Learning and Teaching: Strategic People Management MSc: Databases and Journals

Journal Collection

We have over 146 million eJournal articles at your disposal 24/7 via Discovery. The library is also home to several print journals which can be accessed at any time during our opening hours.

Journals are also known as serials or periodicals. They are published serially (in parts) several times a year. Journal articles are especially useful for exploring niche topics and keeping up to date with developments in your subject area.

Journals can be academic or professional in nature.

Academic journals:

Contain research articles written by experts
Are typically reviewed for quality control
Include abstracts and bibliographies
Are published monthly or less frequently

Professional journals:

Contain shorter articles that are easy to read and understand
Include more current information
May be published weekly or fortnightly

The following Journals may be useful to your area of study:

Ready to browse our Journal collection?

Search via keyword in Discovery and use the 'Article' (for individual articles) or 'Journal' (for complete Journals) filter
Browse the A-Z of Journals or search by keyword
Browse the A-Z of Databases or filter by subject (Databases are an amalgamation of several different journal articles)
Visit the library and browse our print journals

Database Collections

Can't find what you need via Discovery? Our index databases a massive variety of resources ranging from journal articles to professional reports and videos! There are approximately 180 separate databaases at your disposal 24/7 via the A-Z of eResources.

The following Databases may be useful to your area of study:

ABI/INFORM Collection
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Market Research Collection (Hoover's Company Profiles)
Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, this database provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available.
Emerald Management
Full-text management journals published from 1994 - present.
IBIS World
Industry Research Reports that can assist in making better business decisions on strategies and revenue generation by gaining an instant understanding of an industry faster & more conveniently than previously possible.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary full-text database that provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects.
The Purple Guide
The Purple Guide has been written by The Events Industry Forum in consultation with the events industry. Its aim is to help those event organisers who are dutyholders to manage health and safety, particularly at large-scale music and similar events.
Science Direct
Key site for full-text journal article covering all subjects, including Business and Management.
Taylor and Francis Online
The collection encompasses over 1,600 titles and is one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals, spanning content areas such as Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology
Wiley Online Library
Full-text journal articles covering all subject areas.

Ready to browse our Database collection?

Browse the A-Z of Databases or filter by subject (Databases are an amalgamation of several different journal articles)

Requesting Resources

If you're unable to find a resource you're looking for, the University of Suffolk Library can order articles on your behalf from other UK universities via our resource request service.

How many requests can I make?

Allowances are currently set as follows. However, these may be exceeded if the customer wishes to pay personally.

First-year undergraduate (Level 4) - 5 requests free of charge (request forms must be countersigned by course tutor)
Second-year undergraduate (Level 5) - 5 requests free of charge
Final year undergraduate (Level 6) - 10 requests free of charge
Taught Postgraduate - 10 requests free of charge
Research postgraduate - 20 requests free of charge
Staff - 20 requests free of charge