Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: 303.4834
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
The Impact of the Internet on Our Moral Lives by Leading theorists explore how the Internet impacts privacy issues, sensitivity to wrongdoing, and cultural and personal identity.
Call Number: 303.4833
Publication Date: 2005-02-24
The Ethics of Emerging Media by The Ethics of Emerging Media engages with enduring ethical questions while addressing critical questions concerning ethical boundaries at the forefront of new media development. This collection provides a rare opportunity to ask how emerging media affect the ethical choices in our lives and the lives of people across the globe. Centering on different new media forms from eBay to Wikipedia, each chapter raises questions about how changing media formats affect current theoretical understanding of ethics. By interrogating traditional ethical theory, we can better understand the challenges to ethical decision making in an age of rapidly evolving media. Each chapter focuses on a specific case within the broader conceptual fabric of ethical theory. The case studies ground the discussion of ethics in practical applications while, at the same time, addressing moral dilemmas that have plagued us for generations. The specific applications will undoubtedly continue to unfold, but the ethical questions will endure.
Call Number: 395.5
Publication Date: 2011
Viral Hate by Emboldened by anonymity, individuals and organizations from both left and right are freely spewing hateful vitriol on the Internet without worrying about repercussions.Lies, bullying, conspiracy theories, bigoted and racist rants, and calls for violence targeting the most vulnerable circulate openly on the web.And thanks to the guarantees of the First Amendment and the borderless nature of the Internet,governing bodies are largely helpless to control this massive assault on human dignity and safety. Abe Foxman and Christopher Wolf expose the threat that this unregulated flow of bigotry poses to the world.They explore how social media companies like Facebook and YouTube, as well as search engine giant Google, are struggling to reconcile the demands of business with freedom of speech and the disturbing threat posed by today's purveyors of hate. And they explain the best tools available to citizens, parents, educators, law enforcement officers, and policy makers toprotect thetwinvalues of transparency and responsibility. As Foxman and Wolf show, only an aroused and engaged citizenry can stop the hate contagion before it spirals out of control - with potentially disastrous results.
Call Number: 364.15
Publication Date: 2013
This link will take you to the subject guide for Ethics
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Computers in Society by This is typically a senior-level elective in MIS centered around the social and ethical issues that companies face everyday in doing business. This text is a collection of papers exploring the most pressing issues in IT from one of Prentice Hall's best selling authors in MIS, Joey George.
Call Number: 303.4833
Publication Date: 2003-07-03
Does the Internet Benefit Society? by Greenhaven Press's At Issue series includes a wide range of opinions on a single controversial issue. Each volume includes both primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives-eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials, and many others. Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations to contact offer a gateway to further research. Each inexpensive volume enhances critical thinking skills and is an excellent research tool for reports. Book jacket.
Call Number: ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2005-06-10
Cyberethics: Morality and Law in Cyberspace by A Comprehensive Overview of Cutting-Edge Issues in TechnologyThe Internet and widespread use of blogging, email, social media and e-commerce have foregrounded new, complex moral issues and dilemmas. Likewise, modern technologies and social networks have brought numerous challenges to legal systems, which have difficulty keeping up with borderless global information technologies. The fully revised and updated Fifth Edition of Cyberethics: Morality and Law in Cyberspace offers an in-depth and comprehensive examination of the social costs and moral issues emerging from ever-expanding use of the Internet and new information technologies. Focusing heavily on content control, free speech, intellectual property, and security, Cyberethics: Morality and Law in Cyberspace provides legal and philosophical discussions of these critical issues.The updated Fifth Edition includes new sections on Floridi's Macroethics, gatekeepers and search engines, censorship, anti-piracy legislation, patents, and smartphones. Real-life case studies, including all-new examples focusing on Google, Facebook, video games, reader's rights, and the Lulz Sec Hackers, provide real-world context. Ideal for undergraduate computer ethics courses as well as a general readership, Cyberethics is an excellent resource for students and laypeople alike.
Call Number: 303.4834
Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Transcending Taboos by Cyberspace is composed of a multitude of different spaces where users can represent themselves in many divergent ways. Why in a video game, is it more acceptable to murder or maim than rape? After all, in each case, it is only pixels that are being assaulted. This book avoids wrestling with the common question of whether the virtual violation of real-world taboos is right or wrong, and instead provides a theoretical framework that helps us understand why such distinctions are typically made, and explores the psychological impact of violating offline taboos within cyberspace. The authors discuss such online areas as: 'Reality' sites depicting taboo images Social networking websites and online chatrooms Online dating websites Video game content. This book considers whether there are some interactions that should not be permissible even virtually. It also examines how we might be able to cope with the potential moral freedoms afforded by cyberspace, and who might be vulnerable to such freedoms of action and representation within this virtual space. This book is ideal for researchers and students of internet psychology, philosophy and social policy, as well as therapists, those interested in computer science, law, media and communication studies
Call Number: 303.4833
Publication Date: 2012-04-18