Welcome
Welcome to your Epidemiology Reading and Resource List. Here you will find your essential and recommended reading, as well as suggested Journals and Online Resources.
Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Essential Reading
-
Epidemiology for the Uninitiated
by
This perennial bestseller is an ideal introductions to epidemiology in health care. The fifith editon retains the book's simplicity and brevity, at the same time providing the reader with the core elements of epidemiology needed in health care practice and research. The text has been revised throughout, with new examples introduced to bring the book right up to date.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405146104Publication Date: 2019
Recommended Reading
-
Medical Statistics from Scratch
by
Correctly understanding and using medical statistics is a key skill for all medical students and health professionals. In an informal and friendly style, Medical Statistics from Scratch provides a practical foundation for everyone whose first interest is probably not medical statistics. Keeping the level of mathematics to a minimum, it clearly illustrates statistical concepts and practice with numerous real-world examples and cases drawn from current medical literature. Medical Statistics from Scratch is an ideal learning partner for all medical students and health professionals needing an accessible introduction, or a friendly refresher, to the fundamentals of medical statistics.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119523925Publication Date: 2019 -
Quantitative Methods for Health Research
by
A practical introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community This comprehensive text, which has been extensively revised with new material and additional topics, utilizes a practical slant to introduce health professionals and students to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology. It draws examples from a wide range of topics, covering all of the main contemporary health research methods, including survival analysis, Cox regression, and systematic reviews and meta-analysis--the explanation of which go beyond introductory concepts. This second edition of Quantitative Methods for Health Research: A Practical Interactive Guide to Epidemiology and Statistics also helps develop critical skills that will prepare students to move on to more advanced and specialized methods. A clear distinction is made between knowledge and concepts that all students should ensure they understand, and those that can be pursued further by those who wish to do so. Self-assessment exercises throughout the text help students explore and reflect on their understanding. A program of practical exercises in SPSS (using a prepared data set) helps to consolidate the theory and develop skills and confidence in data handling, analysis, and interpretation. Highlights of the book include: Combining epidemiology and bio-statistics to demonstrate the relevance and strength of statistical methods Emphasis on the interpretation of statistics using examples from a variety of public health and health care situations to stress relevance and application Use of concepts related to examples of published research to show the application of methods and balance between ideals and the realities of research in practice Integration of practical data analysis exercises to develop skills and confidence Supplementation by a student companion website which provides guidance on data handling in SPSS and study data sets as referred to in the text Quantitative Methods for Health Research, Second Edition is a practical learning resource for students, practitioners and researchers in public health, health care and related disciplines, providing both a course book and a useful introductory reference.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118665268Publication Date: 2017 -
Introduction to Epidemiology, 3rd edn.
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335243181Publication Date: 2017 -
An Introduction to Public Health and Epidemiology
by
"The contents are not specifically nursing orientated but very neatly balanced to be of relevance to all working in the public health arena...the book is well written, the language is clear, and the concepts clearly and simply explained and easily understood" Journal of Biosocial Science What are epidemiology and public health? What is the nature of public health evidence and knowledge? What strategies can be used to protect and improve health? The second edition of this bestselling book provides a multi-professional introduction to the key concepts in public health and epidemiology. It presents a broad, interactive account of contemporary public health, placing an emphasis on developing public health skills and stimulating the reader to think through the issues for themselves. The new edition features additional material on: Historical perspectives Public health skills for practice Evaluation of public health interventions The nature of evidence and public health knowledge Translating policy and evidence into practice An Introduction to Public Health and Epidemiology is key reading for students of public health and healthcare professionals, including: nurses, doctors, community development workers and public health workers.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335233854Publication Date: 2007 -
Essentials of public health research methods
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284175479Publication Date: 2021 -
Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health
by
Invaluable for all practitioners, trainees, and students of public health and epidemiology, the Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health covers the scope, methods, and practice of public health and has been comprehensively updated for its seventh edition.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780192548771Publication Date: 2022
-
Essential public health: theory and practice. 3rd edn
by
How can society most effectively prevent disease and promote health and wellbeing? That is the challenge addressed by this textbook. This new edition equips readers with a toolkit of key public health skills and approaches to improve health and wellbeing for different populations. It considers how to tackle perennial public health challenges, effectively address the wider determinants of health, navigate health systems and engage in partnership working. Fully updated with contemporary examples, this new edition includes new content on sustainability and climate change, global health, leadership and management, mechanisms for measuring health and healthcare, addressing inequalities and promoting inclusivity. Essential reading for all those training and working in healthcare, social care and related disciplines, this book also shines a light on the work undertaken during the COVID-19 pandemic by those working in public health. Online material includes supplementary information and interactive, self-assessment questions to test understanding and aid learning.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781009378260Publication Date: 2023 -
Essential public health : theory and practice 2nd edn.
by
How can society most effectively prevent disease and promote health? That is the challenge addressed by this textbook. Public health is the art and science of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organised efforts of society. The 'science' is concerned with making a diagnosis of a population's health problems, establishing their cause and determining effective interventions. The 'art' lies in creatively addressing these problems. Essential Public Health captures both the art and science of the field. This second edition has been fully updated with contemporary examples and includes new chapters on sustainability and change, management and leadership. Examples are taken from health systems throughout the world, giving readers a wider perspective of the challenges faced. This is essential reading for all trainees in health care, social care and related disciplines. An internet companion includes supplementary information and interactive, self-assessment questions to test understanding and aid learning.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781139059442Publication Date: 2012 -
Epidemiology
by
Epidemiology, by award-winning educator and epidemiologist Leon Gordis, is a best-selling introduction to this complex science. Dr. Gordis leverages his vast experience teaching this subject in the classroom to introduce the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way. He guides you from an explanation of the epidemiologic approach to disease and intervention, through the use of epidemiologic principles to identify the causes of disease, to a discussion of how epidemiology should be used to improve evaluation and public policy. It's your best choice for an accessible yet rich understanding of epidemiology! "Overall, I think it is an excellent book for medical students and occupational medicine trainees and a useful revision and reference text for consultant occupational physicians one of the most clearly laid out and readable general epidemiology texts that I have ever seen". Reviewed by: Julia Smedley on behalf of Occupational Medicine Date: July 2015 Gain a solid foundation of basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice. Visualize concepts vividly through abundant full-color figures, graphs, and charts. Check your understanding of essential information with 320 multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions (120 inside the book plus 200 more online). Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, including over 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions not found in the book, with answers to all questions as well as full rationales explaining why every answer is correct or incorrect. Master the latest nuances in epidemiology thanks to a wealth of new and updated illustrations, examples, and epidemiologic data.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781455737338Publication Date: 2013 -
A Dictionary of Epidemiology
by
This sixth edition of A Dictionary of Epidemiology -- the most updated since its inception -- reflects the profound substantive and methodological changes that have come to characterize epidemiology and its associated disciplines. Sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association, this book remains the essential reference for anyone studying or working in epidemiology, biostatistics, public health, medicine, or the growing number health sciences in which epidemiologic competency is now required.More than just a dictionary, this text is an essential guidebook to the state of the science. It offers the most current, authoritative definitions of terms central to biomedical and public health literature -- everything from confounding and incidence rate to epigenetic inheritance and Number Needed to Treat. As epidemiology continues to change and grow, A Dictionary of Epidemiology will remain its book of record.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199390045Publication Date: 2014 -
Oxford handbook of public health practice
by
Fully revised and updated for the fourth edition, the award-winning Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice serves practitioners in the field. Structured into practical sections addressed towards professional competencies and translating evidence into policy, this Handbook provides concise summaries and covers real issues from across the globe. Easy-to-use, concise, and practical, this Handbook is divided into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of this broad discipline. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments in the practice of public health are presented, along with essential summaries of the core disciplines. Specific sections are devoted to the development of professional competencies including negotiation, communicating risk to the public, community action, and translating evidence into policy. Written by an international team of experts.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191839931Publication Date: 2020 -
Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance
by
First Prize in Public health in the 2017 BMA Medical Book Awards Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance is a highly visual introduction to the key concepts and major themes of population health. With comprehensive coverage of all the core topics covered at medical school, it helps students understand the determinants of health and their study, from personal lifestyle choices and behaviour, to environmental, social and economic factors. This fully updated new edition features: * More coverage of audit and quality improvement techniques * Brand new sections on maternal and child health, and health of older people * New chapters on social determinants of health and guideline development * Expanded self-assessment material This accessible guide is an invaluable resource for medical and healthcare students, junior doctors, and those preparing for a career in epidemiology and public health
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118999349Publication Date: 2016 -
Essential epidemiology : an introduction for students and health professionals
by
The new edition of this popular textbook remains a clear and practical introduction to epidemiology for students in all areas of health. By emphasising the role of epidemiology across a broad range of health monitoring and research, it gives students an understanding of the fundamental principles common to all areas of epidemiology. It also integrates the study of infectious and chronic diseases as well as public health and clinical epidemiology. Avoiding complex mathematics, it steps through the methods and potential problems underlying health data and reports, while maintaining a balance of rigour and clarity. The nuts-and-bolts of epidemiology are embedded in the wider international health perspective through recent and classical examples across different areas of health to engage students from a range of backgrounds. Concepts are illustrated with charts and graphs, and end-of-chapter questions test understanding (with answers provided). Online resources include further exercises, slides for teaching and useful weblinks.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780511997303Publication Date: 2012
