If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals collection contains more than two million pages of historic newspapers published between 1800 and 1900 in the United Kingdom. The resources covers the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the nineteenth century world. Few of the materials in this extensive collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. Titles included have been identified and selected by leading scholars in nineteenth century studies; their choices reflect the broad scope and thrust of research and teaching in the twenty-first century.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing concerning the British Isles, British Empire, and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present. The complete database now contains over 650,000 records. Linkage to online text and to library catalogues is provided wherever possible and can be customised according to the user's location.
The content of this resource is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this resource is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
British History Online is a collection of over 1300 volumes of primary and secondary sources, 40,000 images, and 10,000 historic maps relating to British and Irish history (medieval to twentieth century).
Most content is free to view. The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
British Periodicals 1681-1939 provides full-text access to hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
a free EBSCO database containing more than 32,000 entries and a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
**The Historical Texts service will be retired on 31 July 2024**
Historical Texts brings together four historically significant collections: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection and the UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL).
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches. The collection includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text. Students can access titles such as: Joint Force Quarterly JFQ; Military Intelligence Professional Bulletin; RUSI Journal: Royal United Services Institute for Defense Studies; Washington Monthly; Harvard International Review; and, Georgetown Journal of International Affairs.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford DNB) is the national record of women and men who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), the 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection is the largest of its kind available from the British Library, and includes over 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
The 19th Century British Library Newspapers Collection contains complete runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent 19th century Britain. The collection includes national and regional newspapers from across the United Kingdom.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Historical Newspapers is the archive of Guardian and Observer newspaper publications, covering 1791-2003. The collection provides genealogists, historians, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
Gender and History; University of Suffolk Ipswich 2011- University of Suffolk Bury 2004-2010
Access online via Wiley Online
Local History News; is a magazine with topical articles of interest to local historians, plus reports from local societies, record offices, museums and libraries. BAHL have offered free access to the Local History News archive until further notice.
Local Historian; contains articles and features for the general reader that may be of a wide, perhaps national, application or may reflect a local subject. BAHL have offered free access to their Local Historian archive until further notice.
Past and Present; University of Suffolk Ipswich 1990-2001, University of Suffolk Bury 2004-
Access online via JSTOR & Oxford Journals online
Rural History; University of Suffolk Ipswich 2008- University of Suffolk Bury 2004-
Information about journals in reading lists is available in the History resource and reading list area
