Sound Design for Film by
Sound Design for Film offers an in-depth study of one of cinema's most powerful storytelling tools, exploring the creative landscape and proposing a variety of contemporary approaches to audio design. Opening up a hidden world of narrative techniques, experienced designer Tim Harrison provides key insights into how sound works on audiences to guide them through stories. Topics covered include: the creative process from script to delivery visualizing your design ideas developing characters and settings using motif and metaphor. recording foley and sound effects editing and manipulating audio the final mix Serving as a tool for creative reflection and development, this unique book offers invaluable approaches for enhancing your storytelling skills, wherever you are on your filmmaking journey.
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
The Foley Grail by
Master classic and cutting-edge Foley techniques that will allow you to create rich, convincing sound for any medium, be it film, television, radio, podcasts, animation, or games. In The Foley Grail, Second Edition award-winning Foley artist Vanessa Theme Ament teaches you how Foley is designed, crafted, and edited for any project, right down to the nuts and bolts of spotting, cueing, and performing sounds. Various renowned sound artists provide a treasure trove of shortcuts, hot tips, and other tricks of the trade. This new edition features: Entirely new chapters dedicated to Foley in games, television, broadcasting, and animation, as well as what is new in sound for media education All new sound "recipes" that include proven Foley methods you can immediately use on your own projects New case studies from well-known films, shows, games, and animations Interviews with current sound artists from across the globe An extensive companion website (www.focalpress.com/cw/ament) featuring video demonstrations of Foley artists at work, video tutorials of specific Foley techniques, lectures from the author, and much more nbsp;
Post Sound Design by
Post Sound Design provides a practical introduction to the fascinating craft of editing and replacing dialog, creating Foley and sound effects, editing music, and balancing these elements to a final mix. Based on years of experience and teaching this material to students at Drexel University, award-winning film composer John Avarese offers user-friendly knowledge and stimulating exercises to help compose story, develop characters and create emotion through skillful creation of the sound track. Starting each chapter with a real-life example, the textbook is structured in such a way to create a fundamental understanding of the physics and the biological foundation of hearing, and putting it into practice with suggested movie scenes demonstrating the discussed audio techniques. Post Sound Design engagingly demonstrates the individual areas essential to creating a soundtrack that will enhance any media production.
Audio Post Production by
(Berklee Guide). Learn the essential skills to enter the audio post-production industry. This book offers a broad coverage of audio post production, including the four basic elements: dialogue, music, sound effects, and Foley effects. You will learn strategies for working with composers, music supervisors, and dialogue and sound effect editors, and explore techniques on how to edit songs to fit a scene, record dialogue replacement, cue Foley effects for a scene, as well as many more. In addition, you will learn how to prepare for a pre-dub or temp mix (to group and sub-mix tracks into stems for the final dub), create the final dub, and prepare the mix for foreign distribution and final delivery. By learning the tools and strategies used by working professionals, you will have an advantage to participate effectively in this fast-paced environment, as well as applying these skills to independent projects. Includes foreword, introduction, afterword, author biography and index.
Sound for Film and Television by
Sound for Film and Television,Third Edition provides a thorough introduction to the fascinating field of recording, editing, mixing, and exhibiting film and television sound. It strikes a fine balance between aesthetic and technical content, combining theory and practice to approach sound as both an art and a science. This new edition has been completely updated to reflect the latest advances in HD technology, new hardware and software systems, new distribution methods, wireless sound capture, and more. Also, analog-related content has been reduced and transferred to the chapters covering historical techniques. Sections on troubleshooting and FAQs have been added to help you avoid common pitfalls in sound production. Written by one of Hollywood's leading sound experts, Sound for Film and Televisionprovides a solid grounding in all aspects of the sound process. Basic principles are presented with illustrations demonstrating how they affect the day-to-day activities on a film or television set, in the editing room, and in the mix room. The accompanying audio DVD contains more than 50 tracks that demonstrate practical, real-world examples of key concepts presented in the book.
Sound-on-Film by
Sound-On-Film contains interviews with 27 prominent men and women who discuss their careers and the art and craft of film sound. These sound creators represent many of the crafts working in film sound, including production sound, sound editing, sound design, automatic dialogue replacement (ADR), Foley, re-recording mixing, and sound engineering. The interviews are presented in an order that attempts to give the reader a historical perspective on the development of film sound from the studio era to contemporary productions.
The interviews explore how sound creates an aural look to the film in the same way that production design and cinematography creates a visual look to a film. The discussions focus on the relationship with renowned Hollywood film directors and how sound was conceived and executed for specific films. Among the highly acclaimed and seminal films discussed are Star Wars, Nashville, The Conversation, Apocalypse Now, Raging Bull, and Terminator 2. In addition to the interviews, the book contains biographical background and a selected filmography of each sound creator as well as a glossary of terms and a bibliography for further study. It is essential reading for film students, academic scholars and film educators as well as industry professionals and moviegoers who want to understand the aesthetic and technical role of those who work in film sound.
Dialogue Editing for Motion Pictures by
Produce professional level dialogue tracks with industry-proven techniques and insights from an Emmy Award winning sound editor. Gain innovative solutions to common dialogue editing challenges such as room tone balancing, noise removal, perspective control, finding and using alternative takes, and even time management and postproduction politics. In Dialogue Editing for Motion Pictures, Second Edition veteran film sound editor John Purcell arms you with classic as well as cutting-edge practices to effectively edit dialogue for film, TV, and video. This new edition offers: A fresh look at production workflows, from celluloid to Digital Cinema, to help you streamline your editing Expanded sections on new software tools, workstations, and dialogue mixing, including mixing "in the box" Fresh approaches to working with digital video and to moving projects from one workstation to another An insider's analysis of what happens on the set, and how that affects the dialogue editor Discussions about the interweaving histories of film sound technology and film storytelling Eye-opening tips, tricks, and insights from film professionals around the globe A companion website (www.focalpress.com/cw/purcell) with project files and video examples demonstrating editing techniques discussed in the book Don't allow your dialogue to become messy, distracting, and uncinematic! Do dialogue right with John Purcell's all-inclusive guide to this essential yet invisible art.
Audio Postproduction for Film and Video by
New to this edition: * Learn how many Hollywood techniques--previously impractical on video--can help solve problems on smaller productions * Expanded cookbook recipes section * Technically updated throughout Make your soundtracks as good as your pictures with this compendium of professional audio techniques that can be adapted to desktop post. Specializing in sound after the shoot, this book features many practical examples, cookbook recipes, and tutorials. Audio theory, when necessary, is presented in plain English with plenty of visual analogies. FAQs, full explanations, and from-the-trenches tips address the complete range of processes from wiring and hardware to testing the final mix. The one-hour audio CD features platform-independent diagnostics, demonstrations, and tutorial tracks. Novices will learn how to improve their soundtrack--even after the actors have gone home. Experienced producers will learn how to solve technical and creative problems quickly. You'll get recipes and step-by-step instructions on how to: * build an efficient and reliable audio post setup * plan and budget a good soundtrack * get sound into your NLE without losing quality or sync * edit voices and music * record Foley and ADR * find music and use it effectively * find and create your own sound effects * shape sounds with equalization, reverb, noise reduction, and more * produce the final mix * test the final product for various media Please visit the author's website for additional resources: http://www.dplay.com/book/app2e/
Producing Great Sound for Digital Video by
Producing Great Sound for Digital Video is a complete audio training guide as well as a quick problem-solving resource for the working pro. The author explains hundreds of real-world techniques to use from preproduction through the final mix. Readers get how-tos, tips, and time-savers, plus tutorials on key skills such as dialogue and music editing. This edition features deeper coverage of location techniques, including choosing the right mic, in-camera sound recording, getting sound into the camera cleanly, calibrating the camera to location sound equipment, working with mic booms, using separate recorders, and digital wireless. It also includes updates on working techniques, including new software categories for postproduction and new interchange standards.
Sound Design for Moving Image by
Sound Design for Moving Image offers a clear introduction to sound design theory and practice to help you integrate sound ideas into your productions. Contemporary soundtracks are often made up of hundreds of separate tracks, and thousands of individual sounds, including elements of dialogue, music and sound effects. As a result, many budding filmmakers find them a daunting prospect, and are tempted to leave sound to the last stages of post-production. This book, from award-winning Sound Designer Kahra Scott-James, encourages you to incorporate sound into your pre-production planning, to make the most of this powerful narrative tool. Adopting a specific framework in order to help demystify sound design for moving image, the book isn't designed as a sound engineering handbook, but as a guide for moving image content creators wanting to explore sound and collaborate with sound designers. Regardless of medium, the same, or similar concepts can be adopted, adapted, and applied to any project employing sound. Includes detailed and insightful interviews with leading sound designers, including Randy Thom, Director of Sound Design at Skywalker Sound, and Glenn Kiser, Director of the Dolby Institute, as well as practical projects to help you hone your skills using video and sound files available from the companion website - https-//bloomsbury.com/cw/sound-design-for-moving-image - making this is a complete sound course to take you from novice skills to confident practitioner.
Soundscape : the School of Sound lectures 1998 - 2001 by 
The Sound Effects Bible by
The Sound Effects Bible is a complete guide to recording and editing sound effects. The book covers topics such as microphone selection, field recorders, the ABCs of digital audio, understanding Digital Audio Workstations, building your own Foley stage, designing your own editing studio, and more.
Sound Design for Low and No Budget Films by
Don't let your indie film be sabotaged by bad sound! One of the weakest technical aspects of a low or no budget short or feature film is usually the sound, and in Sound Design for Low and No Budget Films, author Patrick Winters explains what filmmakers need to do to fix that. Learn how to improve the sound quality of your low budget film with specific tools and practices for achieving a better sound track, including detailed, step-by-step explanations of how to edit your production track, create a sound design, record and edit ADR, Foley and sound effects, music, and much more. Focusing on the essential details indie filmmakers need to know, Winters teaches you how to turn a thin and distracting sound track into one that makes your film shine. This practical guide offers: * In-depth focus on hands-on, step-by-step instruction for achieving great sound in post-production, including recording and editing sound effects, ADR and Foley--even without expensive equipment and software. * Techniques specifically designed for low and no budget projects, perfect for both students and aspiring indie filmmakers. * A simple and direct style that any aspiring filmmaker or student can understand without already knowing the industry jargon.
Practical Art of Motion Picture Sound by
Practical Art of Motion Picture Sound, 4th edition relies on the professional experience of the author and other top sound craftspeople to provide a comprehensive explanation of film sound, including mixing, dubbing, workflow, budgeting, and digital audio techniques. Practically grounded with real-world stories from the trenches throughout, the book also provides relevant technical data, as well as an appreciation of all the processes involved in creating optimal motion picture sound.