Managing Employment Relations by
Employment relations is concerned with the relationship between employees and their employers - one of the most important aspects of an HR role. Managing Employment Relations will give students a thorough grounding in the processes, context and practical application of employment relations and the skills they need for a successful career in HR.Covering everything from the legal aspects of employment relations, essential policies, strategies and the changing social context to conflict resolution, mediation, employee engagement and workplace discipline, Managing Employment Relations is an indispensable guide. With brand new content on gig economy workers, supporting diversity in the workplace, individual and group policies and the need for greater transparency in the employer-employee relationship, this book is a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of employment relations. Mapped to the CIPD Level 7 module in employment relations and full of case studies and exercises to help students understand the practical application of the core topics, this is an essential textbook for postgraduate HR students and practitioners in an employment relations role. Online resources include a lecturer guide, lecture slides, sample essay questions and additional case studies for students and lecturers as well as annotated weblinks.
Employment Law by
The most up-to-date guide on UK employment law available for CIPD and HR students. Employment Law is the core textbook for the CIPD Level 7 Employment Law module. It takes the reader step-by-step through everything that they need to know, including the formation of the Contract of Employment, discrimination, health and safety in the workplace, unfair dismissal and redundancy. Easy to read and navigate, and full of case studies and useful examples that encourage deeper thinking, this fully updated 15th edition provides a thorough theoretical grounding in employment law that can be applied in practice.This new edition of Employment Law is completely up to date with the latest cases and legislation, including zero hours contracts, migrant workers' rights, shared parental leave and Brexit and provides an up-to-date analysis of anti-discrimination law, the national living wage and the 'Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) Regulations 2006' (TUPE). Online resources include a lecturer guide, powerpoint slides and extra case studies to support learning and enable students to apply the theory in practice.
Human Resource Management at Work by
A leading textbook in its field, Human Resource Management at Work is a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of HRM. Aligned to the CIPD Level 7 qualification yet also relevant on non-CIPD accredited HR masters courses, this book covers everything students need to excel in their academic studies and will ensure that they can hit the ground running in a practitioner role after university.Divided into four key parts, the first part of the book covers HRM strategy and the global context, the forces shaping HRM at work and international and comparative HRM. Part Two discusses the role of HR professionals and line managers in the workplace, and how the responsibilities for delivering effective HR vary in a changing world of work, Part Three has expert coverage of the key areas of HR including resourcing and talent management, learning and development (L&D), reward and employment relations. The final part examines the impact that HRM can have on business performance and also outlines the key knowledge and skills required to carry out a business research project. Fully updated through, this seventh edition now has new coverage of diversity and inclusion (D&I), workplace analytics, ethics, wellbeing and precarious work as well as additional coverage of the alignment of HRM with organisational strategy and the integration of different components of HRM. Human Resource Management at Work includes new global case studies, reflective practice activities to encourage critical thinking, exercises to help the consolidation of learning and 'explore further' boxes to encourage wider reading. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual and lecture slides.
www.acas.gov.uk - Website of Acas (Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service)
www.cipd.co.uk - Website of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD)
www.equalityhumanrights.com - Website of the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC)
www.gov.uk/browse/employing-people - Government advice on employing people
Employee Relations by
The third edition of Employee Relations is a practical guide to the principles and practice of fostering positive relationships with employees to develop their engagement and achieve business success. It features updated material on recent legislation changes including employment status in the gig economy and deregulation as a result of new international relations. Covering key areas such as conflict and dispute resolution, redundancies, rights and ethics, this book equips you with the skills and knowledge to plan, build and assess employee relations in any type of organization. Practical diagnostic tools and real-life examples from organizations including HSBC show how these strategies can be applied in practice. With updated guidance and examples covering employee voice and the virtual workplace, Employee Relations is a vital resource for HR practitioners and students alike. Online resources include questionnaires and templates to support the development of an effective employee relations strategy. HR Fundamentals is a series of succinct, practical guides featuring exercises, examples and case studies. They are ideal for students and those in the early stages of their HR careers.
Introduction to Employment Law by
Understand the theory and practical application of UK employment law without the need for any prior legal knowledge. Written specifically for HR and Business students, Introduction to Employment Law is a clear and accessible guide to employment law and how it applies in practice. Covering everything from employment tribunals and discrimination to redundancy and termination of employment, this textbook doesn't assume any prior knowledge of the UK legal system and equips students with all the knowledge and skills that they need to take forward into the workplace. Fully revised with all the latest cases and legal developments, this new edition includes coverage of hot topics such as defining employment status in the gig economy, gender pay reporting, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the legal implications to be considered with Britain's withdrawal from the European Union. Packed with pedagogical features to consolidate learning including chapter objectives, tasks, 'explore further' sections, key learning points and examples to work through, as well as a dedicated study skills chapter, Introduction to Employment Law is essential reading for all students studying the CIPD Level 5 Intermediate module in employment law as well as being a useful resource for those studying at level 3 and an accessible introduction for level 7 and those on undergraduate and postgraduate courses needing a thorough grounding in employment law. Online resources include lecture slides, case studies, multiple choice questions, annotated weblinks and an instructor's manual.
A very short, fairly interesting and reasonably cheap book about employment relations by 
Selwyn's Law of Employment by
Established and reliable, Selwyn's Law of Employment continues its legacy as a complete reference guide for students of employment law.Astra Emir has maintained Norman Selwyn's practical approach to the subject, wherein each topic's broad scope is discussed concisely and in an accessible manner, allowing space to reflect on developing issues in this fluid area of law.The straightforward written style and clean layout allows you to navigate the text with ease, and helps to identify legal principles and seminal cases quickly.This textbook includes case law from the UK and EU, and both collective and individual employment law is considered, to offer an inclusive representation of the subject.Digital formats and resourcesThe twenty-second edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooksThe online resources, available at www.oup.com/he/selwyn22e/, includes biannual updates to the law, blog posts about prominent employment law topics, and animated diagrams exploring complex legal processes.
Cases and Materials on Employment Law by
Cases and Materials on Employment Law is the complete reference resource for students of employment law. The most current sourcebook on the market, the 10th edition offers a wealth of well-chosen case law and stimulating extracts and materials to explain employment law in a contextualized and thought-provoking manner. Discerning author notes and questions accompany each extract, providing valuable additional detail to further students' understanding and encourage them to engage critically with the material. Online Resource Centre This book is also accompanied by a free online resource centre (www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/orc/painter holmes10e/) which includes an additional material on family rights, an extra chapter on health and safety at work as well as updates to the law and useful weblinks.
Smith and Wood's Employment Law by
Known for its detailed and authoritative approach, Smith and Wood's Employment Law provides a comprehensive yet accessible guide to employment law.Clear accounts of essential case law and legislation are complemented by insightful commentary and critique to direct preparation for classes and assessments. This textbook carefully explains topics in their social and historical context, providing readers with an awareness of the fast-paceddevelopment of employment legislation and offering a critical analysis of the future direction of the law.Digital formats and resourcesThe fifteenth edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.- The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooksThe following resources for this book are available online:- Self-test questions with feedback for each chapter- Further reading lists and useful websites
Employee Engagement in Theory and Practice by
In recent years there has been a weight of evidence suggesting that engagement has a significantly positive impact on productivity, performance and organisational advocacy, as well as individual wellbeing, and a significantly negative impact on intent to quit and absenteeism from the work place. This comprehensive new book is unique as it brings together, for the first time, psychological and critical HRM perspectives on engagement as well as their practical application. Employee Engagement in Theory and Practice will familiarise readers with the concepts and core themes that have been explored in research and their application in a business context via a set of carefully chosen and highly relevant original and case studies, some of which are co-authored by invited practitioners. Written in an accessible manner, this book will be essential reading for scholars in the field, students studying at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels, as well as practitioners interested in finding out more about the theoretical underpinnings of engagement alongside its practical application.
The Routledge Companion to Employment Relations by
Comprising five thematic sections, this volume provides a critical, international and interdisciplinary exploration of employment relations. It examines the major subjects and emerging areas within the field, including essays on institutional theory, voice, new actors, precarious work and employment. Led by a well-respected team of editors, the contributors examine current knowledge and debates within each topic, offering cutting-edge analysis and reflection. The Routledge Companion to Employment Relations is an extensive reference work that offers students and researchers an introduction to current scholarship in the longstanding discipline of employment relations. It will be an essential addition to library collections in business and management, law, economics, sociology and political economy.
Introducing Employment Relations by
Introducing Employment Relations draws on the most up-to-date research and many contemporary examples to encourage students to think critically about the significant issues surrounding employment relations from a variety of perspectives. Integrated learning features, factual examples, andreal-life case studies prompt students to reflect on how employment relations are regulated, experienced, and contested, by organizations and employees, collectively or individually. End-of-chapter assignment and discussion questions then develop reflective learning and promote lively debate.This edition offers a brand new chapter on employment relations in an international context and in relation to globalisation, covering global supply chains, international trade unions, and labour conflict. Comparison between labour markets and the spread of neoliberalism and financialization areanalysed in Chapter 2, with new material in Chapter 10 helping students turn a critical eye to how conflict is managed in practice, whether it's in the context of managing disciplinary procedures, staff absences, or grievances.Organized thematically to provide comprehensive coverage, while maintaining a critical focus to draw out the contemporary debates surrounding work, employment, and employment relations, it is clear to see why this book is the most trusted and thought-provoking introduction to the subject available.Williams' accessible and focussed style combined with the carefully designed learning features means students can rely on this book to provide all they need to support their study of employment relations.This book is supported by an Online Resource Centre, which includes:For students:* Flashcard glossary* Web case studies* Web links* Video links* UpdatesFor lecturers:* PowerPoint slides* Case study guide* Guide to end-of-chapter questions* Guide to web cases* Figures and tables from the book
