processes involved in writing for and publishing in scientific journals, from choosing a suitable journal, to writing each part of the paper, to submitting the paper and responding to peer review, through checking the proofs. It covers ethical issues in scientific publishing, explains rights and permissions, and discusses writing grant proposals, giving presentations and writing for general audiences.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
IBM SPSS Statistics 19 Made Simple by
This new edition of one of the most widely read textbooks in its field introduces the reader to data analysis with the most powerful and versatile statistical package on the market: IBM SPSS Statistics 19. Each new release of SPSS Statistics features new options and other improvements. There remains a core of fundamental operating principles and techniques which have continued to apply to all releases issued in recent years and have been proved to be worth communicating in a small volume. This practical and informal book combines simplicity and clarity of presentation with a comprehensive treatment of the use of IBM SPSS Statistics 19 for the description, exploration and confirmation of data. As in earlier editions, coverage has been extended to address the issues raised by readers since the previous edition. In this edition, there is an introduction to the Analysis of Covariance (ANCOVA). Each statistical technique is presented in a realistic research context and is fully illustrated with annotated screen shots of SPSS dialog boxes and output. The first chapter sets the scene with a survey of typical research situations, key terms and clear signposts to the location of each technique in the book. It also offers guidance on the choice of statistical techniques, and advice (based on the American Psychological Association's guidelines) on how to report the results of a statistical analysis. The next chapters introduce the reader to the use of SPSS, beginning with the entry, description and exploration of data. There is also a full description of the capabilities of the versatile Chart Builder. Each of the remaining chapters concentrates on one particular kind of research situation and the statistical techniques that are appropriate. In summary, IBM SPSS Statistics 19 Made Simple Gets you started with SPSS. Shows you how to describe and explore a data set with the help of SPSS's extensive graphics and data-handling menus. Helps you to choose appropriate statistical techniques. Warns you of pitfalls arising from the misuse of statistics. Shows you how to report the results of a statistical analysis. Shows you how to use Syntax to implement some useful procedures and operations. Introduces the reader to the analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) Has a comprehensive glossary. Is now presented in an attractive two-colour format. The book's accompanying website contains datasets for the chapters of the book, as well as a large body of exercises (with data sets), and notes on statistical terms. Instructor resources include a PowerPoint lecture course and Multiple-Choice Question tests, which are also available free of charge to lecturers adopting the book and their students. Please visit http://www.psypress.com/spss-made-simple for more details.
Lab Reports and Projects in Sport and Exercise Science by
"Most science degrees will have a practical or laboratory-based component which will require some sort of final report, whether this be a conventional laboratory report or a final year dissertation. All of these formats require students to be able to analyse their data in an appropriate way and subsequently convey their key thoughts and information to a third party. Therefore, writing laboratory reports is an essential part any science degree. This new revised edition sees the expansion of statistical examples including initial data checks and assumptions, increased awareness of critical appraisal tools and resources, project planning and a range of Challenge yourself activities to supplement understanding and provides a comprehensive overview of what should be contained within each section of a scientific report, and clearly explains how it should be presented. Written in a friendly and engaging style, it guides the reader through abstracts, literature reviews, methodology, reporting discussions and referencing, and contains a wealth of examples and practical advice on how to improve and refine your own writing. From writing a first lab report to preparing a final year dissertation or postgraduate thesis, sports and exercise science students at all levels will find this book a valuable resource in developing both skill and confidence in scientific communication. Key features include; The layout of the book is designed to reflect that of a typical scientific report, to help students plan their own projects. Each chapter includes numerous examples, exercises and activities to engage students and develop skills in each aspect of report writing. Discussion of critical appraisal techniques to help students refine their research questions. All data sets and illustrations used are drawn from the key disciplines in sport and exercise science, including physiology, psychology and biomechanics"--
Research Methods in Sport by
Packed full of essential tools and tips, this second edition is your quick-start guide to undertaking research within real world of sport. Using clear, accessible language, Smith maps an easy-to-follow journey through the research process, drawing upon the most up-to-date evidence and resources to help you select the most appropriate research approach for your project. Throughout the book you will discover: Key points that highlight important definitions and theories; Reflection points to help you make connections between key concepts and your research; Learning activities to put your newfound knowledge into practice; Further reading to explore the wider context of sport research in the real world. Featuring over thirty-five case studies of students' and academics' research in practice, this book is the perfect guide-by-your-side to have during your own sport research.
Research Methods in Physical Activity and Health by
Physical activity is vital for good health. It has an established strong evidence base for its positive effects on functional capacity, reducing the risk of many chronic diseases, and promoting physical, mental and social well-being. Furthermore, these benefits are evident across a diversity of ages, groups and populations. The need for these benefits in current societies means that exercise practitioners, professional bodies, institutions, health authorities and governments require high quality evidence to establish appropriate exercise guidelines, implementation strategies and effective exercise prescription at individual, group and population levels. Research Methods in Physical Activity and Health is the first book to comprehensively present the issues associated with physical activity and health research and outline methods available along with considerations of the issues associated with these methods and working with particular groups. The book outlines the historical and scientific context of physical activity and health research before working through the full research process, from generating literature reviews and devising a research proposal, through selecting a research methodology and quantifying physical activity and outcome measures, to disseminating findings. Including a full section on conducting research studies with special populations, the book includes chapters on: Observational and cross-sectional studies; Interviews, questionnaires and focus groups; Qualitative and quantitative research methods; Epidemiological research methods; Physical activity interventions and sedentary behaviour; and Working with children, older people, indigenous groups, LGBTI groups, and those with physical and mental health issues. Research Methods in Physical Activity and Health is the only book to approach the full range of physical activity research methods from a health perspective. It is essential reading for any undergraduate student conducting a research project or taking applied research modules in physical activity and health, graduate students of epidemiology, public health, exercise psychology or exercise physiology with a physical activity and health focus, or practicing researchers in the area.