Learning and Teaching: Wildlife, Ecology and Conservation Science BSc: Databases and Journals

Journal Collection

We have over 146 million eJournal articles at your disposal 24/7 via Discovery. The library is also home to several print journals which can be accessed at any time during our opening hours.

Journals are also known as serials or periodicals. They are published serially (in parts) several times a year. Journal articles are especially useful for exploring niche topics and keeping up to date with developments in your subject area.

Journals can be academic or professional in nature.

Academic journals:

Contain research articles written by experts
Are typically reviewed for quality control
Include abstracts and bibliographies
Are published monthly or less frequently

Professional journals:

Contain shorter articles that are easy to read and understand
Include more current information
May be published weekly or fortnightly

The following Journals may be useful to your area of study:

Journals for Biological Science:

Journals for Biomedical Science:

Journals for Nutrition and Human Health:

Journals for Wildlife, Ecology and Conservation:

Ready to browse our Journal collection?

Search via keyword in Discovery and use the 'Article' (for individual articles) or 'Journal' (for complete Journals) filter
Browse the A-Z of Journals or search by keyword
Browse the A-Z of Databases or filter by subject (Databases are an amalgamation of several different journal articles)
Visit the library and browse our print journals

Database Collections

Can't find what you need via Discovery? Our index databases a massive variety of resources ranging from journal articles to professional reports and videos! There are approximately 180 separate databaases at your disposal 24/7 via the A-Z of eResources.

The following Databases may be useful to your area of study:

Biology Database (Proquest)
Proquest provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 410 titles, with more than 360 available in full text. With thousands of articles available online, ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments
BioMedCentral Open Access
Publisher of 243 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of biology and medicine
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content.
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest)
Proquest has combined the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with more than 1,660 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing
Medline
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Medline contains authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.
Proquest Central
Provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.
Psychology Journals
Full-text psychology articles from 1992, including business psychology. Titles include Journal of Organisational Behaviour and Journal of Organisational Change Management
PubMed Central
a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Science Database
Proquest database with coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,600 titles—with more than 1,270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
Science Direct
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
ScienceDirect Cell Press
Committed to improving scientific communication through the publication of exciting research and reviews. Primary research journals include the flagship journal Cell, as well as Neuron, Immunity, Molecular Cell, Developmental Cell, Cancer Cell, Current Biology, Structure, Chemistry & Biology, Cell Metabolism, Cell Host & Microbe, Cell Stem Cell, Biophysical Journal, and The American Journal of Human Genetics.
Web of Science
Provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including powerful cited reference searching, the Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data. (We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer)

Ready to browse our Database collection?

Browse the A-Z of Databases or filter by subject (Databases are an amalgamation of several different journal articles)

Requesting Resources

If you're unable to find a resource you're looking for, the University of Suffolk Library can order articles on your behalf from other UK universities via our resource request service.

How many requests can I make?

Allowances are currently set as follows. However, these may be exceeded if the customer wishes to pay personally.

First-year undergraduate (Level 4) - 5 requests free of charge (request forms must be countersigned by course tutor)
Second-year undergraduate (Level 5) - 5 requests free of charge
Final year undergraduate (Level 6) - 10 requests free of charge
Taught Postgraduate - 10 requests free of charge
Research postgraduate - 20 requests free of charge
Staff - 20 requests free of charge