Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Body in Society 2nd edn. by In everyday life we are not, for the most part, actively conscious of our bodies or the bodies of others - we simply take them for granted. This new edition of a lively introduction to the sociology of the body examines what certain aspects of our bodies, such as the size, shape, smell and demeanour, reveal about the social organization of everyday life and how the body is crucial to the way we engage with the world and the people around us. The human body is endowed with varied forms of social significance which sociology has addressed by asking questions such as: To what degree do individuals have control over their own bodies? What interest does the state have in regulating the human body? How significant is the body to the development and performance of the self in everyday life? What images of the body influence people's expectations of themselves and others? Written in a clear and comprehensible way, The Body in Society introduces students to the key conceptual frameworks that help us to understand the social significance of the human body. This second edition has been thoroughly updated to take into account recent theories and debates and also includes enhanced pedagogical features. Using familiar examples from everyday life, such as diet and exercise regimes, personal hygiene, dress, displays of emotion, and control over bodily functions, coupled with examples from popular culture, the text has strong contemporary relevance and will strike a chord with all who read it. This book will be essential reading for students taking courses on the body in sociology, anthropology, gender studies and cultural studies.
Call Number: 306.4613
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
This link will take you to the subject guide for Ethics
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Body Image : understanding body dissatisfaction in men, women and children 2nd edn. by Sarah Grogan provides a comprehensive overview of the subject of body image, pulling together diverse research from the fields of psychology, sociology, media, and gender studies in men, women, and children. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the significant increase in research on body image since the first edition was published, including new empirical data collected specifically for this text. In addition to examining evidence for sociocultural influences on body image, the book also reviews recent literature and includes new findings on body modification practices (cosmetic surgery, piercing, tattooing, and bodybuilding). It takes a critical look at interventions designed to promote positive body image and also attempts to link body image to physical health, looking in particular at motivations for potentially health-damaging practices such as anabolic steroid use and cosmetic surgery. The only text to date that examines the issue of body image, focusing on men and children as well as women, Body Imagewill be invaluable to students and researchers in the area as well as those with an interest in how to promote positive body image.
Call Number: 306.4613
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
Gendered Media : women, men and identity politics by Gendered Media addresses the broad topic of gender and media, where "gender" is not simply a shorthand for "woman" but also embraces masculinitiy/ies, queer, lesbian and gay identities. Karen Ross provides the necessary historical context against which to read recent sex- and gender-based media phenomena such as Big Brother, Terminator, girls' use of mobile phones, women news editors, the Wonderbra generation, the Hillary Clinton and Sarah Palin phenomena, and so on. The book is an overview of the various aspects of gender and media in one volume. The book provides introductory overviews to the various themes around women, men, sexuality and the ways in which these attributes are cross-cut by other demographics such as age, ethnicity and disability. In this way, the book genuinely tries to provide a broad introduction to the ways in which gender, in all its facets, engages with media, in one accessible volume.
Call Number: 302.23
Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Gendered Media : men, women and identity politics. (eBook) by Gendered Media addresses the broad topic of gender and media, where "gender" is not simply a shorthand for "woman" but also embraces masculinitiy/ies, queer, lesbian and gay identities. Karen Ross provides the necessary historical context against which to read recent sex- and gender-based media phenomena such as Big Brother, Terminator, girls' use of mobile phones, women news editors, the Wonderbra generation, the Hillary Clinton and Sarah Palin phenomena, and so on. The book is an overview of the various aspects of gender and media in one volume. The book provides introductory overviews to the various themes around women, men, sexuality and the ways in which these attributes are cross-cut by other demographics such as age, ethnicity and disability. In this way, the book genuinely tries to provide a broad introduction to the ways in which gender, in all its facets, engages with media, in one accessible volume.
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
What We Owe to Each Other by How do we judge whether an action is morally right or wrong? If an action is wrong, what reason does that give us not to do it? Why should we give such reasons priority over our other concerns and values? In this book, T. M. Scanlon offers new answers to these questions, as they apply to the central part of morality that concerns what we owe to each other. According to his contractualist view, thinking about right and wrong is thinking about what we do in terms that could be justified to others and that they could not reasonably reject. He shows how the special authority of conclusions about right and wrong arises from the value of being related to others in this way, and he shows how familiar moral ideas such as fairness and responsibility can be understood through their role in this process of mutual justification and criticism. Scanlon bases his contractualism on a broader account of reasons, value, and individual well-being that challenges standard views about these crucial notions. He argues that desires do not provide us with reasons, that states of affairs are not the primary bearers of value, and that well-being is not as important for rational decision-making as it is commonly held to be. Scanlon is a pluralist about both moral and non-moral values. He argues that, taking this plurality of values into account, contractualism allows for most of the variability in moral requirements that relativists have claimed, while still accounting for the full force of our judgments of right and wrong.
Call Number: 170
Publication Date: 2000-11-15
Typical Men : the representation of masculinity in popular British cinema. by Typical Men is the first history of masculinity in British film from World War II to the end of the 1990s. It explores in detail the changing nature of the dominant male cultural types: the debonair gentleman, the Byronic hero, the Angry Young Man, the delinquent, the maladjusted veteran, villains, and comic fools. Typical Men contains fresh interpretations of key films including In Which We Serve, They Made Me a Fugitive, Saturday Night and Sunday Morning and the Bond films. It also provides stimulating commentary on the performances of important male stars such as James Mason, Kenneth More, Sean Connery, and Michael Caine.
Call Number: 791.43652041
Publication Date: 2003-10-03
The Rejected Body by This study applies a feminist philosophical perspective to theoretical and practical issues of physical disability, such as who should be identified as disabled, whether disability is biomedical, social or both, what causes disability and what could cure it, and whether scientific efforts to eliminate disabling physical conditions are morally justified. The book also argues that feminist theorizing has been skewed toward non-disabled experience, and that the knowledge of people with disabilities must be integrated into feminist ethics, feminist discussions of bodily life, and feminist criticism of the cognitive and social authority of medicine. The story of the author's own experience of chronic illness is woven through the text.
Call Number: 362.4
Publication Date: 1996-07-02