Doing a Literature Search: a comprehensive guide for the social sciences. (Print copy) by
Doing a Literature Search provides a practical and comprehensive guide to searching the literature on any topic within the social sciences. The book will enable you to search the literature effectively, identifying useful books, articles, statistics and many other sources of information. Split into three parts, Doing a Literature Search takes you through the process step-by-step: Part 1 introduces the literature search, talking you through the organisation, planning and searching steps Part 2 explores literature types, giving you an overview of materials you can use and how to find them Part 3 takes you a step further, demonstrating advanced searching techniques along with using the internet. Whether you're looking to do a quick (indicative) literature search, or carry out a comprehensive search of literature, this handy guide gives you the tools and structure to undertake successful research. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Oscola: Oxford University Standard for citation of legal authorities. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
There are two golden rules for the citation of legal authorities. One is consistency. The other is consideration for the reader. Legal writing is more persuasive when the author refers to legal materials in a clear, consistent and familiar way. The Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities (OSCOLA) helps authors to achieve consistency in citing cases, legislation and secondary sources. And it helps authors to make life easier for their readers. OSCOLA is widely used by law schools and legal publishers both in the United Kingdom and abroad. This latest revision of OSCOLA (the fourth edition) is the first to be published in hard copy, and provides more detailed coverage of both primary and secondary legal sources. The editors are Donal Nolan and Sandra Meredith. Shortlisted for the Halsbury Legal Awards 2013 in the Award for Academic Contribution category.
Legal Skills. 7th edn. (Print copy) by
The best-selling legal skills textbook in the market, Legal Skills is the essential guide for law students, encompassing all the academic and practical skills in one manageable volume. It is an ideal text for students new to law, helping them make the transition from secondary education and giving them the skills they need to succeed from the beginning of their degree, through exams and assessments and into their future career. The first part covers 'Sources of Law' and includes information on finding and using legislation, ensuring an understanding of where the law comes from and how to use it. The second part covers 'Academic Legal Skills' and provides advice on general study and writing skills. This part also includes a section on referencing and avoiding plagiarism amongst a number of other chapters designed to help students through the different stages of the law degree. The third and final part is dedicated to 'Practical Legal Skills'; a section designed to help develop transferable skills in areas such as presentations and negotiations that will be highly valued by future employers. The text contains many useful features designed to support a truly practical and self-reflective approach to legal skills including self-test questions, diagrams and practical activities. Students are given the opportunity to take a 'hands on' approach to tackling a variety of legal skills from using cases to negotiation. Each skill is firmly set in its wider academic and professional context to encourage an integrated approach to the learning of legal skills. Online resources : -For lecturers, a bank of multiple choice questions and diagrams from the book -For students, answers to the self-test questions and practical exercises from the book and a glossary of all the keywords and terms used within the text. There is also an extensive range of videos with guidance on topics from what to expect from lectures and tutorials, how to research for essays and structure problem questions, to examples of good and bad practice in mooting and negotiations.
The Undergraduate Research Handbook. 2nd edn. (Print copy) by
This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas.
The Mature Student's Guide to Writing. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by
Through its use of conversational and supportive tones, this popular guide puts readers at ease, assisting the transition to academic study. With clear explanations, summaries and exercises, it is an invaluable companion for the mature student. This third edition has much new content including a new chapter on writing a dissertation proposal.
Effective legal research (Print copy) by 
Writing Law Dissertations: an introduction and guide to the conduct of legal research. (Print copy) by
This book covers legal dissertation level research, embracing both LL.B. and the specific demands of LL.M. dissertations. Adopting a highly practical approach, this book shows the reader how to research and write a dissertation, covering the various stages - planning, identifying key issues, utilising the appropriate research methods, time management issues, and managing one's supervision. KEY FEATURES * Shows how to avoid common stylistic and substantive pitfalls * Discusses the character and pros and cons of adopting law and policy methods for defining the issues and conducting legal research - including black letter, socio-legal, interpretive, experiential * A running example throughout the text illustrates the various points made in each section and provides continuity
Dissertations and Project Reports: a step by step guide. (Print copy) by
Faced with your dissertation or major project and need some help getting started? Thinking about how your final project will affect your overall grades? Then read on. Tapping into her tried and tested formula for learning, bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: - Offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports - Gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills - Gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to your subject guide.
