Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ethics Subject Guide (West Suffolk College): Databases

Introduction

Academic Databases

There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google. 

Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.

 

Access Using Summon

The fastest way to access databases is to search using Summon (below):

Looking for something?

Find: Everything  Books  Articles  Books & DVDs at Ipswich 

A-Z of databases|  |  A-Z of journals|  |  A-Z of searches|  |  Advanced search|

A-Z eResources List

In addition to using Summon, you can browse our A-Z of eResources list of you want to access a particular database.
Go to A-Z List

Structuring your Search

You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.

Consider the following:

  • Which database(s) to search
  • Keywords- what will you search for?
  • How to link the keywords together
  • Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)

For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page

You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.

Useful Databases

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Full-text archive of ethics journals (excluding the last few years.)  Ethical Theory and Moral Practice; Ethics; Journal of Ethics; Journal of Religious Ethics.

Proquest Central
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world.

Taylor and Francis
Full-text journal articles covering all subject areas.Titles include Ethics and Behaviour.

Applied Social Sciences, Young People & Education, Suffolk Business School & Science & Technology Team

Faculty Liaison Librarian

Becky Blunk
Tel: 01473 338703
email: b.blunk@uos.ac.uk
Becky's Profile

Academic Skills Advisor

Jo Calver
Tel: 01473 38728
email: j.calver@uos.ac.uk
Jo's Profile

Digital Learning Advisor

Aaron Burrell
Tel: 01473 38439
email: a.burrell@uos.ac.uk
Aaron's Profile