Human resource management at work by 
Resourcing and Talent Management by
An essential textbook for the CIPD Level 7 module in Resourcing and Talent Management which covers the recruitment, selection and retention of staff as well as employee retirement, dismissals and redundancy.Resourcing and Talent Management provides broad and accessible coverage of key topics for HR masters students and is the essential companion for the CIPD Level 7 module of the same name. It covers everything from job design and both internal and external recruitment through to interviewing, selection and contracts of employment. There is also guidance on staff retention, succession planning, employee turnover as well as crucial information on how staff leave the business whether this is retirement, redundancy or dismissal.This new edition of Resourcing and Talent Management now includes a brand new chapter on managing absence as well as new content on the UK labour market outside the EU and the implications of Brexit on recruitment and staff development, Fully updated throughout and aligned to the new CIPD qualification framework, this textbook includes 'explore further' boxes to encourage students to read more deeply, 'pause for thought' boxes to encourage reflection on learning and activities to put their learning in practice and test their understanding.
Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management by
Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management addresses all areas of performance management, from performance pay and giving feedback to managing underperformers and having difficult conversations, so organizations can optimize staff performance. This fully updated and restructured 6th edition analyzes traditional as well as the latest developments in performance management including the shift from ratings and annual reviews. Veteran HR expert Michael Armstrong examines where these new approaches should be embraced and where traditional methods of performance management may be preferable. Packed with examples, exercises, checklists and new case studies from organizations such as Microsoft, IBM and Expedia, this book remains the most authoritative and engaging textbook on performance management. Supporting online resources for Armstrong's Handbook of Performance Management include an instructor's manual, a student's manual, lecture slides, a glossary of terms and a literature review.
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling and definitive resource for HRM students and professionals, which helps readers to understand and implement HR in relation to the needs of the business. It covers in-depth all of the areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance management and reward, as well as the HR skills needed to ensure professional success, including leadership, managing conflict, interviewing and using statistics. Illustrated throughout in full colour and with a range of pedagogical features to consolidate learning (e.g. source review boxes, key learning points, summaries and case studies from international organizations such as IBM, HSBC and Johnson and Johnson), this fully updated 15th edition includes new chapters on the HRM role of line managers, evidence-based HRM, e-HRM and the gender pay gap, further case studies and updated content covering the latest research and developments. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) profession map and standards and is suited to both professionals and students of both undergraduate degrees and the CIPD's level 5 and 7 professional qualifications. Online supporting resources include comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students, lecture slides, all figures and tables, toolkits, and a literature review, glossary and bibliography.
Armstrong's Handbook of Reward Management Practice by
Armstrong's Handbook of Reward Management Practice is the definitive guide to understanding, developing and implementing effective reward strategies. It covers all the essential aspects of improving organizational, team and individual performance through reward processes, including financial and non-financial rewards, job evaluation, grade and pay structures, rewarding specific employee groups and ethical considerations. This revised and updated sixth edition incorporates the latest research and developments and contains updated coverage of equal pay and the gender pay gap, employee benefits and total reward and a new chapter on employee financial wellbeing. As with all of Armstrong's texts, Armstrong's Handbook of Reward Management Practice bridges the gap between academic and practitioner and is ideally suited to both HR professionals and those studying for HR qualifications, including master's degrees and the CIPD's intermediate and advanced level qualifications. Tips and checklists and can be found throughout, alongside case studies from organizations including General Motors, the UK National Health Service and Tesco. Online supporting resources include lecture slides and comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students, which include learning summaries, discussion questions and exercises, literature reviews and glossaries.
International Human Resource Management by
International Human Resource Management is a critically engaging and student friendly textbook for International HRM modules at all levels, including the CIPD Level 7 Advanced International HRM module. Providing wide international coverage and incorporating a global strategy perspective, it offers a particular focus on cross-cultural, comparative and strategic HRM issues, with a strong emphasis on culture and its impact on organizational behaviour and HRM. This fully updated 4th edition of International Human Resource Management includes extended coverage of cross-cultural management, a broader scope of countries and key topics such as global talent management, global leadership, global knowledge management, and differing national contexts. Filled with geographically diverse examples and case studies, and covering topics from culture and reward systems to managing expatriate assignment and diversity in international forms of working, it is an ideal textbook for all students of international HRM as well as HRM specialists and practicing managers. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides and additional case studies.
Inclusive Talent Management by
SHORTLISTED: CMI Management Book of the Year 2017 - Practical Manager Category Organizations traditionally have had a clear distinction between their policies on diversity and inclusion and their talent management. The main driving force behind diversity and inclusion has been being seen to be a good employer, to be able to make claims in the annual report and to feel as though a positive contribution is being made to society. On the other hand, talent management activities have been driven by a real business need to ensure that the organization has the right people with the right skills in the right place to drive operational success. Inclusive Talent Management aligns talent management and diversity and inclusion, offering a fresh perspective on why the current distinction between them needs to disappear. Featuring case studies from internationally recognised brands such as Goldman Sachs, Unilever, KPMG, Hitachi, Oxfam and the NHS, Inclusive Talent Management shows that to achieve business objectives and gain the competitive advantage, it is imperative that organizations take an inclusive approach to talent management. It puts forward a compelling and innovative case, raising questions not only for the HR community but also to those in senior management positions, providing the practical steps, global examples and models for incorporating diversity and inclusion activities into talent management strategy.
Strategy and Human Resource Management by 
Globalizing Human Resource Management by
This new edition of Globalizing Human Resource Management examines the strategic and global issues of HRM by showing how organizations address the tradeoffs between global integration and local responsiveness. Sparrow, Brewster, and Chung discuss varying methods of globalized talent management and employer branding and conclude with a multi-dimensional approach to HRM. The second edition includes: Updated analyses of talent management, employer branding, and outsourcing of HRM Broader geographic focus, including a new focus on Asian firms and other emerging markets Exploration of the impact of strategic management thinking on HR as well as the latest research in other areas, such as operations, marketing, and economic geography Complementing traditional international HRM texts, this is an ideal book for any student interested in the actual strategic logics being pursued by the HR function today.
Contemporary Human Resource Management by
Written by experts in the field, this well-established book provides a critical and academically rigorous exploration of the key functions, practices and issues in HRM today.The first part of Contemporary Human Resource Management covers fundamental HRM practices while the second half examines contemporary themes and issues such as work-place bullying, flexibility and emotion at work. Each chapter contains two thought-provoking case studies, encouraging readers to identify, examine and apply key concepts to real-world examples.This substantially revised sixth edition includes three completely new chapters and case studies on: HRM in SMEs The Future of Work Employee Wellbeing
International Human Resource Management by
In the face of globalization, multinational companies have become the norm, rather than the exception. HR professionals now need to manage across borders, cultures and time zones, meaning that a complete understanding of the theory and practice of International Human Resource Management (HRM) is essential. International Human Resource Management is a concise introduction for all students studying International HRM at the Masters level. It covers everything from the cultural and institutional contexts, international employment law and the role of International Framework Agreements to recruitment and selection, training and development, performance management, reward and benefits, job design and other functional areas of International HRM. With numerous industry examples and global case studies from companies such as Telefonica, Unilever and Volkswagen, International Human Resource Management goes beyond the theory to fully explore how International HRM works in practice. It is an indispensable textbook to prepare students for successful careers in human resources. Online supporting resources include additional case studies, lecture slides for every chapter, self-test exercises for students, discussion questions and further reading.