Welcome to your Organizational Behaviour Reading and Resource List. Here you will find your essential and recommended reading, as well as suggested Journals and Online Resources.
Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Modernity and the Holocaust (Chapter 4)
by
Sociology is concerned with modern society, but has never come to terms with one of the most distinctive and horrific aspects of modernity - the Holocaust. The book examines what sociology can teach us about the Holocaust, but more particularly concentrates upon the lessons which the Holocaust has for sociology. Bauman's work demonstrates that the Holocaust has to be understood as deeply involved with the nature of modernity. There is nothing comparable to this work available in the sociological literature.
Pandemonium
by
Chapter 7 (pp.244-198) (Yes, you do read the book backwards!)
Organizational Behaviour
by
Organizational Behaviour blends critical thinking and social science to give students an insight into organisational behaviour.
Introduction to Philosophy (Chapter 8)
by
Prepared for students by renowned professors and noted experts, here are the most extensive and proven study aids available, covering all the major areas of study in college curriculums. Each guide features: up-to-date scholarship; an easy-to-follow narrative outline form; specially designed and formatted pages; and much more.
New Directions in Organizational Behavior
by
Chapter - "Commitment and the Control of Organizational Behaviour and Belief"
Theory and Method in Organization Studies
by
(Pages 1-5 important)
`This introductory book is really worth buying. It is accessible without being patronizing. It stimulates thought without using rhetoric. It offers exciting content on methods and techniques without being arrogant′ - Organization Studies In this introduction to theory and method, students of organization will find a comprehensive view of the key theories in their field, combined with a toolkit of guidelines linking these to the different methods available for analyzing and interpreting organizational life. Distinguishing `the external society′ and the `internal society′, Antonio Strati sheds light on the different contexts that shape organizational life and the different levels of analysis that may be used. By showing the many levels at which organizations function and can be understood this book provides an invaluable introduction to analysis and research for advanced students. Recent concepts such as `the organization as hypertext′; `communities of practice′; ′tacit knowledge′; and organizational learning; are explored as ways of approaching organizations: this book shows how to link such approaches to appropriate methodologies in order to achieve insightful analysis.
Bureaucracy
by
Bureaucracy is a curse - it seems we can't live with it, we can't live without it. It is without doubt one of the fundamental ideas which underpin the business world and society at large. In this book, Tom Vine observes, analyses and critiques the concept, placing it at the heart of our understanding of organisation. The author unveils bureaucracy as an endlessly emergent phenomenon which defies binary debate - in analysing organisation, we are all bureaucrats. In building an experiential perspective, the book develops more effective ways to interact with bureaucracy in theory and practice. Empirical material take centre stage, whilst the book employs ethnographic and auto-ethnographic methods to illuminate the existential function of bureaucracy. Taking examples from art, history and culture, this book provides an entertaining alternative academic analysis of bureaucracy as a key idea in business and society which will be essential reading for students and scholars of work and organisation
Studying Management Critically
by
`An excellent source for graduate students, especially in the field of human resource development, who are exploring areas for future research of a critical nature′ - Adult Education Quarterly Drawing upon a range of influential contemporary movements in the social sciences, primarily upon critical traditions, such as the Critical Theory of the Frankfurt School, this text provides a wide ranging analysis of management and its various specialisms. The book offers critical understandings of key areas of management theory and practice such as accounting, strategic management, marketing, business ethics and environmental management. It also examines the relations between power and discursive practices in the modern corporation; the role of architecture as a repressive and emancipatory force in organizations; gender and organizations and critical methodology for organizational research. Key issues of power/knowledge relations across these areas are addressed and new agendas both for these fields and for management studies as a whole are introduced. Contributing authors include: Mats Alvesson, Gibson Burrell, David Cooper, Karen Dale, Stan Deetz, Linda Forbes, John Forester, John Jermier, David Levy, Joanne Martin, Glenn Morgan, Martin Parker, Mike Power, Richard Loughlin and Hugh Willmott
Work Psychology
by
Work Psychology is an accessible and fascinating examination of human behaviour in today's workplace, written by authors who are all experts in their fields. Substantially updated with new material that reflects current research and debate in the area, the text retains its popular blend of theory, research and engaging examples. Covering a broad range of core topics, this text is suitable for undergraduate students in business, management, and psychology as well as those studying for professional qualifications.
Key Concepts in Corporate Social Responsibility
by
Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors hereIntroducing the key concepts in corporate social responsibility, the authors bring together the essential issues relevant to the responsible management of businesses, not-for-profit organizations and government. With detailed coverage and cross-referencing for each concept and over 50 concepts introduced, this guide to both the theory and implementation of CSR and sustainability, provides an indispensable reference for any student of the subject. Key concepts include: accountability; business ethics; corporate citizenship; corporate environmental reporting; definitions of CSR; ethical consumerism; human rights; NGOs; risk management; stakeholder theory and sustainable development.
Dynamics of Employee Relations
by
The Dynamics of Employee Relations provides a critical assessment of employee relations within contemporary organisations. Written in a lively and readable style, The Dynamics of Employee Relations captures the essence of working reality within a variety of working environments. The third edition has been updated to include insights into the latest developments in the field and contains new case studies to illustate the nature of employee relations at the turn of the century. A must read for all undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA students studying employee relations and a valuable resource for anyone engaged in grappling with the challenges presented by employee relations in contemporary workplaces.
Pandemonium
by
`A truly bizarre and sometimes filthy historical canter through abatoirs, satyriasis and Noel Edmonds′ House Party, among other things, towards a theory of organisation′ - The Times ′The author pursues a vigorous polemic on organisational development′ - Financial Times In this irreverent and inventive book, Gibson Burrell seeks to circumvent the established frameworks which have defined our understanding of organization and organizations. He brings us tales from under the edge which enmire us in the nether side of modernist organization. By looking backwards deep into the history of Western societies, and sideways across the broad domain of social and cultural theory, Pandemonium disconcerts and invigorates the domain of the study of organizations. Through his experimental device of the two-directional text, Burrell offers multi-layered meanings and a metaphor for the rejection of linearity. This is not an organizational behaviour textbook but an exploration that will take organization theory into a new era.
Work, Self and Society
by
Despite recent interest in the effects of restructuring and redesigning the work place, the link between individual identity and structural change has usually been asserted rather than demonstrated. Through an extensive review of data from field work in a multi-national corporation Catherine Casey changes this. She knows that changes currently occuring in the world of work are part of the vast social and cultural changes that are challenging the meta trends of modern industrialism. These events affect what people do everyday, and they are altering relations among ourselves and with the physical world. This valuable book is not only a critical analysis of the transformations occurring in the world of work, but an exploration of the effects of contemporary practices of work on the self.
Critical Analysis of Organizations
by
`Catherine Casey has written an excellent book that provides a lucid and comprehensive critical analysis of organizations....[It] extends in reach and relevance beyond the specific field of organization studies and the sociology of organizations to encompass broader intellectual developments that have had a significant impact on contemporary sociology and cultural studies′ - Barry Smart, Professor of Sociology, University of Portsmouth `I anticipate that it will prove to be an attractive book in organization studies, industrial sociology and general sociology. I am sure that this will be a book that will make a major impact′ - Mike Reed, Professor of Organization Theory, Lancaster University In this comprehensive and scholarly book, the essential critical strands in organizational analysis are explained. It examines how central traditions have realigned in relation to the challenge of postmodernism and the new reflexive turn in organizational studies. Judicious, innovative and written with the needs of students in mind, this book offers a renewed and revitalized critical accent in organization studies - one that focuses on existing and emerging social tendencies, contestations and struggles. It will be essential reading for senior students of organization studies and sociology.
Honest Work
by
Designed for undergraduate, graduate, and executive business ethics courses, Honest Work: A Business Ethics Reader, Fourth Edition, demonstrates that business ethics is primarily about the ethics of individuals. With a unique focus on the personal dimension of ethics, it challenges students to consider the relationship between the ways in which people do business and the kind of lives they want to live. It features 105 brief articles and 70 real-life case studies and poses study questions at the end of each reading and chapter. In addition, a chapter on leadership explores the relationship between leadership and ethical behavior in business.
Business Ethics
by
How can you be an ethical corporate citizen in an increasingly complex, multiple-stakeholder world? This is the most pressing question facing businesses today, small and large, local and global. Business Ethics, fifth edition, is a thorough yet accessible exploration of the main ethical theories and how these apply to major stakeholders facing this question.Written from a truly international perspective and supported by diverse and innovative learning features, this book provides the tools and concepts necessary to understand and effectively manage ethical challenges wherever you are in the world.NEW TO THIS EDITIONProfessor Laura Spence and Dr Sarah Glozer join the author team, bringing fresh perspectives and new expertisePractitioner Spotlights feature prominent businesswomen and men, discovering the ethical challenges they face at work and also the skills they employ to tackle themEthics in Action boxes have been substantially refreshed, with new examples exploring ethical considerations at organizations such as Nudie, Jeans Co., Brewdog, and indigenous Bangladeshi tanneries, as well as complex issues including digital currency, modern slavery, and Big DataNew Case Studies address the latest developments in the business environment, such as the sharing economy and sustainability.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
A Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap Book about Management Research
by
In Management Research the authors provide a stimulating and critical overview of the key theoretical debates on research paradigms and methodologies, demystifying the process and providing invaluable insights into the politics and practice of research.Conceived by Chris Grey as an antidote to conventional textbooks, each book in the 'Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap' series takes a core area of the curriculum and turns it on its head by providing a critical and sophisticated overview of the key issues and debates in an informal, conversational and often humorous way.Suitable for students carrying out Undergraduate and Postgraduate dissertations, MBA projects and PHD theses. Need another VSFI book? Browse the series here
Modernity and Self-Identity
by
This study aims to develop a new account of modernity and its relation to the self. Building on ideas set out in The Consequences of Modernity, Giddens argues that high or late modernity is a post-traditional order characterized by a developed institutional reflexivity.
Haralambos and Holborn - Sociology Themes and Perspectives
by
Level: A-level, undergraduate Subject: Sociology Themes and Perspectives is your essential A-level and undergraduate sociology guide. It''s fully updated to match the latest sociology teaching, research and developments to support your learning about sociology today. Brought to you by a team of experts, Collins Sociology Themes and Perspectives is written by Michael Haralambos and Martin Holborn and has supported over one million sociology students worldwide. Build your understanding through clear and comprehensive explanations and apply your knowledge with contextualised examples and research. Stay relevant with the most up-to-date developments, empirical studies and theories while consolidating your learning with quick-reference conclusions and summaries at the end of each chapter. Bring sociology alive with full-colour explanations and photos. New topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory ew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory pter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theoryew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory ew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory pter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theorypter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theoryew topics covered in this sociology book include globalisation, the Arab Spring, the possible decline of US power, UK Coalition policies, environmental sociology, new media, the financial crash and recession, network society, crime and deviance sociology, victimology - and many more! For additional resources, try the Haralambos and Holborn AQA A-level Sociology Themes and Perspectives Year 1 and AS (9780008242770) and Year 2 (9780008242787) sociology textbooks written specifically for the 2015 AQA specification. Contents: * Chapter 1: Stratification, class and inequality * Chapter 2: Sex and gender * Chapter 3: ''Race'', ethnicity and nationality * Chapter 4: Poverty, social exclusion and the welfare state * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory pter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theorye * Chapter 5: Health, medicine and the body * Chapter 6: Crime and deviance * Chapter 7: Religion * Chapter 8: Families, households and personal life * Chapter 9: Power, politics and the state * Chapter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theorypter 10: Education * Chapter 11: Culture, socialisation and identity * Chapter 12: The mass media * Chapter 13: Age and the life course * Chapter 14: Methodology * Chapter 15: Sociological theory
The Condition of Postmodernity
by
In this new book, David Harvey seeks to determine what is meant by the term in its different contexts and to identify how accurate and useful it is as a description of contemporary experience.
Understanding Identity and Organizations
by
Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors hereAn understanding of identity is fundamental to a complete understanding of organizational life. While conventional management textbooks nod to in-groups, cohesion and discrimination, this text offers instead a deeper, more nuanced understanding of why people, groups and organizations behave the way they do. With conceptions of identity perhaps less stable than they have ever been, the authors make complex theoretical issues accessible to the reader through the use of lively examples from popular culture. The authors present an overview of the key issues, as well as an examination of cutting-edge research and topical forces currently re-defining identity, such as globalisation, the fair trade movement and online identities. This text is a succinct, relevant and exciting overview of the field of identity studies as it relates to business and management and applied social sciences, an is an invaluable resource to undergraduate and postgraduate students of management on any course that has an identity component.
Employee Relations
by
This exciting new text is different from many of the employee relations textbooks currently available because it takes as its central theme the employment relationship between the employer and the employee. This reflects one of the major changes in employee relations over recent years: the increasing extent to which the individual relationship each of us has with our employer is central in shaping our working lives.
Project Management
by
Projects continue to grow larger, increasingly strategic, and more complex, with greater collaboration, instant feedback, specialization, and an ever-expanding list of stakeholders. Now more than ever, effective project management is critical for the success of any deliverable, and the demand for qualified Project Managers has leapt into nearly all sectors. Project Management provides a robust grounding in essentials of the field using a managerial approach to both fundamental concepts and real-world practice. Designed for business students, this text follows the project life cycle from beginning to end to demonstrate what successful project management looks like on the ground. Expert discussion details specific techniques and applications, while guiding students through the diverse skill set required to select, initiate, execute, and evaluate today's projects. Insightful coverage of change management provides clear guidance on handling the organizational, interpersonal, economic, and technical glitches that can derail any project, while in-depth cases and real-world examples illustrate essential concepts in action.
Corrosion of Character
by
In The Corrosion of Character, Richard Sennett draws on interviews with dismissed IBM executives, bakers, a bartender turned advertising executive, and many others to call into question the terms of our new economy. Sennett explores the contemporary scene characterized by Enrico's son, Rico, whose life is more materially successful, yet whose work lacks long-term commitments or loyalties.
The Paradox of Control in Organizations
by
Business leaders are expected to be 'in control' of the situation in which their businesses find themselves. But how can organizational leaders and managers control matters entirely out of their hands; such as the next action a competitor takes, or the next law a government may pass? In this book, Philip Streatfield reflects on his own experience as a manager to explore the question: who, or what is 'in control' in an organization? Adopting the perspective of complex responsive processes developed in the first two volumes of this series, the author takes self-organization and emergence as central themes in thinking about life in organizations. He focuses on the tension between spontaneously forming patterns of conversation and intentional actions arguing that the order of organizations emerges through a combination of collective interaction and individual intentions. The argument is developed by considering the day-to-day experiences of life in a large pharmaceutical organization, SmithKline Beecham. In today's organization, managers find that they have to live with the paradox of being 'in control' and 'not in control' simultaneously. It is this capacity to live with paradox, and to continue to participate creatively in spite of 'not being in control', that constitutes effective management.
Future Shock
by
Examines the effects of rapid industrial and technological changes upon the individual, the family, and society.
