Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling and definitive resource for HRM students and professionals, which helps readers to understand and implement HR in relation to the needs of the business. This book covers in-depth all of the areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance management and reward, as well as the HR skills needed to ensure professional success, including leadership, managing conflict, interviewing and using statistics. Illustrated throughout in full colour and with a range of pedagogical features to consolidate learning (e.g. source review boxes, key learning points, summaries and case studies from international organizations such as IBM, HSBC and Johnson and Johnson), this fully updated 15th edition includes new chapters on the HRM role of line managers, evidence-based HRM, e-HRM and the gender pay gap, further case studies and updated content covering the latest research and developments.Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) profession map and standards and is suited to both professionals and students of both undergraduate degrees and the CIPD's level 5 and 7 professional qualifications. Online supporting resources include comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students, lecture slides, all figures and tables, toolkits, and a literature review, glossary and bibliography.
Strategy and Human Resource Management by
Strategy and Human Resource Management is concerned with examining how HR strategy impacts on an organisation's chances of survival and its relative success, and with understanding how it varies across important organisational, industry and societal contexts. It takes an analytical approach, which examines and explains what managers do and why they do it before offering any sort of prescription for what the authors think they should do. This approach is grounded in research but is brought to life with examples, cases and vignettes to offer a practice-orientated analysis of the subject. As well as explaining important general principles in strategic HRM, critical features of the different contexts in which they are applied are examined. For this fifth edition, there is increased coverage of contemporary topics, including capital markets and increasing financialisation, Industry 4.0, the shaping of employee voice under different varieties of capitalism and the effects of austerity. Strategy and Human Resource Management retains, however, the classic sources that are fundamental to the subject while also including important theoretical advances and the best new studies of strategies in the world of work and people.
Human Resource Management in a Business Context by
Highly accessible and student-friendly, Human Resource Management in a Business Context is the core text for the CIPD Level 7 Advanced module, Human Resource Management in Context, and is also essential reading for other undergraduate and postgraduate HR and business degrees. In clear and easy to navigate chapters, which consider government policy, regulation, the world economy and demographic and social trends, this book provides the firm theoretical background that you can apply in practice.Human Resource Management in a Business Context is packed with international case studies, examples and activities that will actively engage you with the different areas of knowledge and allow you to work through the material step-by-step. This edition is fully updated to include an even broader range of global case studies with extended coverage from China and India and updates to policies and legislation. The online resources available have also been expanded on, and now provide additional case studies and activities, alongside lecturer's guides, PowerPoint slides and annotated web links.
Introduction to Human Resource Management by
Introduction to Human Resource Management is a comprehensive and accessible guide to the subject of HRM.Drawing on the authors' experiences in both the public and private sectors and underpinned by academic theory, this textbook follows the logical sequence of the employment cycle and shows how human resource management plays out in practice. It covers organizational culture, the role of the HR professional, HR planning, recruitment and selection, talent management, L&D, motivation and performance, health and safety, diversity and equality, employment law, change management and handling and managing information.With a range of pedagogical features, including contemporary case studies and review questions, Introduction to Human Resource Management maps to the CIPD Level 3 Foundation Certificate in HR Practice and is also ideal for foundation and undergraduate students encountering HRM for the first time. This fully updated 4th edition has been revised and expanded to include coverage of zero-hours contracts and the gig economy, social media and e-recruitment and the UK apprenticeship levy. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides and students' resources including multiple choice questions, additional case studies and reflective questions for self-study.
Human resource management: a contemporary approach by 
International Human Resource Management by
International Human Resource Management is a critically engaging and student friendly textbook for International HRM modules at all levels, including the CIPD Level 7 Advanced International HRM module. Providing wide international coverage and incorporating a global strategy perspective, it offers a particular focus on cross-cultural, comparative and strategic HRM issues, with a strong emphasis on culture and its impact on organizational behaviour and HRM.This fully updated 4th edition of International Human Resource Management includes extended coverage of cross-cultural management, a broader scope of countries and key topics such as global talent management, global leadership, global knowledge management, and differing national contexts. Filled with geographically diverse examples and case studies, and covering topics from culture and reward systems to managing expatriate assignment and diversity in international forms of working, it is an ideal textbook for all students of international HRM as well as HRM specialists and practicing managers. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides and additional case studies.
Human Resource Management by
A comprehensive introduction to HRM for students who are new to the field, but who will be seeking employment in a global market, working with diverse colleagues and across international borders. Broken down into three parts covering Strategic Issues in HRM, HRM in Practice and HRM in Context, and weaving international and cross-cultural perspectives throughout, the text explores the ever-changing world of human resource management. The various theories, practices and debates that populate this field are examined, and the challenges and controversies that arise when theory meets practice are explored. The international dimensions of HRM, including cross-cultural working, diversity, equality and international business, have been considered throughout. Practical learning features have been included to help students develop skills they can apply to their course and in graduate employment. In the new edition, all chapters have been thoroughly updated and the authors have included an additional chapter on Digitization and Artificial Intelligence in HRM. The book is supported by a wide range of online resources and tools for both lecturers and students, including access to SAGE journal articles, chapter specific podcasts, SAGE video, PowerPoint slides, interactive multiple choice questions and SAGE Business Cases. Suitable for undergraduates and post-graduate students looking for a strategic and international perspective of HRM.
Human Resource Management : a global and critical perspective by
The fully revised and updated second edition of this core textbook builds on the previous edition's success to bring an even sharper exploration of HRM in a real-world global context. With a critical approach that is woven into the chapters and encourages students to question assumptions in HRM, there is a consistent focus on the impact of globalization, the ways in which theory has addressed the implications of a globalized workforce, and the way HRM works in multinational corporations. Boasting a truly global orientation, this textbook draws on the expert knowledge of chapter authors from around the world, combining international case studies with a strong offering of pedagogical features. While adopting a rigorous academic approach, the book is also designed to engage students and elicit independent thought. This is an ideal core textbook for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying on general business and management degrees, specialist HRM degrees, and international business degrees. In addition, this an important supplementary text for International HRM modules and HRM modules on MBA programmes. New to this Edition: - Brand new chapters on Talent Management, International Assignments, Managing Global and Migrant Workers, and Sustainable HRM - Revised and refreshed international case studies including an array of examples from diverse, non-western regions of the world - 'HRM in the news' boxes, comprising issues from the media that are relevant to each chapter topic - 'Stop and reflect' boxes containing thought-provoking questions that encourage critical thinking
Human Resource Management at Work by
A leading textbook in its field, Human Resource Management at Work is a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of HRM. Aligned to the CIPD Level 7 qualification yet also relevant on non-CIPD accredited HR masters courses, this book covers everything students need to excel in their academic studies and will ensure that they can hit the ground running in a practitioner role after university.Divided into four key parts, the first part of the book covers HRM strategy and the global context, the forces shaping HRM at work and international and comparative HRM. Part Two discusses the role of HR professionals and line managers in the workplace, and how the responsibilities for delivering effective HR vary in a changing world of work, Part Three has expert coverage of the key areas of HR including resourcing and talent management, learning and development (L&D), reward and employment relations. The final part examines the impact that HRM can have on business performance and also outlines the key knowledge and skills required to carry out a business research project. Fully updated through, this seventh edition now has new coverage of diversity and inclusion (D&I), workplace analytics, ethics, wellbeing and precarious work as well as additional coverage of the alignment of HRM with organisational strategy and the integration of different components of HRM. Human Resource Management at Work includes new global case studies, reflective practice activities to encourage critical thinking, exercises to help the consolidation of learning and 'explore further' boxes to encourage wider reading. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual and lecture slides.
Contemporary Human Resource Management by
Written by experts in the field, this well-established book provides a critical and academically rigorous exploration of the key functions, practices and issues in HRM today.The first part of Contemporary Human Resource Management covers fundamental HRM practices while the second half examines contemporary themes and issues such as work-place bullying, flexibility and emotion at work. Each chapter contains two thought-provoking case studies, encouraging readers to identify, examine and apply key concepts to real-world examples.This substantially revised sixth edition includes three completely new chapters and case studies on: HRM in SMEs The Future of Work Employee Wellbeing