Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Global Banking School: Databases

Introduction

Academic Databases

There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google. 

Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.

 

Summon Widget

Looking for something?

Find:   Everything    Books    Articles    Books & DVDs at Ipswich 

A-Z of eResources|  |  A-Z of eJournals|  |  Advanced search

|

A-Z eResources List

In addition to using Summon, you can browse our A-Z of eResources list of you want to access a particular database.
Go to A-Z List

Structuring your Search

You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.

Consider the following:

  • Which database(s) to search
  • Keywords- what will you search for?
  • How to link the keywords together
  • Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)

For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page

You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.

Useful Databases

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

ABI/INFORM Complete
Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive product information, and a wide variety of other business topics.

Bailii (British and Irish Legal Information Institute) 
British and Irish case law and legislation, European case law, Law Commission reports and other law related material.

Emerald Management e-journals 
Full-text management journals published from 1994-.  Subjects include Accounting and Finance; Business Ethics and Law; Enterprise and Innovation; International Business; Marketing; Strategy; Hospitality and Tourism Management
Also, register for Emerald Top Trends, which are updated every 3 months.

IBIS World

‚ÄčIndustry Research Reports that can assist in making better business decisions on strategies and revenue generation by gaining an instant understanding of an industry faster & more conveniently than previously possible.

Legislation.gov.uk
The official home for revised and enacted legislation 1267-

Lexis Library 
Legal research database - covers UK legislation, case law and commentary and includes Industrial Relations Law Reports 

ProQuest Accounting and Tax Database
Brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.

ProQuest Central
Covers current and international content in over 160 subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.

Purple Guide
Content is only accessible on campus, To access content click on login.

The Purple Guide has been written by The Events Industry Forum in consultation with the events industry. Its aim is to help those event organisers who are dutyholders to manage health and safety, particularly at large-scale music and similar events. The Health and Safety Executive was consulted in the production of the workplace health and safety parts of this publication.

Psychology Journals
Full-text psychology articles from 1992, including business psychology.  Titles include Journal of Organisational Behaviour and Journal of Organisational Change Management

Science Direct
Key site for full-text journal article covering all subjects, including Business and Management.  Titles include British Accounting Review; Business Horizons; European Management Journal; Human Resource Management Review; International Business Review

Wiley Online Library
Provides a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering business, economics, finance and accounting.

Westlaw UK 
Includes over over 110 full-text journals and abstracts from 800 more via the Legal Journals Index.