Welcome to your Ecotoxicology reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
Ecotoxicology by Moriarty, F.Ecotoxicology, Third Edition discusses the ecological effects of pollutants: the ways in which ecosystems can be affected, and current attempts to predict and monitor such effects. The emphasis is on ecosystems; therefore toxicological approaches are critically assessed. Following a brief introduction to the principal characteristics of both pollutants and ecosystems, the various ecosystem components are considered in more detail. Populations, communities and gene pools are examined with an emphasis on the ways in which pollutants affect them specifically. The indirect effects of pollution are considered separately in a new chapter with particular attention paid to the mechanisms and biological effects of global warming. A discussion of the methods used to predict and to monitor the effects of pollutants, some illustrative examples of pollution problems and a final summary discussion, complete the book. A classic proven by its second edition Still the only book to properly integrate ecological principles with chemistry/biochemistry Focuses on the interaction between ecology and toxicology Designed for use by toxicologists with no ecology training, and for ecologists with no toxicology training There is a new chapter on pollutants in habitats and global warming
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1999
Fundamentals of Ecotoxicology by Newman, M. C.This new edition is revised throughout and includes new and expanded information on natural resource damage assessment, the latest emerging contaminants and issues, and adds new international coverage, including case studies and rules and regulations. The text details key environmental contaminants, explores their fates in the biosphere, and discusses bioaccumulation and the effects of contaminants at increasing levels of ecological organization. Vignettes written by experts illustrate key themes or highlight especially pertinent examples. This edition offers an instructors' solution manual, PowerPoint slides, and supplemental images. 　 Features: Adds all new discussions of natural resource damage assessment concepts and approaches Includes new vignettes written by leading guest authors Draws on materials from 2,500 cited sources, including 400+ new to this edition Adds numerous new entries to a useful glossary of 800+ terms Includes a new appendix discussing Brazilian environmental laws and regulations added to existing appendices outlining U.S., E.U., Chinese, Australian, and Indian environmental laws Fundamentals of Ecotoxicology: The Science of Pollution, Fifth Edition contains a broad overview of ecotoxicology and provides a basic understanding of the field. Designed as a textbook for use in introductory graduate or upper-level undergraduate courses in ecotoxicology, applied ecology, environmental pollution, and environmental science, it can also be used as a general reference for practicing environmental toxicologists.
Call Number: 571.95 NEW
Publication Date: 2019
An Introduction to Aquatic Toxicology by Nikinmaa, M.An Introduction to Aquatic Toxicology is an introductory reference for all aspects of toxicology pertaining to aquatic environments. As water sources diminish, the need to understand the effects that contaminants may have on aquatic organisms and ecosystems increases in importance. This book will provide you with a solid understanding of aquatic toxicology, its past, its cutting-edge present and its likely future. An Introduction to Aquatic Toxicology will introduce you to the global issue of aquatic contamination, detailing the major sources of contamination, from where they originate, and their effects on aquatic organisms and their environment. State-of-the-art toxicological topics covered include nanotoxicology, toxicogenomics, bioinformatics, transcriptomics, metabolomics, as well as water management and the toxicological effects of major environmental issues such as algal blooms, climate change and ocean acidification. This book is intended for anyone who wants to know more about the impact of toxicants on aquatic organisms and ecosystems, or to keep up to date with recent and future developments in the field. Provides with the latest perspectives on the impacts of toxicants on aquatic environments, such as nanotoxicology, toxicogenomics, ocean acidification and eutrophication Offers a complete overview, beginning with the origins of aquatic toxicology and concluding with potential future challenges Includes guidance on testing methods and a glossary of aquatic toxicology terms
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Principles of Ecotoxicology by Walker, C. H., Sibly, R. M., Peakall, D. B.Cutting across traditional subject boundaries, Principles of Ecotoxicology, Fourth Edition gives readers an integrated view of ecotoxicology, from molecules to ecosystems. This new edition of a bestselling textbook continues to emphasize principles rather than practice, providing the interdisciplinary perspective and grounding required for research
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Peer reviewed journal articles are the main source of reading material and links will be provided in class.