Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Sport and Exercise Psychology reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology by This concise, engaging text, distinguished by its skillful integration of theory and practice, addresses the key principles of sport, exercise, and performance psychology. It reflects the broadening of sport psychology studies to encompass more widespread human performance research. Emphasizing practical applications of theory, the book helps students interested in pursuing a career in sport and exercise psychology, as well as those focused on such occupations as coaching and athletic training, to recognize the applicability of sport and exercise psychology principles to their everyday lives and future careers. To avoid an overabundance of extraneous theories and research, the text takes a streamlined "less is more" approach by focusing on just the core theories underpinning sport psychology. Chapters address such essential concepts as individual differences, personality, motivation, stress and coping, decision making, and burnout in the context of human performance. Bringing these topics to life are companion "Applying the Concepts" chapters demonstrating how these principles are directly applied in real-life situations. Interviews with researchers, coaches, athletes, and other individuals from performance-intensive professions vividly reinforce the book's content. Additionally, the text contains insights on theories and research findings that students can apply to their own experience. Critical thinking questions and "Individual Challenge" activities promote understanding and further exploration. An instructor's package includes a test bank and PowerPoints. KEY FEATURES: Illustrates key theories and research with practical applications Written in a concise and easily accessible manner Provides examples of practice applications in sport, exercise, and other areas of human performance Includes interviews with researchers, practitioners, coaches, athletes, and other performance-intensive professionals Explains how theoretical concepts can be applied to a student's personal experience
Call Number: 613.71 ROB + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Your module leader and contributor(s) can advise on the relevance of peer reviewed research publications. They will be used extensively in the third year. It is vital you show evidence in your work that you have read, understood and applied research evidence.
Psychology of Physical Activity by The positive benefits of physical activity for physical and mental health are now widely acknowledged, yet levels of physical inactivity continue to increase throughout the developed world. Understanding the psychology of physical activity has therefore become an important concern for scientists, health professionals and policy-makers alike. Psychology of Physical Activity is a comprehensive and in-depth introduction to the fundamentals of exercise psychology, from theories of motivation and adherence to the design of successful interventions for increasing participation. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, Psychology of Physical Activity is still the only textbook to offer a full survey of the evidence-base for theory and practice in exercise psychology, and the only textbook that explains how to interpret the quality of the research evidence. With international cases, examples and data included throughout, the book also provides a thoroughly detailed examination of the relationship between physical activity and mental health. A full companion website offers useful features to help students and lecturers get the most out of the book during their course, including multiple-choice revision questions, PowerPoint slides and a test bank of additional learning activities. Psychology of Physical Activity is the most authoritative, engaging and up-to-date introduction to exercise psychology currently available. It is essential reading for all students working in exercise and health sciences.
Call Number: 613.71 BID + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
A Critical Introduction to Sport Psychology by The new third edition of A Critical Introduction to Sport Psychology is the only textbook in the field that provides a detailed overview of key theories, concepts and findings within the discipline of sport psychology, as well as a critical perspective that examines and challenges these core foundations. Fully revised and updated, the new edition covers key research findings affecting both participation and performance in sport, including topics such as motivation, anxiety, emotional coping, concentration, mental imagery, expertise and team cohesion. In addition, the book includes a range of helpful features that bring the science to life, including critical thinking exercises, suggestions for student projects and new "In the spotlight" boxes that highlight key advances in theory or practice. A comprehensive glossary is also included, whilst a final chapter examines some new horizons in sport psychology, including embodied cognition and socio-cultural perspectives. Sport is played with the body but often won in the mind; that is the theory. A Critical Introduction to Sport Psychology is the definitive textbook for anyone wishing to engage critically with this fascinating idea.
Call Number: 796.019 MOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology 7th Edition with Web Study Guide-Paper by The leading textbook in sport and exercise psychology is back in a revised seventh edition, and it again raises the bar with its engaging introduction to the field. Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Seventh Edition With Web Study Guide, offers both students and new practitioners a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, drawing connections between research and practice and capturing the excitement of the world of sport and exercise. Internationally respected authors Robert Weinberg and Daniel Gould continue to gather and incorporate feedback from teachers and students with each edition, building a text that addresses emerging trends and remains relevant and up to date. In-depth learning aids have been refreshed, including chapter objectives and summaries, sidebars, key terms, key points, and discussion questions to help students think more critically about applying the material. Other updates to the seventh edition include the following: * A new chapter on diversity and inclusion addressing topics related to gender, ethnicity, race, sexual orientation, and disability * New content on popular and emerging areas such as grit, mindfulness, organizational sport psychology, and technology in sport psychology * Additional modern-day practical examples and anecdotes to better illustrate concepts * Updated references, including more contemporary sources Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology provides students with a unique learning experience--taking them on a journey through the field''s origins, key concepts, research development, and career options available in the field. After this introduction to the field, the text shifts focus to personal factors that affect performance and behavior in sport, physical education, and exercise settings. It augments those concepts by factoring in situational circumstances that influence behavior, group interaction and processes, and the use of psychological techniques to help people perform more effectively. Students will gain critical insights into the role psychological factors play in health and exercise and the psychological consequences of participation in sport and physical activity, including children''s psychological development through sport participation, aggression in sport, and moral development and good sporting behavior in sport and physical activity contexts. The updated web study guide serves as an important learning tool to support the educational journey. With more than 100 engaging activities, it allows students to apply the concepts from the text by completing activities for each chapter: * Use actual sport and exercise psychology instruments to assess their skills * Determine how to respond to real-life scenarios (with short answers or essays) * Review research studies and experiments * Search the Internet for relevant information * Apply and test their understanding of principles and concepts of sport and exercise psychology Many of the study guide activities offer compelling audio and video clips that reveal how sport psychology consultants communicate with athletes and coaches to improve athletic experiences. These clips feature esteemed experts from the field discussing concepts that they have studied and refined during their professional careers. To further emphasize practical application, the activities can be integrated throughout a full semester, turning course units into a unified whole that builds upon itself for greater understanding of the field. In addition to the web study guide, instructors will have access to a full suite of ancillaries: an instructor guide, test package, chapter quizzes, and presentation package plus image bank. Plus instructors have access to a special instructor video library featuring more than 120 video clips. The updated seventh edition of Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology continues to ensure that students are well equipped--and excited--to enter the field of sport psychology, fully prepared for the challenges they may encounter as well as the possibilities.
Call Number: 796.01 WEI
Publication Date: 2018