Secure Base (Print copy) by John Bowlby; Jeremy Holmes (Preface by)As Bowlby himself points out in his introduction to this seminal childcare book, to be a successful parent means a lot of very hard work. Giving time and attention to children means sacrificing other interests and activities, but for many people today these are unwelcome truths. Bowlby's work showed that the early interactions between infant and caregiver have a profound impact on an infant's social, emotional, and intellectual growth. Controversial yet powerfully influential to this day, this classic collection of Bowlby's lectures offers important guidelines for child rearing based on the crucial role of early relationships.
Call Number: 155.44 BOW
Publication Date: 2005
An Introduction to Integrative Psychotherapy (Print copy) by Ken Evans; Maria GilbertThis text provides an invaluable and accessible overview of the rapidly developing field of integrative psychotherapy, and introduces a relational-developmental approach to theory and practice. The book critiques the philosophical bases underpinning the theoretical model, looks at the nature of resistance in different phases of therapy, and presents an engaging clinical case study. The book goes beyond the confines of the therapy room and explores the significance of the cultural, ecological and transpersonal dimensions of therapy.
Call Number: 616.8914 EVA
Publication Date: 2005
Relational Integrative Psychotherapy (E-book) by Linda FinlayDesigned specifically for the needs of trainees and newly-qualified therapists, Relational Integrative Psychotherapy outlines a form of therapy that prioritizes the client and allows for diverse techniques to be integrated within a strong therapeutic relationship. Provides an evidence-based introduction to the processes and theory of relational integrative psychotherapy in practice Presents innovative ideas that draw from a variety of traditions, including cognitive, existential-phenomenological, gestalt, psychoanalytic, systems theory, and transactional analysis Includes case studies, footnotes, theory into practice boxes, and discussion of competing and complementary theoretical frameworks Written by an internationally acclaimed speaker and author who is also an active practitioner of relational integrative psychotherapy
Publication Date: 2015
An Introduction to Object Relations (Print copy) by Lavinia GomezObject Relations places relationships at the centre of what it is to be human. Its premise is that the human being is essentially social and that our need for others is primary. Object Relations originated as the British-based development of classic Freudian theory. Its early proponents were Melanie Klein, Ronald Fairbairn, Donald Winnicott, Michael Balint, Harry Guntrip and John Bowlby. In this critical introduction to the subject, Lavinia Gomez presents the work of the main theorists chronologically, enabling the reader to gain a sense of how Object Relations develops and the ways in which the theorists build on, diverge from and oppose each other's ideas. An understanding of concepts emerges gradually as similar phenomena are examined though the eyes of each theorist. A brief biography brings to life the persons behind the theory, contributing to a deeper understanding and critical appreciation of their ideas. The second part of the book addresses the application of Object Relations in the practice of counselling and Psychotherapy; the issue of integrating different approaches; and the challenges of working across social and cultural groups and with borderline and psychotic people. A final chapter examines the foundations of Object Relations. Through written with students of psychotherapy and counselling in mind, this lively and perceptive book will interest anyone wishing to explore this fascinating field. Its strengths lie in its comprehensive coverage, its openness to different theoretical orientations and critical awareness of Object Relations as a culturally specific system of thought.
Call Number: 150.195 GOM
Publication Date: 1997
Heinz Kohut and the Psychology of the Self (Print copy) by Siegel a StaffHeinz Kohut's work represents an important departure from the Freudian tradition of psychoanalysis. A founder of the Self Psychology movement in America, he based his practice on the belief that narcissistic vulnerabilities play a significant part in the suffering that brings people for treatment. Written predominantly for a psychoanalytic audience Kohut's work is often difficult to interpret. Siegel uses examples from his own practice to show how Kohut's innovative theories can be applied to other forms of treatment.
Call Number: 150.195092 SIE
Publication Date: 1996
Introduction to Gestalt (Print copy) by Phil Lapworth; Billy Desmond; Charlotte SillsThis thoroughly revised edition of Gestalt Counselling introduces the fundamental concepts of Gestalt and systematically demonstrates how to apply and use these in practice. Taking a relational perspective, the expert authors explore how Gestalt can be used in a wide variety of 'helping conversations' from counselling, psychotherapy and coaching to mentoring, managing, consulting and guiding. A Each chapter contains case examples from the therapeutic world and a 'running case study' featuring ongoing coaching work moves throughout the book, with diagrams and lists for further reading making this the ideal text for use in training. The accessible, engaging writing style will appeal to undergraduates and postgraduates alike. Charlotte Sills is a practitioner and supervisor in private practice, a tutor at Metanoia Institute and a tutor and supervisor of coaching at Ashridge CollegeBusiness School. She is the author or co-author of many books and articles on therapeutic work. Phil Lapworth is a counsellor, psychotherapist and supervisor in private practice near Bath and has written extensively in the field of counselling and psychotherapy. Billy Desmond is a Gestalt psychotherapist, executive coach and organisational development consultant. He is a member of Ashridge College and a Programme Director of Partnering and Consulting in ChangeHead of the Gestalt Department at Metanoia Insititute, and tutor and consultant at Ashridge Business School.
Call Number: 616.89143 SIL
Publication Date: 2012
Why Love Matters: how affection shapes a baby's brain. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Sue GerhardtWhy Love Matters explains why loving relationships are essential to brain development in the early years, and how these early interactions can have lasting consequences for future emotional and physical health. This second edition follows on from the success of the first, updating the scientific research, covering recent findings in genetics and the mind/body connection, and including a new chapter highlighting our growing understanding of the part also played by pregnancy in shaping a baby¿s future emotional and physical well-being. Sue Gerhardt focuses in particular on the wide-ranging effects of early stress on a baby or toddler¿s developing nervous system. When things go wrong with relationships in early life, the dependent child has to adapt; what we now know is that his or her brain adapts too. The brain¿s emotion and immune systems are particularly affected by early stress and can become less effective. This makes the child more vulnerable to a range of later difficulties such as depression, anti-social behaviour, addictions or anorexia, as well as physical illness. Why Love Matters is an accessible, lively, account of the latest findings in neuroscience, developmental psychology and neurobiology ¿ research which matters to us all. It is an invaluable and hugely popular guide for parents and professionals alike.
How to Be an Existentialist (Print copy) by Gary CoxHow to Be an Existentialist is a witty and entertaining book about the philosophy of existentialism. It is also a genuine self-help book offering clear advice on how to live according to the principles of existentialism formulated by Nietzsche, Sartre, Camus, and the other great existentialist philosophers. An attack on contemporary excuse culture, the book urges us to face the hard existential truths of the human condition. By revealing that we are all inescapably free and responsible - 'condemned to be free,' as Sartre says - the book aims to empower the reader with a sharp sense that we are each the master of our own destiny. Cox makes fun of the reputation existentialism has for being gloomy and pessimistic, exposing it for what it really is - an honest, uplifting, and potentially life changing philosophy!
Call Number: 142.78 COX
Publication Date: 2011
Why Therapy Works: using our minds to change our brains. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Louis CozolinoThat psychotherapy works is a basic assumption of anyone who sees a therapist. But why does it work? And why does it matter that we understand how it works? In Why Therapy Works, Louis Cozolino explains the mechanisms of psychotherapeutic change from the bottom up, beginning with the brain, and how brains have evolved--especially how brains evolved to learn, unlearn, and relearn, which is at the basis of lasting psychological change. Readers will learn why therapists have to look beyond just words, diagnoses, and presenting problems to the inner histories of their clients in order to discover paths to positive change. The book also shows how our brains have evolved into social organs and how our interpersonal lives are a source of both pain and power. Readers will explore with Cozolino how our brains are programmed to connect in intimate relationships and come to understand the debilitating effects of anxiety, stress, and trauma. Finally, the book will lead to an understanding of the power of story and narratives for fostering self-regulation, neural integration, and positive change. Always, the focus of the book is in understanding underlying therapeutic change, moving beyond the particular of specific forms of therapy to the commonalities of human evolution, biology, and experience. This book is for anyone who has experienced the benefits of therapy and wondered how it worked. It is for anyone thinking about whether therapy is right for them, and it is for anyone who has looked within themselves and marveled at people's ability to experience profound transformation.
Integrative Counselling and Psychotherapy (E-book) by Ariana Faris; Els van OoijenThis is an accessible and user friendly guide to the theory and practice of relational counselling and psychotherapy. It offers a meta-theoretical framework for the integration of the three most popular counselling and psychotherapy modalities: humanistic, psychodynamic and Cognitive-behavioural including mindfulness and compassion based approaches This exciting new text: - outlines the history of integration in the field of psychotherapy and counselling - clarifies the nature of psychotherapeutic integration - defines different models of integration - provides a clear and rich discussion of what it means to work relationally - outlines a coherent and flexible framework for practice, in terms of theory as well as technique - demonstrates how this framework can be successfully utilised both in brief and long term therapy for a wide range of client issues and problems - provides a detailed guide to working with the Relational-Integrative Model (RIM) for a range of professional issues, including ethics, research, supervision, therapist self-care and personal development Brimming with vivid case examples, mind-maps and therapeutic dialogue, this invaluable book will help develop the theoretical knowledge and skills base of students, trainers and practitioners alike.
Publication Date: 2011-11-09
Integrative Counselling and Psychotherapy (Print copy) by Ariana Faris; Els van OoijenThis is an accessible and user friendly guide to the theory and practice of relational counselling and psychotherapy. It offers a meta-theoretical framework for the integration of the three most popular counselling and psychotherapy modalities: humanistic, psychodynamic and Cognitive-behavioural including mindfulness and compassion based approaches This exciting new text: - outlines the history of integration in the field of psychotherapy and counselling - clarifies the nature of psychotherapeutic integration - defines different models of integration - provides a clear and rich discussion of what it means to work relationally - outlines a coherent and flexible framework for practice, in terms of theory as well as technique - demonstrates how this framework can be successfully utilised both in brief and long term therapy for a wide range of client issues and problems - provides a detailed guide to working with the Relational-Integrative Model (RIM) for a range of professional issues, including ethics, research, supervision, therapist self-care and personal development Brimming with vivid case examples, mind-maps and therapeutic dialogue, this invaluable book will help develop the theoretical knowledge and skills base of students, trainers and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 361.323 FAR
Publication Date: 2011
Integrative Therapy: 100 key points and techniques. (Print copy) by Maria Gilbert; Vanja OrlansIntegrative Therapy is a unifying approach that brings together physiological, affective, cognitive, contextual and behavioural systems, creating a multi-dimensional relational framework that can be created anew for each individual case. Integrative Therapy: 100 Key Points and Techniquesprovides a concise and accessible guide that allows professionals and students to look beyond specific approaches in order to draw upon ideas and techniques that will best help the client. Divided into helpful sections, areas of discussion include: the case for an integrative approach to therapy the centrality of relationship and dimensions of self development the process of integrative therapy techniques and strategies This book will be essential reading for all psychotherapists and counsellors, both in practice and training, who want to expand their perspectives and learn more about an integrative approach.
Call Number: 616.89143 MAN
Publication Date: 2010-12-18
The Search for the Secure Base (Print copy) by Jeremy HolmesIn recent decades, attachment theory has gained widespread interest and acceptance, although the relevance of attachment theory to clinical practice has never been clear. The Search for the Secure Baseshows how attachment theory can be used therapeutically. Jeremy Holmes introduces an exciting new attachment paradigm in psychotherapy with adults, describing the principles and practice of attachment-informed therapy in a way that will be useful to beginners and experienced therapists alike. Illustrated with a wide range of clinical examples, this book will be welcomed by practitioners and trainees in psychotherapy, psychoanalysis and in many other disciplines.
Call Number: 616.8914 HOL
Publication Date: 2001
Gestalt Therapy : 100 key points & techniques. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by Dave MannGestalt therapy offers a present-focused, relational approach, central to which is the fundamental belief that the client knows the best way of adjusting to their situation. This new editionof Gestalt Therapy: 100 Key Points and Techniques　provides a concise, accessible guide to this flexible and far-reaching approach. Substantially updated throughout, topics discussed include: the theoretical assumptions underpinning gestalt therapy gestalt assessment and process diagnosis field theory, phenomenology and dialogue ethics and values evaluation and research. As such this book will be essential reading for gestalt trainees, as well as all counsellors and psychotherapists wanting to learn more about the gestalt approach.
Call Number: 616.89143 MAN
Publication Date: 2020-09-29
Gestalt Therapy (E-book) by Dave MannGestalt therapy offers a present-focused, relational approach, central to which is the fundamental belief that the client knows the best way of adjusting to their situation. By working to heighten awareness through dialogue and creative experimentation, gestalt therapists create the conditions for a client's personal journey to health. Gestalt Therapy: 100 Key Pointsnbsp;and Techniques provides a concise guide to this flexible and far-reaching approach. Topics discussed include: the theoretical assumptions underpinning gestalt therapy gestalt assessment and process diagnosis field theory, phenomenology and dialogue ethics and values evaluation and research. As such this book will be essential reading for gestalt trainees, as well as all counsellors and psychotherapists wanting to learn more about the gestalt approach.
Publication Date: 2010-
Releasing the Self (Print copy) by Phil MollonThis book revisits in depth Kohut′s own accounts of his theory and clinical work and links them with other contemporary perspectives within psychoanalysis. Contents: Rage, shame and presymbolic dread Discerning invisible structures Perversion, the vertical split and the psychoeconomic dimension The healing process in Kohut′s psychoanalysis Empathy and the intersubjectivists Kohut and the internal object Impasse and Oedipus Schizophrenia and depression The fragmented self and the thwarted self The developmental neurobiology of the self object relationship Self psychology perspectives on childhood trauma Further reflections on psychoanalytic cure
Call Number: 155.2 MOL
Publication Date: 2001
Integrative Therapy (Print copy) by Gaie Houston; Maja O'BrienIntegrative Therapy, Second Edition is a practical guide to the knowledge and skills needed to work integratively as a therapist. For many therapists it is clear that no one approach can offer everything they and their clients need. However, by combining elements from different models, a more flexible and potentially more effective way of working can be developed. The authors describe an adaptable framework for integrative practice, based on their analysis of how therapy works coupled with theories of human development. Fully revised and updated, this Second Edition includes new material on neuroscientific advances in psychotherapy as well as research methodology.
Call Number: 361.323 HOU
Publication Date: 2007
Integrative Therapy (E-book) by Gaie Houston; Maja O'BrienIntegrative Therapy, Second Edition is a practical guide to the knowledge and skills needed to work integratively as a therapist. For many therapists it is clear that no one approach can offer everything they and their clients need. However, by combining elements from different models, a more flexible and potentially more effective way of working can be developed. The authors describe an adaptable framework for integrative practice, based on their analysis of how therapy works coupled with theories of human development. Fully revised and updated, this Second Edition includes new material on neuroscientific advances in psychotherapy as well as research methodology.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2007
The Emergent Self (Print copy) by Peter PhilippsonThis book tracks a particular understanding of self, philosophically, from research evidence and its implications for psychotherapy. At each step, the author includes the theory, the clinical implications of the theory, links to the philosophical outlook inherent in the theory, and finally a more extended case example. Philipsson takes the view that the continuing self is partly an illusion, partly a construct, and that we in fact have to work to stay the same in the face of all the different possibilities the world offers us. He believes that we do this for two reasons. First, continuity allows deeper contact: friendships, loving relationships with partners and families. Second, the predictable is less anxiety-producing, and that we avoid this existential anxiety by acting in a stereotyped way and avoiding some of the depths of contact. He argues that this dual nature of continuing self, in one context deepening contact and in another context avoiding contact, has an important place in the understanding of psychotherapy.
Existential Psychotherapy (Print copy) by Irvin D. YalomExistential therapy has been practiced and continues to be practiced in many forms and situations throughout the world. But until now, it has lacked a coherent structure, and analysis of its tenets, and an evaluation of its usefulness. Irvin Yalom, whose Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy has rendered such a service to that discipline since 1970, provides existential psychotherapy with a background, a synthesis, and a framework.Organized around what Yalom identifies as the four "ultimate concerns of life"--death, freedom, existential isolation, and meaninglessness--the book takes up the meaning of each existential concern and the type of conflict that springs from our confrontation with each. He shows how these concerns are manifested in personality and psychopathology, and how treatment can be helped by our knowledge of them.Drawing from clinical experience, empirical research, philosophy, and great literature, Yalom has written a broad and comprehensive book. It will provide an intellectual home base for those psychotherapists who have sensed the incompatability of orthodox theories with their own clinical experience, and it opens new doors for empirical research. The fundamental concerns of therapy and the central issues of human existence are woven together here as never before, with intellectual and clinical results that will surprise and enlighten all readers.
Developments in Object Relations: controversies, conflicts, and common ground. (Print copy) by Lavinia GomezDevelopments in Object Relationsprovides a highly accessible account of how British Object Relations developed in the second half of the twentieth century, focusing on the generation who took up where Klein and Winnicott left off. Complementing and building on its predecessor, An Introduction to Object Relations, it gives an overview of the development of Object Relations with special reference to the Independent and Kleinian traditions. An introductory chapter defines the key features of Object Relations. The emergence of Object Relations is is then described theoretically from some of Freud's papers and clinically from the controversial work of Sandor Ferenczi. Similarities and divergences between Kleinian and Independent approaches are considered in detail through the close examination of the work of a key practitioner from each approach, and other significant contributions. Gomez brings clarity to a complex field, discussing what is powerful and problematic about the two main strands in British psychoanalysis. Kleinian and Independent approaches are consistently compared and contrasted, so that readers can develop a clear idea of each. Rather than preferring one to the other, they are presented as different approaches to what is fundamental in psychoanalysis. Chapters on Bion and Masud Khan bring the work of each tradition to life in a fascinating and informative way. Gomez concludes by summarising the claim of psychoanalysis to offer a new way of understanding human reality, particularly useful for readers interested in her second book, The Freud Wars. Developments in Object Relationswill be of great help to psychoanalysts and psychotherapists who work psychoanalytically, particularly those in the process of training, those who have recently qualified and those who are rethinking their position on the different, strongly-held views they encounter. This book is particularly timely when psychoanalytic approaches are under attack from treatments claiming to offer quicker and easier solutions.