Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care. 3rd edn by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Succeeding with Your Master's Dissertation. 3rd edn. by 
New Principles of Best Practice in Clinical Audit. 2nd edn. by 
Research Design; Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches. 4th edn. by 
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics. 2nd edn. by 
Statistics for Research. 3rd edn. by 
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design. 4th edn. by
In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews. 4th edn. by
Ideal for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals, this new edition includes: - Nearly a hundred online examples and references from the social, behavioural, and health sciences - A revised and updated list of online articles databases - Case studies in the use of major online databases (e.g., the Web of Science) - Expansion of the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching - Clarification of some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods - Explanation of the major available formal systems (such as CONSORT, TREND, PRISMA) for evaluating the literature's transparency and quality - More qualitative research examples and guidelines and checklists for evaluating their quality - Discussion and examples of mixed-methods research - Additional examples of how to write up reviews and how others have done it.
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy. 5th edn. by 
Developing a Questionnaire by 
Research Interviewing by 
Statistics: A Tool for Social Research. 9th edn. by 
Interpreting Qualitative Data. 5th edn. by 
Qualitative Research and Theory Development by
Empirical data is one of the cornerstones of knowledge in the social sciences, and yet the researcher often takes it for granted, reserving his or her imaginative faculties for finding a theory that ′fits the data′. This revealing account of the theory-data relationship calls this faith in data into question and establishes a reflexive framework and vocabulary to explore the creative, political and philosophical elements of data production. Rather than thinking about the theory-data ′fit′, Alvesson and Karreman will encourage you to consider the research process as one of theory-data interplay, asking if creative empirical material can challenge established theory and inspire new lines of development, and if breakdowns and mysteries encountered in research can be a constructive rather than destructive process. They will encourage you to think critically about empirical data in terms of construction rather than verification, and most importantly they will encourage you to develop theory that is interesting and novel, rather than naive or irrelevant, making this title essential reading for those who often find the traditional vocabulary and frameworks of social science research obvious or simplistic.
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by 
Research Methods, Design, and Analysis by 
Research Methods in Education by
This rewritten, expanded and updated 7thedition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Educationencompasses the whole range of methods currently employed by educational research at all stages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references. Chapters new to this edition cover: Causation, critical educational research, evaluation and the politics of research, including material on cross-cultural research, mixed methods and participatory research Choosing and planning a research project, including material on sampling, research questions, literature reviews and ethical issues Meta-analysis, research syntheses and systematic reviews Virtual worlds and internet research Using and analysing visual media and data in educational research Organizing and presenting qualitative data, content analysis, coding and computer analysis, themes, narratives, conversations and discourses, grounded theory Understanding and choosing statistical tests, descriptive and inferential statistics, multi-dimensional measurement and factor analysis Research Methods in Educationis essential reading for both the professional researcher and students of education at undergraduate and postgraduate level, who need to understand how to plan, conduct, analyse and use research. The textbook is accompanied by a website: www.routledge.com/textbooks/cohen7e. PowerPoint slides for every chapter contain an outline of the chapter structure followed by a thorough summary of the key points, ideal for both lecturers and students.　 Within the book a variety of internet resources are referred to and these references have been included here, with links to the websites.　 A wide range of supplementary documents are available for many chapters, providing additional guidance and examples.　 They range from guidelines for the contents of a research proposal with a worked example, to screen-print manuals for using SPSS and QSR N6 NUD*IST (exportable to N-Vivo) plus data files.
Research into Practice by
The need for all health care professionals to develop research appreciation skills has been recognized and emphasized. Otherwise, research remains irrelevant and unrelated to practice. Traditional research textbooks have used the format of the research process which makes research seem even more difficult and remote. This book is different. Because the purpose of research appreciation is to enable practitioners to use research to develop and improve practice, it focuses instead on the skills of research appreciation and application which are distinct from the skills necessary to undertake research. It prepares you to access, critically evaluate, understand and use research-based literature within the multi-disciplinary context of today's health services, and emphasises: The range of sources of knowledge which inform nursing practice Contemporary research and the context in which health care research and development takes place Critical evaluation of research reports and research-based literature, examining the implication of project design and conduct The range of skills needed for the application of research findings and innovation within practice Attractively designed to encourage reflection on practice Text highlights the relevance of research appreciation and application to practice The context for health and social care practice is continually developing and new material has been included within certain chapters in order to reflect this. Consistent with world-wide developments in health care and to set the scene for subsequent chapters, Chapter 1 has been revised to give more attention to the relationship between lay and professional knowledge. Chapter 2 which describes the context for nursing and health care research has been rewritten, with greater emphasis on the relationship between research and social policy. Computerised resources and techniques for systematic literature searching have developed apace and receive more detailed consideration within this edition. Increased emphasis is also placed on the contribution of research design to decisions about the appropriate interpretation and application of research findings. As a consequence the chapter providing an overview of research design (Chapter 6) has been rewritten and chapters on research methods (Chapters 7 and 8) have been extensively restructured. New chapters on information retrieval (Chapter 4) and the conduct and critique of systematic reviews (Chapter 12) have been added. Finally, all references and examples have been updated.
Reflexive Ethnography by
Reflexive Ethnography is a unique guide to ethnographic research for students of anthropology and related disciplines. It provides practical and comprehensive guidance to ethnographic research methods, but also encourages students to develop a critical understanding of the philosophical basis of ethnographic authority. Davies examines why reflexivity, at both personal and broader cultural levels, should be integrated into ethnographic research and discusses how this can be accomplished for a variety of research methods. This revised and updated second edition includes: anbsp;new chapter on internet-based research and 'interethnography' chapters on selection of topics and methods, data collection and analysis, and ethics and politics of research practical advice on writing up ethnographic study new and updated research examples. Postmodernist relativism can lead to an over-emphasis on reflexivity that denies the possibility of social research. Reflexive Ethnography utilises postmodernist insights - incorporation of different standpoints, exposure of the intellectual tyranny of meta-narratives - but proposes that reflexive ethnographic research be undertaken from a realist perspective. Reflexive Ethnography will help students to use and understand ethnographic research practices that fully incorporate reflexivity without abandoning claims to develop valid knowledge of social reality.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by editors Norman K. Denzin and Yvonna S. Lincoln presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Editioncontains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Mark Spooner; and David A. Westbrook.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Methods in Health Research by 
Doing Your Masters Dissertation by 
A-Z of Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by 
Reading statistics and research. 6th ed. by 
Participatory Action Research in Health Care by
Participatory Action Research in Healthcare provides a guide to participatory action research in the community health setting. It draws upon the authors' experiences working, researching and engaging with people utilising collaborative, participatory approaches. The authors position participatory action research as a vital, dynamic and relevant approach that can be engaged by practitioners and health service providers. It is argued that participating with people is the way to move forward toward sustainable services that evoke human flourishing. Participatory Action Research in Healthcare explores the key issues surrounding participatory action research, and examines the benefits of this approach for community development and health promotion. It includes detailed guidelines on data generation and analysis.
Social Research and Reflexivity by 
Service-User Research in Health and Social Care by 
Clinical Governance: a guide to implementation for healthcare professionals by 
Ethics in Qualitative Research by 
Social Research Methods; qualitative and quantitative approaches by 
Essentials of Nursing Research; Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice by 
Statistics and Data Analysis for Nursing Research by Interpreting Qualitative Data by
In this fifth edition of his field-defining text, David Silverman, a true guru of qualitative research, walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analyzing qualitative data. The book offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance to help them get the best out of a research methods course or research project. New to the fifth edition: A streamlined structure to aid navigation and guide readers smoothly through the research process. A new chapter on generalizing from case-study research which addresses the perennial issue of 'how many cases do you need?' New material on doing qualitative research online and the ethics of internet research. Additional sections covering organizational documents and documents of everyday life, including blogs and diaries. Many more recent case study examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines including business, education, social work and geography as well as health studies. A new and improved companion website, full of additional resources for students and lecturers. This is the perfect companion for all those new to qualitative research.
Qualitative Research by
Lecturers, click here to request an electronic inspection copy - no waiting for the post to arrive! This hugely successful textbook has been fully updated and revised to make it even more accessible and comprehensive than previous editions. New chapters have been added on a range of key topics, including grounded theory, research ethics and systematic review. This book draws on a stellar list of leading qualitative researchers, each of whom is writing on their own specialized area in qualitative research, but doing so in a way that is clear and accessible to students and those new to the field of qualitative methods. All chapters also have added features - such as internet links, questions for readers and recommended readings. Alongside its engaging and accessible style, these new features make Qualitative Research the ideal textbook for all students working within this field. This is a comprehensive and accessible first text on qualitative methods that boasts a who′s who of leading qualitative methodologists and is a must-have book for any student involved in doing research.
Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis by
"'It is not often I can use "accessible" and "phenomenology" in the same sentence, but reading the new book, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysisâe¦certainly provides me the occasion to do so. I can say this because these authors provide an engaging and clear introduction to a relatively new analytical approach"--The Weekly Qualitative ReportThis book presents a comprehensive guide to interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA) which is an increasingly popular approach to qualitative inquiry taught to undergraduate and postgraduate students today. The first chapter outlines the theoretical foundations for IPA. It discusses phenomenology, hermeneutics, and idiography and how they have been taken up by IPA. The next four chapters provide detailed, step by step guidelines to conducting IPA research: study design, data collection and interviewing, data analysis, and writing up. In the next section, the authors give extended worked examples from their own studies in health, sexuality, psychological distress, and identity to illustrate the breadth and depth of IPA research. Each of these chapters also offers a guide to other good exemplars of IPA research in the designated area. The final section of the book considers how IPA connects with other contemporary qualitative approaches like discourse and narrative analysis and how it addresses issues to do with validity. The book is written in an accessible style and will be extremely useful to students and researchers in psychology and related disciplines in the health and social sciences.
Case Study Research by
How should case studies be selected? Is case study methodology fundamentally different to that of other methods? What, in fact, is a case?Case Study Research: What, Why and How? is an authoritative and nuanced exploration of the many faces of case-based research methods. As well as the what, how, and why, the author also examines the when and which - always with an eye on practical applications to the design, collection, analysis, and presentation of the research.Case study methodology can prove a confusing and fragmented topic. In bringing diverse notions of case study research together in one volume and sensitizing the reader to the many varying definitions and perceptions of 'case study', this book equips researchers at all levels with the knowledge to make an informed choice of research strategy.
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by 
Applications of Case Study Research by 
