Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z eResources List
Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
A-Z eJournal List
Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
Database and Journal information
Art Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Arts & Humanities Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text reflects the full interdisciplinary of contemporary study in arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies
AFI Catalog (American Film Information Catalogue) This link opens in a new window
The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year, as well as AFI Awards Outstanding Movies of the Year from 2000 through 2010
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
an index of journal articles and abstracts for 770 journals all covering topics in communications and media. Also included are full text articles from over 450 journals. Coverage ranges from 1915 to the present day.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. FIAF's editorial staff, along with its Affiliates, produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals.
Film Index International (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
full-text journal articles covering a wide range of subject areas. JSTOR is an archive database so does not include current content. Coverage includes: 19th & 20th century American Art, archaeology, art & art history, classics, economics, film, folklore, history, history of art, language & literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, religion, social sciences, sociology, women's studies
JSTOR Language & Literature Archive and Current Collection This link opens in a new window
provides journal subscriptions from multiple publishers bundled as collections that serve research and curriculum needs in core subject areas. Featuring titles such as Antioch Review; Interdisciplinary Literary Studies; Modern Philology; and The Modern Language Review, providing a diverse set of high-quality journals that serve researchers and scholars in fields that rely on language and literature titles to support their work.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Proquest literature database with 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 208 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross search Proquests current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0