Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Penguin Book of Romantic Poetry (Print Copy) by The Romanticism that emerged after the American and French revolutions of 1776 and 1789 represented a new flowering of the imagination and the spirit, and a celebration of the soul of humanity with its capacity for love. This extraordinary collection sets the acknowledged genius of poems such as Blake's 'Tyger', Coleridge's 'Khubla Khan' and Shelley's 'Ozymandias' alongside verse from less familiar figures and women poets such as Charlotte Smith and Mary Robinson. We also see familiar poets in an unaccustomed light, as Blake, Wordsworth and Shelley demonstrate their comic skills, while Coleridge, Keats and Clare explore the Gothic and surreal.
Call Number: 821.708
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
Carol Ann Duffy (E-book) by In 2009 Carol Ann Duffy became the first female Poet Laureate to much public acclaim. This study looks at Duffy's work from her early development and involvement with the Liverpool poets in the 1970s, through to her most recent collection. It concentrates on the way in which Duffy develops heruse of the dramatic monologue and the love poem and traces her interest in surrealism and a tradition of European modernism. While acknowledging the importance of her popular appeal the book also makes a case for Duffy as a serious and important poet who engages with key issues of gender andidentity in innovative and important ways. Deryn Rees-Jones places Duffy at the forefront of a change in poetry in Britain, and sees her as a writer who both heralds and opens up the way for those writing after her.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Carol Ann Duffy. (Print copy) by In 2009 Carol Ann Duffy became the first female Poet Laureate to much public acclaim. This study looks at Duffy's work from her early development and involvement with the Liverpool poets in the 1970s, through to her most recent collection. It concentrates on the way in which Duffy develops heruse of the dramatic monologue and the love poem and traces her interest in surrealism and a tradition of European modernism. While acknowledging the importance of her popular appeal the book also makes a case for Duffy as a serious and important poet who engages with key issues of gender andidentity in innovative and important ways. Deryn Rees-Jones places Duffy at the forefront of a change in poetry in Britain, and sees her as a writer who both heralds and opens up the way for those writing after her.
Call Number: 821.914 REE
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Carol Ann Duffy : a poet for our times. (Print copy) by This is the only monograph to consider the entire thirty-year career, publications, and influence of Britain's first female poet laureate. It outlines her impact on trends in contemporary poetry and establishes what we mean by 'Duffyesque' concerns and techniques. Discussions of her writing and activities prove how she has championed the relevance of poetry to all areas of contemporary culture and to the life of every human being. Individual chapters discuss the lyrics of 'love, loss, and longing'; the socially motivated poems about the 1980s; the female-centred volumes and poems; the relationship between poetry and public life; and poetry and childhood and written for children. The book should whet the appetite of readers who know little of Duffy's work to find out more, while providing students and scholars with an in-depth analysis of the poems in their contexts. It draws on a wide range of critical works and includes an extensive list of further reading.
Call Number: 821.914
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
How to Read a Poem by Lucid, entertaining and full of insight, How To Read A Poemis designed to banish the intimidation that too often attends thesubject of poetry, and in doing so to bring it into the personalpossession of the students and the general reader. Offers a detailed examination of poetic form and its relationto content. Takes a wide range of poems from the Renaissance to the presentday and submits them to brilliantly illuminating closesanalysis. Discusses the work of major poets, including John Milton,Alexander Pope, John Keats, Christina Rossetti, Emily Dickinson,W.B. Yeats, Robert Frost, W.H.Auden, Seamus Heaney, Derek Mahon,and many more. Includes a helpful glossary of poetic terms.
Call Number: 808.1 EAG
Publication Date: 2006-10-20
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
The Cambridge Companion to British Romantic Poetry (Print Copy) by More than any other period of British literature, Romanticism is strongly identified with a single genre. Romantic poetry has been one of the most enduring, best loved, most widely read and most frequently studied genres for two centuries and remains no less so today. This Companion offers a comprehensive overview and interpretation of the poetry of the period in its literary and historical contexts. The essays consider its metrical, formal, and linguistic features; its relation to history; its influence on other genres; its reflections of empire and nationalism, both within and outside the British Isles; and the various implications of oral transmission and the rapid expansion of print culture and mass readership. Attention is given to the work of less well-known or recently rediscovered authors, alongside the achievements of some of the greatest poets in the English language: Wordsworth, Coleridge, Blake, Scott, Burns, Keats, Shelley, Byron and Clare.
Call Number: 821.7
Publication Date: 2008-09-04
Reading Poetry 2nd edn.(Print Copy) by Reading Poetry offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to the art of reading poetry. Successive chapters introduce key skills and critical or theoretical issues, enabling users to read poetry with enjoyment, insight and an awareness of the implications of what they are doing. This new edition includes a new chapter on 'Post-colonial Poetry', a substantial increase in the number of end-of-chapter interactive exercises, and a comprehensive Glossary of poetic terms. Not just an add-on, the Glossary works as a key resource for the structuring of particular topics in any individual teaching or learning programme. Many of the exercises and interactive discussions develop not only the skills of competent close reading but also the necessary confidence and experience in locating historical and other contextual information through library or internet searches. The aim is to enhance readers' literary and scholarly competence - and to make it fun!
Call Number: 821.007
Publication Date: 2007-06-28
Metre, Rhythm and Verse Form (Print Copy) by Poetry criticism is a subject central to the study of literature. However, it is laden with technical terms that, to the beginning student, can be both intimidating and confusing. Philip Hobsbaum provides a welcome remedy, illuminating terms ranging from the iambus to the bob-wheel stanza, and forms from the Spenserian sonnet to modern 'rap', with clarity and comprehensiveness. It is an essential guide through the terminology which will be invaluable reading for undergraduates new to the subject.
Call Number: 808.1
Publication Date: 1995-12-14
The Poetry Handbook 2nd edn.(Print Copy) by The Poetry Handbook is a lucid and entertaining guide to the poet's craft, and an invaluable introduction to practical criticism for students. Chapters on each element of poetry, from metre to gender, offer a wide-ranging general account, and end by looking at two or three poems from a smallgroup (including works by Donne, Elizabeth Bishop, Geoffrey Hill, and Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott), to build up sustained analytical readings.Thorough and compact, with notes and quotations supplemented by detailed reference to the Norton Anthology of Poetry and a companion website with texts, links, and further discussion, The Poetry Handbook is indispensable for all school and undergraduate students of English. A final chapteraddresses examinations of all kinds, and sample essays by undergraduates are posted on the website. Critical and scholarly terms are italicised and clearly explained, both in the text and in a complete glossary; the volume also includes suggestions for further reading.The first edition, widely praised by teachers and students, showed how the pleasures of poetry are heightened by rigorous understanding and made that understanding readily available. This second edition -- revised, expanded, updated, and supported by a new companion website - confirm The PoetryHandbook as the best guide to poetry available in English.
Call Number: 808.1
Publication Date: 2006-03-02
Mastering Practical Criticism (Print Copy) by Mastering Practical Criticism offers students of English Literature at advanced and degree levels a clear, well-explained guide to mastering the skills of critical appreciation. It starts with ways of unlocking meaning in literary texts and proceeds through each stage of the process to the final essay response. Students are given useful and practical advice on organising their material as they analyse the text, thus saving valuable time in examinations. This is a skills-based guide, offering plenty of thoroughly worked through examples, designed to build confidence and remove some of the anxiety that frequently accompanies unseen critical analysis.
Call Number: 801.95
Publication Date: 2006-07-14
Key Concepts in Romantic Literature (Print Copy) by Key Concepts in Romantic Literature is an accessible and easy-to-use scholarly guide to the literature, criticism and history of the culturally rich and politically turbulent Romantic era (1789-1832). The book offers a comprehensive and critically up-to-date account of the fascinating poetry, novels and drama which characterized the Romantic period alongside an historically-informed account of the important social, political and aesthetic contexts which shaped that body of writing. The epochal poetry of William Wordsworth, William Blake, Mary Robinson, S. T. Coleridge, Charlotte Smith, P. B. Shelley, Lord Byron, John Keats, Felicia Hemans and Letitia Elizabeth Landon; the drama of Joanna Baillie and Charles Robert Maturin; the novels of Jane Austen and Mary Shelley; all of these figures and many more are insightfully discussed here, together with clear and helpful accounts of the key contexts of the age's literature (including the French Revolution, slavery, industrialisation, empire and the rise of feminism) as well as accounts of perhaps less familiar aspects of late Georgian culture (such as visionary spirituality, atheism, gambling, fashion, music and sport). This is the broadest guide available to late eighteenth and early nineteenth-century British and Irish literature, history and culture.
Call Number: 820.9145
Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Studying Poetry 2nd edn. (Print Copy) by This engaging introduction to poetry covers the entire tradition of poetry in English, providing close readings of interesting and varied texts. In this updated second edition, coverage has been expanded to cover medieval poetry and to give more weight to literary theory and women poets, while a new chapter focuses on key contemporary poets.
Call Number: 821.009
Publication Date: 2006-08-24
The Invisible World (Print Copy) by .....wonderful powers of reading the text....students who want to get close to the poetry could still hardly do better'. Keith Hanley, Lancaster.'..newly published work by a major critic;...a necessary volume, one that should be in all university libraries.' Michael O'Neill, Durham.'The Invisible World' contains ten chapters on important aspects of Romantic Poetry. There are detailed assessments of the poetry of Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge and Keats with references to Shelley and Byron. Central 'Romantic' questions are addressed such as: What did Romanticism consist of? What was the Romantic Imagination? How did Wordsworth engage with the French Revolution? How did Wordsworth engage with women? What was the importance of Ossian and Burns? How does an eccentric writer like Blake fit into 'Romanticism'? What do the great Romantic poets have in common? How far is Coleridge indebted to Cowper in 'Frost at Midnight' and how does his own poem aspire beyond the limits of Cowper's vision? What was the Excursion and why is it important? How is Wordsworth's poetry 'transformative'? What was particular about Keats's Imagination? How can Blake be said to have had the first theory of Imagination?
Call Number: 821.7
Publication Date: 2015-01-04
Braund, Susanna, 'We're here too, the ones.' A Study of Female Voices as Imagined by Margaret Atwood, Carol Ann Duffy, and Marguerite Yourcenar', Classicals Receptions Journal, 4, .2 (2012), 190-208
Roche-Jacques, Shelley 'Out of the forest I come : Lyric and dramatic tension in the World's Wife' in Language and Literature (2016) 25.4, 363-375