Owing to the diversity of potential projects, the essential reading for any student will vary according to the specialist topic covered by the project. Students should choose texts from the Recommended Reading list which are most relevant to their approach.
Researching Information Systems and Computing by
Written specifically for information systems (IS) and computing students and providing everything they need to know about executing a research project, this best-selling textbook introduces key quantitative and qualitative research methods, makes sense of underlying philosophies, and helps readers navigate and assess existing academic papers.Packed with examples from the IS and computing disciplines, definitions, evaluation guides and further reading suggestions, this fully updated second edition of Research Information Systems and Computing supports students of all levels in bridging the gap between theory and practice.
No specialist equipment or software will be required overall, but dependent on the nature of their project, students may need to access specific software packages and equipment. Where these are not open-source or otherwise free, students will need to ensure that they can obtain access to the necessary items before they receive signoff to undertake their project.
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers by 
The Research Project by
Now in its fifth edition, this guide to project work continues to be an indispensable resource for all students undertaking research.
Guiding the reader right through from preliminary stages to completion, The Research Project: How to write it sets out in clear and concise terms the main tasks involved in doing a research project, covering:
choosing a topic
using the library effectively
taking notes
shaping and composing the project
providing footnotes, documentation and a bibliography
avoiding common pitfalls.
Fully updated throughout, this new edition features a chapter on making the most out of the Internet, from knowing where to start, to assessing the quality of the material found there.
Other features include a model example of a well researched, clearly written paper with notes and bibliography and a chapter on getting published in a learned journal for more advanced researchers.
Whether starting out or experienced in research, The Research Project: How to write it is an essential tool for success.
Research Using IT by
Research Using IT offers a step-by-step explanation of how to research and how a computer can make the whole process a lot easier. The book assumes no previous experience of either research or computing, and uses no unnecessary jargon. It covers everything the student will need to know in order to carry out a successful research project - from choosing a topic, exploring the values and ethics in research, to guidance on the technical issues of conducting research. This book is an invaluable guide for anyone undertaking a research project.
Project research in information systems; a student's guide. 2nd ed by
Aimed at final year undergraduates and Masters students undertaking research projects in information systems, this text offers a blend of practical guidelines and conceptual insight that will help students to complete high quality projects. Covering the whole range of processes in project work, from choosing a project, through project management, the collecting and analyzing of research data and on to writing the project report, the book provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the subject.
Doing a Successful Research Project by
This straightforward, student-friendly guide contains all the practical advice for successfully undertaking a research project, leading students through all the stages of the research process. The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook supports students in conducting their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it supports the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion.
Doing a Successful Research Project is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience all over the world. It is aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking a research project or dissertation across the Social Sciences, Applied Social Sciences, Education, Health and Business Studies. It can also be used as essential or complimentary reading on modules on Qualitative and Quantitative Research and Research Design
Introduction to Research Methods by
This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees - in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results.
Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project.
Specifically it will show you how to:
- choose your research methods
- choose your participants
- prepare a research proposal
- construct questionnaires
- conduct interviews and focus groups
- analyse your data
- report your findings
- be an ethical researcher.
Contents: Preface; 1. How to Define Your Project; 2. How to Decide Upon a Methodology; 3. How to Choose Your Research Methods; 4. How to Conduct Background Research; 5. How to Choose Your Participants; 6. How to Prepare a Research Proposal; 7. How to Conduct Interviews; 8. How to Conduct Focus Groups; 9. How to Construct Questionnaires; 10. How to Carry Out Participant Observation; 11. How to Analyse Your Data; 12. How to Report Your Findings; 13. How to be an Ethical Researcher; Useful addresses; Index.
Statistical Methods for Organizational Research by
This clearly written textbook clarifies the concepts underpinning descriptive and inferential statistics in organizational research. Acting as much more than a theoretical reference tool, step-by-step it guides readers through the various key stages of successful data analysis.
Covering everything from introductory descriptive statistics to advanced inferential techniques such as ANOVA, multiple and logistic regression and factor analysis, this is one of the most comprehensive textbooks available. Using examples directly relevant to organizational research it includes practical advice on such topics as the size of samples required in research studies, using and interpreting SPSS, and writing up results.
In helping readers to develop a sound understanding of statistical methods, rather than focusing on complex formulas and computations, this outstanding textbook is as appropriate for those who wish to refresh their knowledge as those new to the subject area.
Experimental Design and Statistics by
The distinguishing feature of experimental psychology is not so much the nature of its theories as the methods used to test their validity. The first edition of Experimental Design and Statisticsprovided a clear and lucid introduction to these methods and the statistical techniques which support them. For this new edition the text has been revised, the coverage of two-sample tests has been extended, and new sections have been added introducing one-sample tests, linear regression and the product-moment correlation coefficient. Problems associated with the applications of experimental design and how to use observations of behaviour in research are key questions for all introductory students of psychology. This new and expanded edition provides them with an invaluable text and source.
Research methods for business students by