The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over 20 years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university. New to this Edition: - Additional material on writing skills, including proofreading, editing and writing for different assignments - New chapters on managing stress and student wellbeing at university, learning in diverse and international contexts and writing essays - More emphasis on reflective learning - Extended guidance on how to balance study with work - More use of visuals to summarise key learning points
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels. New to this Edition: - Brand new chapter on critical thinking and employability - Includes a wider range of examples to highlight the variety of contexts in which critical thinking can be used - Coverage of both academic and professional forms of critical writing
Becoming a Critical Thinker by
Help your students develop a critical mindset with this practical guide. Becoming a Critical Thinker begins by unpicking where knowledge comes from before showing students how to recognise biases and approach evidence objectively. Subsequent chapters equip students with the tools to evaluate different sources of information, critique the literature and write persuasive, critical arguments of their own. A final chapter explores the value of critical thinking in the workplace. Throughout, real-world examples illustrate the value of critical thinking in both academia and everyday life, and activities allow students to put new skills into practice. Becoming a Critical Thinker is an essential introduction to critical thinking for undergraduates of all subject areas.
Cite Them Right by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The 11th edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online. New to this Edition: - Updated examples for all referencing styles to match the latest referencing standards - Now covers IEEE referencing - Expanded APA, MHRA, OSCOLA and Vancouver sections - Advice on how to reference first language texts that are not in English - Coverage of even more sources, including body art, collages, musicals, sewing patterns, Snapchat, WhatsApp and working papers - Simplified advice on referencing legal and parliamentary sources