Beyond Empathy (Print copy) by
The authors of this book focus on the importance of relationship in psychotherapy. Relationships between people form the basis of our daily lives. We require this contact with others, the sense of respect and value it produces amd the relational needs it fulfills. As we face the inevitable traumas of life, large and small, our ability to make full contact with others is often disrupted. As this reduction in contact increases, relational needs go unfulfilled, producing psychological dysfunction. The book offers therapists a methodology for assisting people in rediscovering their ability to maintain genuine, contactful relationships and thus, better psychological health. The authors describe an integrative psychotherapy approach that draws from Rogers' client-centered therapy, Berne's transactional analysis, Perls' Gestalt therapy, Kohut's self psychology, and the work of British object-relations theorists.
Counselling Skills and Theory (Print copy) by
Trust this bestselling resource to provide you with the clearest introduction to the major approaches in counselling.Written by expert counsellor and bestselling author Margaret Hough, this textbook provides the clearest overview and introduction to the subject. It covers the major approaches to the field, how they interrelate and how you can put them into practice. Suitable for a wide range of qualifications fromFoundation courses to Higher Education, it will help you to understand the nature of counselling, the skills you will need to develop and how to overcome the challenges you might face in this rewarding profession.This new edition, now in full colour, provides up-to-date research on topics such as ethics in counselling and the importance of both supervision and person-centred care in residential and hospital settings.
Counselling Skills and Theory (E-book) by
Trust this bestselling resource to provide you with the clearest introduction to the major approaches in counselling.Written by expert counsellor and bestselling author Margaret Hough, this textbook provides the clearest overview and introduction to the subject. It covers the major approaches to the field, how they interrelate and how you can put them into practice. Suitable for a wide range of qualifications fromFoundation courses to Higher Education, it will help you to understand the nature of counselling, the skills you will need to develop and how to overcome the challenges you might face in this rewarding profession.This new edition, now in full colour, provides up-to-date research on topics such as ethics in counselling and the importance of both supervision and person-centred care in residential and hospital settings.
Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy (2nd edn). (Print copy) by
This is a step-by-step guide to the key skills and techniques of the psychodynamic approach used at each stage of the therapeutic process. Updated in a second edition, the book includes a new chapter on neuropsychology and its implications for theory and practice, new content on working in the NHS and other settings, additional case material and updates to all chapters reflecting recent literature, research and understanding.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Learning to Counsel (4th edn.) by
Drawing on their numerous years experience as counselors, tutors, and writers, Jan Sutton and William Stewart introduce readers to the basic principles that underpin counseling practice. Written in a clear, concise and jargon-free style, and with its wealth of case studies, examples of skills in practice, and practical exercises, this new edition is an ideal text for those embarking on a counseling or psychotherapy course, trainee counselors, counseling tutors to use in training, professionals working in the area of health care, management and education, and counselors working in the voluntary sector. It provides insight into various counseling approaches; clarifies the nature of counseling and the role of the counselor, and assists readers to develop a repertoire of key counseling skills and qualities, such as active listening, genuineness, unconditional positive regard, empathy, goal-setting, etc. The book also addresses the important issues of ongoing supervision to enhance counseling practice, and counselor self-care to reduce the risk of burnout.
The skilled helper: a problem-management and opportunity-development approach to hleping. 9th edn. (Print copy) by 
Essential Counselling and Therapy Skills (Print copy) by
Essential Counseling and Therapy Skills is written for trainees who are beginning to work with clients under supervision. Building on what has been learnt during introductory courses, the book supports students in the next stage of their practical skills development. Written by leading author, Richard Nelson-Jones, Essential Counseling and Therapy Skills is a step-by-step guide to therapeutic work using the "skilled client model". Central to this innovative approach, is the assumption that the skill of counselors and therapists lies in their capacity to impart skills to clients. The book focuses on: establishing collaborative working relationships; working with clients to find shared definitions of their problems; enabling clients to improve how they think, communicate and act; and dealing with questions of diversity, ethical practice and the value of supervision. Accessibly written, the book contains numerous skills building activities and case examples, making Essential Counseling and Therapy Skills an ideal textbook for practical skills training in counseling, counseling psychology, psychotherapy and other helping professions.
Essential Counselling and Therapy Skills. (E-book). by
`This is another well planned and well organized textbook specifically aimed at students in training as counsellors and psychotherapists, who have already completed an introductory course' - British Journal of Guidance and Counselling `Richard Nelson-Jones' focus on skilling the client provides a valuable toolkit, making explicit what is implicit in many counselling models. His "Skilled Client Model" provides an excellent substitute for Egan's "Skilled Helper" - Zo#65533; Fitzgerald-Pool, Director of Training & Development, CSCT Limited `A text which provides trainers and trainees alike with a veritable treasure-house of creative ideas' - Brian Thorne, Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of East Anglia and Co-Founder, Norwich Centre `The "skilled client model" is a distinct advance, I think... and very helpful' - Ron Perry, Director, Institute of Counselling, Sydney 'The book is written in a clear and orderly fashion.... Therapy is a process and learning is a process too, and this textbook will undoubtedly assist trainees to move along their own process of learning and becoming reflective and effective practitioners' - Stefania Gribcic, Counselling Psychology Review Essential Counselling and Therapy Skills is written for trainees who are beginning to work with clients under supervision. Building on what has been learnt during introductory courses, the book supports students in the next stage of their practical skills development. Written by leading author, Richard Nelson-Jones, Essential Counselling and Therapy Skills is a step-by-step guide to therapeutic work using the`skilled client model'. Central to this innovative approach, is the assumption that the skill of counsellors and therapists lies in their capacity to impart skills to clients. The book focuses on: establishing collaborative working relationships; working with clients to find shared definitions of their problems; enabling clients to improve how they think, communicate and act; and dealing with questions of diversity, ethical practice and the value of supervision. Accessibly written, the book contains numerous skill-building activities and case examples, making Essential Counselling and Therapy Skills an ideal textbook for practical skills training in counselling, counselling psychology, psychotherapy and other helping professions.
