The Literature Review by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs.This second edition of Diana Ridley′s bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis. New to this edition are: Examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines A new chapter on conducting systematic reviews Increased guidance on evaluating the quality of online sources and online literature Enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues. Visit the Companion Website for The Literature ReviewThis book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from various academic disciplines.SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
The Mature Student's Guide to Writing by
Through its use of conversational and supportive tones, this popular guide puts readers at ease, assisting the transition to academic study. With clear explanations, summaries and exercises, it is an invaluable companion for the mature student. This third edition has much new content including a new chapter on writing a dissertation proposal.
The Undergraduate Research Handbook. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
A Student's Guide to Methodology by
The Third Edition of this hugely popular text provides students with straightforward principles and frameworks for understanding methodology. Peter Clough and Cathy Nutbrown are adept at making methodology meaningful for beginners and more advanced readers alike. Their book clearly demonstrates how methodology impacts upon every stage of the research process, and gives readers all of the tools that they need to understand it. New to this edition are the following: - new boxes and guidance on research ethics in every chapter - more international examples and perspectives - up to date coverage of online research methods - more examples from real students - a new companion website, featuring Powerpoint slides for lecturers The authors take an applied approach and every chapter contains a variety of practical examples from real research. Readers are encouraged to reflect on their own practice at every step, meaning that the book remains extremely relevant throughout. It will be invaluable for all students who are doing a dissertation or taking a research methods module in education, the social sciences, business and health.
How to Research by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
How to Research. 4th edn. (E-book) by
How to Research is a clear and accessible guide to the business of doing a research project. It systematically takes the reader through from the planning to the writing up and finishing off.
