19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. (Not included in Summon)
provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains 524,000 records.
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. Some content is free to view but there are items that you might need to purchase.
Proquest. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, music, drama, archaeology and architecture and the social sciences - journal articles
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture
The Gazette is a government publication, managed by The Stationery Office, under the superintendence of The National Archives. As the official public record, information published is verified and certified as fact. Issues are available by subscription or online, and are fully searchable via the website.
The first Gazette issue was in 1665 as The Oxford Gazette, and though the nature of its contents has evolved over time, its standing as the official public record has remained
contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists and illustrators of the 20th and 21st centuries
Free on the Internet
British History Online A key resource for history containing many primary and secondary sources relating to British history.