Dissertations and Project Reports: a step by step guide. (Print copy) by
Faced with your dissertation or major project and need some help getting started? Thinking about how your final project will affect your overall grades? Then read on. Tapping into her tried and tested formula for learning, bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: - Offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports - Gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills - Gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
Your Undergraduate Dissertation: the essential guide for success. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here 'This is a refreshing and inspiring book, of equal value to both the anxious and the ambitious student' - Lucinda Becker, Department of English Literature, University of Reading In the second edition of this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What's a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I'm an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What's the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
How to Do Your Research Project. 3rd edn. (PRINT COPY) by
′Gary's book, never more than a metre away, has been my indispensable research companion. With its easy layout, my well-worn copy, stripy with florescent marker and pencilled notes, has been my go-to, on-hand supervisor throughout my degree; taking the distance out of distance learning. Replace daunting and impossible with clarity and entertainment. I wouldn't be where I am today without it; it has been my gateway to achievement′ - Ellie Davies Moore, distance learner in Multi-Sensory Impairment at the University of Birmingham With more advice on concluding, writing up and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding what supervisors want and how to work with them, the third edition of this bestselling title continues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms. It covers: - How to choose your research question - Project management and study skills - Effective literature reviews - Methodology, theory and research design frames - Ethics and access - Data collection tools - Effective data analysis - Discussing findings, concluding and writing up Packed with engaging anecdotal evidence and practical advice and supported by an interactive website featuring worksheets, videos, SAGE Journal articles and more, this new edition is a user-friendly, one-stop-shop for guidance on research principles.
Introducing Research Methodology : thinking your way through your research project. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Offering an encyclopedic introduction to research, this book shows students how to think about every stage of their project and equips them with the tools they need to understand different research processes. Packed with examples showing the diversity of research, this third edition provides hands-on guidance to help students: Develop key academic skills like critical thinking, effective writing and building an argument Confidently interpret findings, assess arguments and understand the wider impact of their research Understand the challenges and opportunities involved in working with new types of data like social media and online data Supported by a dynamic new website with downloadable templates, case studies, dos and don'ts videos and more, this practical book prepares students for not just getting to grips with methodological concepts, but being ready to apply them.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Doing your research project. 7th. edn. (Print copy) by 
How to Research.4th edn. (Print copy). by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
How to Research. 4th edn. (E-book) by
How to Research is a clear and accessible guide to the business of doing a research project. It systematically takes the reader through from the planning to the writing up and finishing off.
Social research methods 5th edn. (Print Copy) by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation : a road map from beginning to end. 4th edn. IPrint copy) by
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation offers comprehensive step-by-step guidance and practical tools for navigating the personal and professional challenges that can arise during the qualitative dissertation journey. Authors Linda Dale Bloomberg and Maria Volpe skillfully blend the conceptual, theoretical, and practical, empowering readers to successfully master both the content and the process of their qualitative dissertations. The Fourth Edition has been thoroughly updated to respond to developments in the field, allowing the book to have wider application for dissertation work within the evolving world of qualitative inquiry. Included in this edition is a new chapter titled "Achieving Alignment Throughout Your Dissertation," a greater focus on how all qualitative traditions can encompass activist research and social justice inquiry, and enhanced coverage on the role of the researcher, emphasizing the importance of reflexivity and approaching research critically.
Introducing Research Methodology : thinking your way through your research project. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Offering an encyclopedic introduction to research, this book shows students how to think about every stage of their project and equips them with the tools they need to understand different research processes. Packed with examples showing the diversity of research, this third edition provides hands-on guidance to help students: Develop key academic skills like critical thinking, effective writing and building an argument Confidently interpret findings, assess arguments and understand the wider impact of their research Understand the challenges and opportunities involved in working with new types of data like social media and online data Supported by a dynamic new website with downloadable templates, case studies, dos and don'ts videos and more, this practical book prepares students for not just getting to grips with methodological concepts, but being ready to apply them.
Critical thinking skills: effective ananlysis, argument and reflection. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
The new edition of this leading guide helps students to develop reflective thinking skills, improve their critical analysis and construct arguments more effectively. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step explanations along with plenty of examples and activities develop understanding at each stage. Includes a brand new chapter on employability.
Doing a Successful Research Project: using qualitative and quatitative methods. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
Carrying out a research project is a daunting task, presenting you with deadline anxieties, unfamiliar language and practical dilemmas. This book is a straightforward, user-friendly guide on how to manage your research project successfully - akin to having a tutor at your side. Doing a Successful Research Project: * offers an accessible introduction to qualitative and quantitative methods * takes you through the entire research process from planning to write-up * includes extensive real-life examples of good and bad research practice The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook, containing further discussion of internet-based research methods, research ethics and more, provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to conduct their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from, and also the understanding required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of different strategies.
Cite Them Right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. (Print copy) by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Dissertation: the lazy student's guide to writing a dissertation. (Print copy) by
The Lazy Student's Guide to Writing a Dissertation is the ultimate study companion for final year students, with no-nonsense, morally questionable tips and tricks geared toward helping you complete your dissertation as painlessly as possible. Written with the stark realities of student life in mind, the guide shows you the essential information required to complete your dissertation, including how best to choose a topic and a tutor, write a literature review, and squeeze every last drop out of your final submission. Not for the easily offended, the guide will drag you kicking and screaming (and occasionally laughing) through the process of writing your dissertation, without wasting time repeating content already available online and provided by your university. Filled with "the collective wisdom of a million, billion forefathers... with a handy tl;dr (too long; didn't read) summary placed conveniently at the end of each chapter to help satisfy the fragile minds of the ADHD generation," The Lazy Student's Guide contains all the good stuff other guidebooks won't tell you. So if you're one of the hundreds of thousands of undergraduate students who each year suffers the trauma of having to write a dissertation, take a look inside and see for yourself how you can achieve a decent mark with minimal effort.
Real World Research : a resource for users of social research methods in applied settings. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
The Undergraduate Research Handbook. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas.
