Welcome
Welcome to your Principles of Public Health Reading List. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module. Please be advised that not all of your essential and recommended reading is available through the University of Suffolk.
Essential Reading
Donaldsons' Essential Public Health by
Donaldsons' Essential Public Health has been in continuous print for 35 years, evolving through successive editions. This unrivalled record of success for a textbook of public health shows the enduring appeal of its content, style, and accessibility to generations of students and practitioners. For many of today's national and global public health leaders, the book was their guide as they began their careers, their benchmark as they passed their examinations and professional accreditation, and remains their companion as a source of reference and refreshed knowledge for teaching and practice. The book brings together, in one volume, the main health problems experienced by populations and by the key groups within them, the strategies for promoting health and preventing disease, the principles and applications of epidemiology, the main themes of health policy, and a description of health service provision. This fourth edition marks the biggest change to the book in 20 years. For the first time it sets each key subject area in a global health context, whilst retaining its traditional strength in covering population health for the United Kingdom. New and revised chapters for this edition include: Health in a changing world Communicable diseases Non-communicable diseases Social determinants of health Quality and safety of healthcare Mental health Disability Health in later life Environment and health History of public health The content is wide-ranging and written in an accessible and engaging style. It covers topics as diverse as: the story of the 2014 Ebola virus outbreak in West Africa; the elements of tobacco control policy; the health impact of climate change; the global health organisational architecture; the concept of health; the new paradigm of public mental health; the biological pathways that link to the health effects of social deprivation; the ideal of universal health coverage; the essentials of immunisation; the basis of healthy ageing; the historical events that led to the germ theory of disease and the Victorian sanitary revolution. This new edition is essential reading for all undergraduate and postgraduate students of public health, medicine, nursing, health policy, social science, and public sector management. Those embarking on a career in public health will find it of great value throughout their professional life. The book is also an extremely useful resource for established practitioners in primary care, doctors, senior nurses, health system managers, healthcare policy makers, civil servants in ministries of health, and members of boards of health organisations.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781498797221Publication Date: 2017
Foundations for Health Promotion by
The fourth edition of Foundations for Health Promotion continues to offer a wealth of information in a friendly, easy-to-read format. This edition has been comprehensively updated and includes a new feature of learning activities with indicative answers to help students and practitioners to reflect on their practice. 'Pull out' boxes of case studies and examples help the reader to identify the evidence base for health promotion and illustrate the range of health promotion practice. Divided into four parts, the book first explains the theoretical concepts of health, health education and health promotion and the ethical and political aspects of practice. The second part explores strategies to promote health and some of the dilemmas that they pose. The third part explores how a range of different settings, such as hospitals and schools, can be oriented towards positive health and well-being. The fourth part focuses on the implementation of health promotion interventions and is designed to help practitioners to reflect on their practice by examining what drives their choice of strategy. Foundations for Health Promotion, Fourth Edition will be ideal for a range of disciplines including health service professionals in primary and acute settings, those working in local and municipal authorities to promote health and wellbeing, health educators and trainers. Comprehensive updating and expansion to reflect recent research findings and major organizational and policy changes Clear structure and signposting for ease of reading and study Wide choice of examples and illustrative case studies reflect the needs of a variety of professional groups in health services, local and municipal services and education Ineractive learning activities with indicative answers help readers consolidate their learning Comprehensively updated and expanded to reflect major organizational and policy changes Interactive learning activities with indicative answers at the end of each chapter 'Pull out' boxes illustrate recent research findings and case studies of practice
Call Number: eBook + 613.0941 NAIISBN: 9780702054426Publication Date: 2016
Key Concepts in Public Health by
"This is a very good text for undergraduate students as it gives a broad overview of the concept of public health, utilising case studies to illustrate practical application. This book would be also be an excellent way for practitioners to increase their own knowledge of public health and could inform their own continuing professional development." Julie Lemprière, University of Gloucestershire Key Concepts in Public Healthidentifies fifty key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice. From epidemiology to health promotion, and ethics to leadership, the book offers an exciting guide to the multiprofessional field. Each entry features: - a snapshot definition of the concept - a broader discussion addressing the main issues and links to practice - key points relevant to the entry - case studies to illustrate the application to practice - examples of further reading. Highly readable, with clear indexing and cross referencing, this is an ideal book to turn to for learning more about key issues in public health practice and education. The clever structure means the book can be read in its entirety to support a programme of study or readers can use it to dip into and update their knowledge of a particular concept. It meets the validation requirements of all allied health and nursing training programmes and will also be invaluable for policy-makers and healthcare practitioners continuing their professional education.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412948791Publication Date: 2008
Online Resources
Recommended Reading
Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health by
Invaluable for all practitioners, trainees, and students of public health and epidemiology, the Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health covers the scope, methods, and practice of public health and has been comprehensively updated for its seventh edition.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780192548771Publication Date: 2022
Essential Public Health by
This second edition has been fully updated with contemporary examples and includes new chapters on sustainability and change, management and leadership. An internet companion includes supplementary information and interactive, self-assessment questions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781139420228Publication Date: 2012
The Social Determinants of Health by
This timely book takes seriously the idea of understanding how our social world - and not individual responsibility or the healthcare system - is the primary determinant of our health. Kathryn Strother Ratcliff puts into practice the "upstream" imagery from public health discourse, which locates the causes (and solutions) of health problems within the social environment. Each chapter explains how the policies, politics, and power behind corporate and governmental decisions and actions produce unhealthy circumstances of living - such as poverty, pollution, dangerous working conditions, and unhealthy modes of food production - and demonstrates that putting profit and politics over people is unhealthy and unsustainable. While the book examines how these unhealthy conditions of life generate significant class and ethnic health disparities, the focus is on everyone's health. Arguing that none of us should be placed in health-threatening situations that could have been prevented, Ratcliff's provocative analysis uses social justice and human rights lenses to guide the discussion "upstream," toward possible changes that should produce a healthier world for us all. Using data and ideas from many disciplines, the book provides a synthesis of invaluable information for activists and policymakers, as well as for professionals and students in sociology, public health, and other fields related to health.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781509504343Publication Date: 2017-10-09
Public health : an introduction to the science and practice of population health by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826177544Publication Date: 2021
The Essential Guide to Public Health and Health Promotion by
In the twenty-first century, public health is everyone's business. The nursing and medical professions are well placed to provide advice to their clients, especially in respect to lifestyle change, and public health initiatives are supported by a range of statutory and voluntary organisations and health workers, ranging from health promotion specialists to smoking cessation advisers and nutrition assistants. Designed to help readers develop the practical skills they need to become effective public health practitioners, this concise text gives an easily digested overview of public health and health promotion theory in accessible language and diagrams, before moving on to the ways readers can apply this in practice. Providing an opportunity for practitioners to understand possible barriers to lifestyle change, debate health inequalities and responsibilities, and explore the role of the media in changing attitudes, it: Outlines the roles of specific organisations involved in the work of public health work. Covers health needs assessment, agenda setting and the technical aspects of how to research plan and evaluate effective practice either with individual clients or when devising programmes and initiatives for population groups. Details methods of helping people with motivation for lifestyle change, building rapport, ongoing support, monitoring and signposting to specific services. Discusses role of neighbourhoods and communities in improving health and how workers may support local populations to improve the health of their community. The Essential Guide to Public Health and Health Promotion is an accessible introduction to the principles and practice of health promotion and public health for all those new to working or studying in the area, whatever their professional background.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415813082Publication Date: 2014
