Welcome
Welcome to your Public Health Leadership Reading and Resource List. Here you will find your essential and recommended reading, as well as suggested Journals and Online Resources.
Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Essential Reading
-
Leadership in Health and Social Care
by
From reviews: "I found this book to be an excellent read... My favourite part is at the end of each chapter where the authors very kindly give a chapter summary. I would say this, with learning outcomes for each chapter, is the reader's 'pot of gold' - and an excellent resource for students. The social and political stance of this text is sensitively weaved throughout, encouraging the wider thought processes of the reader. Images and illustrations provide a welcome and useful change to the traditional academic text, and I would recommend the book as an important reference resource for those starting on their leadership journey, or for those wanting to update. A well-informed, easy read that I will be recommending to our students to support their studies." The Biomedical Scientist, 2013:70 (4) "Thisis an excellent book for anyone who is starting to take an interest in Leadershipwithin their health or social care role... Overall, the bookis clearly aimed at practitioners and should be a 'must-read' for those whowish to understand more about practical leadership and who aspire to moresenior positions within their field of practice." Lecturer,StaffordshireUniversity Faculty of Health Sciences Leadership in Health andSocial Careis an accessible text forstudents and practitioners seeking todevelop their leadership skills. "Icommend this book to you as a 'way in' to the leadership world for anyoneworking in health and social care. It treats you like an adult and expects youto take responsibility for your own leadership development. Wenow know that good leadership has a direct relationship with good services andwe can certainly no longer afford mediocrity. We need leaders to enable thedisruptive innovation that will be required to improve the quality of care withless resource to do so." Fromthe Foreword by Karen Middleton, Chief Health Professions Officer for England. Key features: · Introduces the concept of leadership and its importance in health andsocial care. · Discusses the skills and qualities that make for effective leadership. · Analyses the role of the leader as a catalyst for change. · Helps readers to explore their own perceptions of leadership throughactivities and scenarios.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781908625021Publication Date: 2013 -
Leading Change
by
The international bestseller--now with a new preface by author John Kotter. Millions worldwide have read and embraced John Kotter's ideas on change management and leadership. From the ill-fated dot-com bubble to unprecedented M&A activity to scandal, greed, and ultimately, recession--we've learned that widespread and difficult change is no longer the exception. It's the rule. Now with a new preface, this refreshed edition of the global bestseller Leading Change is more relevant than ever. John Kotter's now-legendary eight-step process for managing change with positive results has become the foundation for leaders and organizations across the globe. By outlining the process every organization must go through to achieve its goals, and by identifying where and how even top performers derail during the change process, Kotter provides a practical resource for leaders and managers charged with making change initiatives work. Leading Change is widely recognized as his seminal work and is an important precursor to his newer ideas on acceleration published in Harvard Business Review. Needed more today than at any time in the past, this bestselling business book serves as both visionary guide and practical toolkit on how to approach the difficult yet crucial work of leading change in any type of organization. Reading this highly personal book is like spending a day with the world's foremost expert on business leadership. You're sure to walk away inspired--and armed with the tools you need to inspire others. Published by Harvard Business Review Press.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781422186435Publication Date: 2012 -
Creating Person-Centred Organisations
by
Person-centred thinking and planning are approaches that enable people using social care and health services to plan their future, and use a personal budget to commission personalised services. Creating Person-Centred Organisations is a guide for organisations who want to deliver personalised services. Key issues covered include attending to the vision, strategy and business planning of the organisation, as well as organisational processes, culture and managing change. Drawing on the pioneering work of the social care charity United Response, the authors provide a wealth of practical tools and techniques to enable organisations within health, social care and the voluntary sector to use person-centred thinking tools and approaches to move towards becoming person-centred organisations. This is an essential guide for managers and leaders within private, statutory and voluntary organisations. Stephen Stirk is Director of Human Resources at the social care charity United Response. He has had over 30 years' experience in human resources, organisation development and line management positions, including specialism in organisation design and development with GlaxoSmithKline. Helen Sanderson is Director of Helen Sanderson Associates. She has written extensively on person-centred thinking, planning, community building and Individual Service Funds. She has worked with a range of providers to enable them to deliver more personalised services. She is co-author (with Jaimee Lewis) of A Practical Guide to Delivering Personalisation: Person-Centred Practice in Health and Social Care (Jessica Kingsley Publishers).
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781849052603Publication Date: 2012
Recommended Reading
-
Leadership in Health Care
by
The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resources for both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions. To download an e-inspection copy click here or request a physical copy by contacting your local sales representative.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526459404Publication Date: 2012 -
Leading Public Health: A Competency Framework
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826199072Publication Date: 2014 -
Leadership in Healthcare
by
Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, additional discussion questions, and web links. Today's healthcare leaders face constant challenge and change. Even as they cope with a rapidly evolving environment, they also must overcome existing obstacles inherent to running multifaceted operations. A solid value system will anchor leaders as they navigate these daily hurdles. This highly regarded book examines leadership through the lens of such values. It provides a comprehensive overview of leadership principles specific to the healthcare environment and explores both personal and team values that drive appropriate and effective behavior. Case studies, exercises, and self-assessment tools facilitate teaching, dialogue, and self-reflection. A valuable resource for seasoned practitioners and their leadership teams, the book is also used extensively in academic courses in leadership. Updates to this edition include: Expanded coverage of academic theories and popular approaches to leadership A new chapter articulating the need to identify and develop new types of leaders in healthcare A new chapter on the extensive work of researchers who have examined the impact of leadership on organizational outcomes Updated and expanded discussion of servant leadership, change makers, employee engagement, emotional intelligence, and groupthink Fresh examples and cases featuring clinical leaders, including both nurses and physicians
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781567938463Publication Date: 2017 -
Leadership in Healthcare: Essential Values and Skills. 4th edn.
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781640553606Publication Date: 2023 -
Transforming Public Health Practice
by
This text provides students a foundation in public healthpractice and management, focusing on developing the knowledge andskills required by the real world of public health. The authors ofTransforming Public Health Practice explain the drivers of changein public health practice, key success factors for public healthprograms, dealing with the chronic disease burden, the impact ofnational health policy on public health practice, and tools forunderstanding and managing population health. Transforming Public Health Practice covers core leadership andmanagement skills, covering areas such as politics, workforce,partnership and collaboration, change management, outcomesorientation, opportunities for improvement, health equity, andfuture challenges. Case studies highlight innovations in healtheducation, working with people with disabilities, partnerships inresponse to disease outbreaks, and health programs. Learningobjectives, chapter summaries, key terms, and discussion questionsenhance each chapter. A downloadable instructors' supplement isavailable on the companion Web site for the book.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470508954Publication Date: 2011 -
Oxford handbook of public health practice
by
Fully revised and updated for the fourth edition, the award-winning Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice serves practitioners in the field. Structured into practical sections addressed towards professional competencies and translating evidence into policy, this Handbook provides concise summaries and covers real issues from across the globe. Easy-to-use, concise, and practical, this Handbook is divided into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of this broad discipline. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments in the practice of public health are presented, along with essential summaries of the core disciplines. Specific sections are devoted to the development of professional competencies including negotiation, communicating risk to the public, community action, and translating evidence into policy. Written by an international team of experts.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191839931Publication Date: 2020 -
Leadership Questions for Health Care Professionals: Applying Theories and Principles to Practice
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781630913625Publication Date: 2018 -
Leadership in health care. 5th edn.
by
Designed to guide you through a structured approach to building your leadership skills, this book uses case studies, practical examples, and reflective questions to help you engage with every aspect of leadership. It explores a wide range of topics and ideas from teamwork, communication, and problem-solving, to emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection, and quality of care to provide an ideal platform for learning. It is suitable for all professions allied to medicine, including students of adult, mental health, children and learning disability nursing and midwifery, as well as nursing associates, specialist community public health nurses, physician associates, paramedic sciences, and more.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781529770605Publication Date: 2023
