From GSM to LTE-Advanced Pro And 5G by
A revised edition of the text that offers a comparative introduction to global wireless standards, technologies, and their applications The revised and updated fourth edition of From GSM to LTE-Advanced Pro and 5G: An Introduction to Mobile Networks and Mobile Broadband offers an authoritative guide to the technical descriptions of the various wireless technologies currently in use. The author--a noted expert on the topic--explains the rationale behind their differing mechanisms and implementations while exploring the advantages and limitations of each technology.  The fourth edition reflects the significant changes in mobile network technology that have taken place since the third edition was published. The text offers a new chapter on 5G NR that explores its non-standalone and standalone architecture. In the Wi-Fi chapter, additional sections focus on the new WPA3 authentication protocol, the new 802.11ax air interface and protocol extensions like 802.11k and 11v for meshed networks. This important book: Presents the various systems based on the standards, their practical implementation and design assumptions, and their performance and capacity Provides an in-depth analysis of each system in practice Offers an updated edition of the most current changes to mobile network technology Includes questions at the end of each chapter and answers on the accompanying website that make this book ideal for self-study or as course material Written for students and professionals of wireless technologies, the revised fourth edition of From GSM to LTE-Advanced Pro and 5G provides an in-depth review and description of the most current mobile networks and broadband.
Students will have access to:
CISCO Packet Tracer
OCTAVE (open-source MATLAB compatible computation and simulation environment)
OMNET++ (discrete event simulator)
Riverbed Modeler (network simulation engine)
Mobile Ad Hoc Networking by
"An excellent book for those who are interested in learning the current status of research and development . . . [and] who want to get a comprehensive overview of the current state-of-the-art." --E-Streams This book provides up-to-date information on research and development in the rapidly growing area of networks based on the multihop ad hoc networking paradigm. It reviews all classes of networks that have successfully adopted this paradigm, pointing out how they penetrated the mass market and sparked breakthrough research. Covering both physical issues and applications, Mobile Ad Hoc Networking: Cutting Edge Directions offers useful tools for professionals and researchers in diverse areas wishing to learn about the latest trends in sensor, actuator, and robot networking, mesh networks, delay tolerant and opportunistic networking, and vehicular networks. Chapter coverage includes: Multihop ad hoc networking Enabling technologies and standards for mobile multihop wireless networking Resource optimization in multiradio multichannel wireless mesh networks QoS in mesh networks Routing and data dissemination in opportunistic networks Task farming in crowd computing Mobility models, topology, and simulations in VANET MAC protocols for VANET Wireless sensor networks with energy harvesting nodes Robot-assisted wireless sensor networks: recent applications and future challenges Advances in underwater acoustic networking Security in wireless ad hoc networks Mobile Ad Hoc Networking will appeal to researchers, developers, and students interested in computer science, electrical engineering, and telecommunications.
An Introduction to LTE by
Following on from the successful first edition (March 2012), this book gives a clear explanation of what LTE does and how it works. The content is expressed at a systems level, offering readers the opportunity to grasp the key factors that make LTE the hot topic amongst vendors and operators across the globe. The book assumes no more than a basic knowledge of mobile telecommunication systems, and the reader is not expected to have any previous knowledge of the complex mathematical operations that underpin LTE. This second edition introduces new material for the current state of the industry, such as the new features of LTE in Releases 11 and 12, notably coordinated multipoint transmission and proximity services; the main short- and long-term solutions for LTE voice calls, namely circuit switched fallback and the IP multimedia subsystem; and the evolution and current state of the LTE market. It also extends some of the material from the first edition, such as inter-operation with other technologies such as GSM, UMTS, wireless local area networks and cdma2000; additional features of LTE Advanced, notably heterogeneous networks and traffic offloading; data transport in the evolved packet core; coverage and capacity estimation for LTE; and a more rigorous treatment of modulation, demodulation and OFDMA. The author breaks down the system into logical blocks, by initially introducing the architecture of LTE, explaining the techniques used for radio transmission and reception and the overall operation of the system, and concluding with more specialized topics such as LTE voice calls and the later releases of the specifications. This methodical approach enables readers to move on to tackle the specifications and the more advanced texts with confidence.
Wireless Communications by
Wireless technology is a truly revolutionary paradigm shift, enabling multimedia communications between people and devices from any location. It also underpins exciting applications such as sensor networks, smart homes, telemedicine, and automated highways. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the underlying theory, design techniques and analytical tools of wireless communications, focusing primarily on the core principles of wireless system design. The book begins with an overview of wireless systems and standards. The characteristics of the wireless channel are then described, including their fundamental capacity limits. Various modulation, coding, and signal processing schemes are then discussed in detail, including state-of-the-art adaptive modulation, multicarrier, spread spectrum, and multiple antenna techniques. The concluding chapters deal with multiuser communications, cellular system design, and ad-hoc network design. Design insights and tradeoffs are emphasized throughout the book. It contains many worked examples, over 200 figures, almost 300 homework exercises, over 700 references, and is an ideal textbook for students.
Innovations in Satellite Communications Technology by
Surveys key advances in commercial satellite communications and what might be the implications and/or opportunities for end-users and service providers in utilizing the latest fast-evolving innovations in this field<br /> <br /> This book explores the evolving technical options and opportunities of satellite networks. Designed to be a self-contained reference, the book includes background technical material in an introductory chapter that will serve as a primer to satellite communications. The text discusses advances in modulation techniques, such as DBV-S2 extensions (DVS-S2X); spotbeam-based geosynchronous and medium earth orbit High Throughput Satellite (HTS) technologies and Internet applications; enhanced mobility services with aeronautical and maritime applications; Machine to Machine (M2M) satellite applications; emerging ultra HD technologies; and electric propulsion. The author surveys the latest innovations and service strategies and the resulting implications, which involves:<br /> <br /> Discussing advances in modulation techniques and HTS spotbeam technologies Surveying emerging high speed aeronautical mobility services and maritime and other terrestrial mobility services Assessing M2M (machine-to-machine) applications, emerging Ultra HD video technologies and new space technology Satellite communication is an integral part of the larger fields of commercial, television/media, government, and military communications, because of its multicast/broadcast capabilities, mobility, reliability, and global reach. High Throughput Satellites) are expected to revolutionize the field during this decade, providing very high speed, yet cost-effective, Internet access and connectivity anywhere in the world, in rural areas, in the air, and at sea. M2M connectivity, enabled by satellite communications, connects trucks on transcontinental trips, aircraft in real-time-telemetry aggregation, and mercantile ships.<br /> <br /> A comprehensive analysis of the new advances in satellite communications, Innovations in Satellite Communications Technology is a reference for telecommunications and satellite providers and end-users, technology investors, logistic professionals, and more.<br /> <br />
Wireless Communications by
"Professor Andreas F. Molisch, renowned researcher and educator,has put together the comprehensive book, WirelessCommunications. The second edition, which includes a wealth ofnew material on important topics, ensures the role of the text asthe key resource for every student, researcher, and practitioner inthe field." --Professor Moe Win, MIT, USA Wireless communications has grown rapidly over the past decadefrom a niche market into one of the most important, fast movingindustries. Fully updated to incorporate the latest research anddevelopments, Wireless Communications, Second Editionprovides an authoritative overview of the principles andapplications of mobile communication technology. The author provides an in-depth analysis of current treatment ofthe area, addressing both the traditional elements, such asRayleigh fading, BER in flat fading channels, and equalisation, andmore recently emerging topics such as multi-user detection in CDMAsystems, MIMO systems, and cognitive radio. The dominant wirelessstandards; including cellular, cordless and wireless LANs; arediscussed. Topics featured include: wireless propagation channels,transceivers and signal processing, multiple access and advancedtransceiver schemes, and standardised wireless systems. Combines mathematical descriptions with intuitive explanationsof the physical facts, enabling readers to acquire a deepunderstanding of the subject. Includes new chapters on cognitive radio, cooperativecommunications and relaying, video coding, 3GPP Long TermEvolution, and WiMax; plus significant new sections on multi-userMIMO, 802.11n, and information theory. Companion website featuring: supplementary material on 'DECT',solutions manual and presentation slides for instructors,appendices, list of abbreviations and other useful resources.
Satellite Communication by
This new edition, an up-to-date and comprehensive title on the rapidly expanding field of satellite communication, is aimed at giving important aspects of space and satellite communication. It starts from fundamental concepts and helps reader to design satellite links. The book provides a smooth flow from satellite launch to various applications of satellite. It contains satellite systems, important parameter calculations and design concepts. The emphasis is on geostationary satellites. The text is organised in such a manner that the reader starts with orbiting parameters and ends at designing a complete multiple access links. With all of the latest information incorporated and several key pedagogical attributes included, this textbook is an invaluable learning tool for the engineering students of electronics and communication. New to This Edition: Important design equations have been listed separately. Three new chapters--Reliability requirements in satellites, Remote sensing satellites and Error control coding--have been included. New Sections are added in Chapters 1, 2 and 3. A brief discussion on digitised video transmission is included in Chapter 4.
Mobile Communications, 2nd ed by
The mobile communications market remains the fastest growing segment of the global computing and communications business. The rapid progress and convergence of the field has created a need for new techniques and solutions, knowledgeable professionals to create and implement them, and courses to teach the background theory and technologies while pointing the way towards future trends. In this book Jochen Schiller draws on his extensive experience to provide a thorough grounding in mobile communications, describing the state of the art in industry and research while giving a detailed technical background to the area. The book covers all the important aspects of mobile and wireless communications from the Internet to signals, access protocols and cellular systems, emphasizing the key area of digital data transfer. It uses a wide range of examples and other teaching aids, making it suitable for self-study and university classes. The book begins with an overview of mobile and wireless applications, covering the history and market, and providing the foundations of wireless transmission and Medium Access Control. Four different groups of wireless network technologies are then covered: telecommunications systems, satellite systems, broadcast systems and wireless LAN. The following chapters about the network and transport layers address the impairments and solutions using well-known Internet protocols such as TCP/IP in a mobile and wireless environment. The book concludes with a chapter on technologies supporting applications in mobile networks, focusing on the Web and the Wireless Application Protocol (WAP). Each chapter concludes with a set of exercises for self-study (with solutions available to instructors) and references to standards, organizations and research work related to the topic. New to this edition Integration of higher data rates for GSM (HSCSD, GPRS) New material on 3rd generation (3G) systems with in-depth discussion of UMTS/W-CDMA Addition of the new WLAN standards for higher data rates: 802.11a, b, g and HiperLAN2 Extension of Bluetooth coverage to include IEEE 802.15, profiles and applications Increased coverage of ad-hoc networking and wireless profiled TCP Migration of WAP 1.x and i-mode towards WAP 2.0 Jochen Schiller is head of the Computer Systems and Telematics Working Group in the Institute of Computer Science, Freie Universitat Berlin, and a consultant to several companies in the networking and communication business. His research includes mobile and wireless communications, communication architectures and operating systems for embedded devices, and QoS aspects in communication systems.
Fundamentals of Wireless Communication Engineering Technologies by
A broad introduction to the fundamentals of wireless communication engineering technologies Covering both theory and practical topics, Fundamentals of Wireless Communication Engineering Technologies offers a sound survey of the major industry-relevant aspects of wireless communication engineering technologies. Divided into four main sections, the book examines RF, antennas, and propagation; wireless access technologies; network and service architectures; and other topics, such as network management and security, policies and regulations, and facilities infrastructure. Helpful cross-references are placed throughout the text, offering additional information where needed. The book provides: Coverage that is closely aligned to the IEEE's Wireless Communication Engineering Technologies (WCET) certification program syllabus, reflecting the author's direct involvement in the development of the program A special emphasis on wireless cellular and wireless LAN systems An excellent foundation for expanding existing knowledge in the wireless field by covering industry-relevant aspects of wireless communication Information on how common theories are applied in real-world wireless systems With a holistic and well-organized overview of wireless communications, Fundamentals of Wireless Communication Engineering Technologies is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in taking the WCET exam, as well as practicing engineers, professors, and students seeking to increase their knowledge of wireless communication engineering technologies.