Using Images or Film
Using Images
You may be asked to include images or film in your assignments or projects.
It is important to understand that, unless explicitly stated, any image or film you find or can access on the internet should be considered protected under copyright law.
What images can you use?
If you want to use images or film and plan on sharing your work outside of your course, you must be able to demonstrate that they are not protected under copyright law, are accessible through Creative Commons, or owned by you.
For work only submitted as part of your course- NOT shared with outside partied, you can use images / film found on the internet through fair dealing. However, you MUST provide an accurate attribution of the work as well as a reference.
All students are expected to comply with copyright legislation, and could be sued for distributing third-party copyrighted materials. Clear explanation of the requirements of copyright law, and good academic practice, including plagiarism, is covered in our Assignment Toolkit.
You can find out more about copyright at the following
Copyright Guide here you will find lots of information to help and more about the licenses that we hold.
Images, Video and Specialist Websites
There are many collections offering images that have the Creative Commons CO0 licence, this licence means that you can use and edit the image freely. Here are a few places to look:
You can also access a wide range of video and radio programmes through Box of Broadcasts
- Once you have clicked into the service you will need to click on "Sign in"
- type the word "suffolk" in the drop down list, and select University of Suffolk
- you will then be prompted to create your own account - using your standard University of Suffolk login username (E or S number and IT password).
- set your own recordings from the programme guide. You can record up to 5 programmes each day
- create and store playlists
- create and store programme clips.
- share clips within the University of Suffolk community
- Black and White Movies This link opens in a new window
Black and White Movies is an online resource which provides access to classic, black and white films in the public domain. The collection can be browsed by genre or keyword.
This content is free to access on the open web and is not searchable in Discovery.
- A/V Geeks Film ArchiveThe A/V Geeks Film Archive is an ephemeral film collection curated by Skip Elsheimer.
- DVIDSDefense visual information distribution service
- Free Stock Footage ArchiveCreative Commons Stock Videos
- Moving Image ArchiveDownload or listen to free movies, films, and videos
- Open VaultWe provide online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
- The Open Video ProjectA shared digital video collection
- Prelinger ArchivesView thousands of films from the Prelinger Archives!
- Stock FootageA collection of stock footage clips submitted by Internet Archive users. These clips are designed to be used in other videos.
- VidevoThousands of free stock videos, motion graphics, music tracks and sound effects, all in one place.
American Film Institute Catalog - for Information about American films, actors and directors. Links to full-text articles where available.
Film Index International - for information about films, actors and directors (European bias) Links to full-text articles where available.
Using images
Disclaimer
The information presented within this guide is intended to provide general guidelines and serves as an interpretation of current issues- it is NOT legal advice.
Therefore, whilst Learning Services staff are happy to assist any queries you have, it is the responsibility of the individual to ensure they comply with UK copyright law.