Learning and Teaching: Archive material: Historical Texts

Historical Texts

Early European Books This link opens in a new window
traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Historical Texts This link opens in a new window
**The Historical Texts service will be retired on 31 July 2024**
Historical Texts brings together four historically significant collections: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection and the UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL).
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
JSTOR eBooks holds thousands of Open Access ebooks, which are available from top scholarly publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
No requirement to register or log in. There are no DRM restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 70,000 free eBooks and audiobooks. Access books on a range of topics and genres, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
The content of this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is free and without need for registration.

Hathi Trust Digital Library Extensive collection of texts in the public domain