Welcome
Welcome to your Research Methods: Evidence-Based Practice in Public Health Reading and Resource List. Here you will find your essential and recommended reading, as well as suggested Journals and Online Resources.
Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Essential Reading
Assessing Evidence to Improve Population Health and Wellbeing by
Written to support practitioners undertaking a Masters in public health, this book considers the main concepts, issues and methodologies of the second core competence of the Public Health Skills and Career Framework: ′Assessment of evidence of the effectiveness of interventions, programmes and services to improve population health and wellbeing′. Coverage includes the theoretical definition of evidence and its use in public health, the role of critical appraisal methods and tools in evidence assessment and how Effectiveness, Efficiency and Quality inform evidence. The book is packed with case studies and activities to help link theory and practice and prompt personal reflection.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780857253897Publication Date: 2011
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care by
Have you heard of 'evidence based practice' but don't know what it means? Are you having trouble relating evidence to your practice? This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence based practice is or how to relate it to practice. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book is simple and easy to understand - and designed to help those new to the topic to apply the concept to their practice and learning with ease. The book provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence based practice and how to apply it. This new edition features: Additional material on literature reviews and searching for literature Even more examples for health and social care practice Extra material on qualitative research and evidence based practice Expanded section on hierarchies of evidence and how to use them A Beginner's Guide to Evidence Based Practice in Health and Social Care is key reading for everyone involved in looking at and applying evidence in healthcare.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335227082Publication Date: 2017
Research Methods in Health: Investigating health and health services by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335262748Publication Date: 2014
Recommended Reading
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide by
Why do a literature review? What literature is relevant? How do I appraise my findings? How do I present my literature review? This step-by-step guide simplifies the process of reviewing published literature, provides a guide to searching, appraising and comparing literature, and offers practical tips on writing up.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335248018Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Health Research Methods by
"an ideal set text" Angela Scriven, Course Leader, Brunel University Which research method should I use to evaluate services? How do I design a questionnaire? How do I conduct a systematic review of research? This handbook helps researchers to plan, carry out, and analyse health research, and evaluate the quality of research studies. The book takes a multidisciplinary approach to enable researchers from different disciplines to work side-by-side in the investigation of population health, the evaluation of health care, and in health care delivery. Handbook of Health Research Methods is an essential tool for researchers and postgraduate students taking masters courses, or undertaking doctoral programmes, in health services evaluation, health sciences, health management, public health, nursing, sociology, socio-biology, medicine and epidemiology. However, the book also appeals to health professionals who wish to broaden their knowledge of research methods in order to make effective policy and practice decisions. Contributors: Joy Adamson, Geraldine Barrett, Jane P. Biddulph, Ann Bowling, Sara Brookes, Jackie Brown, Simon Carter, Michel P. Coleman, Paul Cullinan, George Davey Smith, Paul Dieppe, Jenny Donovan, Craig Duncan, Shah Ebrahim, Vikki Entwistle, Clare Harries, Lesley Henderson, Kelvyn Jones, Olga Kostopoulou, Sarah J. Lewis, Richard Martin, Martin McKee, Graham Moon, Ellen Nolte, Alan O'Rourke, Ann Oakley, Tim Peters, Tina Ramkalawan, Caroline Sanders, Mary Shaw, Andrew Steptoe, Jonathan Sterne, Anne Stiggelbout, S.V. Subramanian, Kate Tilling, Liz Twigg, Suzanne Wait.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0335224369Publication Date: 2005
Essentials of Public Health Research Methods by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284175479Publication Date: 2021
Introduction to Research Methods, 4th edn by
This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees - in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: - choose your research methods - choose your participants - prepare a research proposal - construct questionnaires - conduct interviews and focus groups - analyse your data - report your findings - be an ethical researcher. Contents: Preface; 1. How to Define Your Project; 2. How to Decide Upon a Methodology; 3. How to Choose Your Research Methods; 4. How to Conduct Background Research; 5. How to Choose Your Participants; 6. How to Prepare a Research Proposal; 7. How to Conduct Interviews; 8. How to Conduct Focus Groups; 9. How to Construct Questionnaires; 10. How to Carry Out Participant Observation; 11. How to Analyse Your Data; 12. How to Report Your Findings; 13. How to be an Ethical Researcher; Useful addresses; Index.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845283674Publication Date: 2009
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine and Healthcare by Call Number: 610.72 GRE+eBookISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284197570Publication Date: 2021
Research Methods in Health, 2nd edn by
Research Methods in Health: Foundations for Evidence-based Practice, Second Edition is an accessible text that introduces students to qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods research methods, and demonstrates the relevance of research to health care practice. The text assumes no priorknowledge and shows novice researchers how and when to apply the most appropriate research methodology. The second edition includes a new chapter on "Metasynthesis of Qualitative Research for Evidence-based Practice" and expanded coverage of how to critically evaluate qualitative and quantitativeand mixed methods research.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195520064Publication Date: 2013
