Welcome
Welcome to your Computing Fundamentals reading list. Here you will find your essential and recommended books, as well as other resources to support you during this module.
Essential Reading (to purchase)
There are no essential titles for this module.
Recommended Reading
Cisco IOS in a Nutshell by
Cisco routers are everywhere that networks are. They come in all sizes, from inexpensive units for homes and small offices to equipment costing well over $100,000 and capable of routing at gigabit speeds. A fixture in today's networks, Cisco claims roughly 70% of the router market, producing high-end switches, hubs, and other network hardware. One unifying thread runs through the product line: virtually all of Cisco's products run the Internetwork Operating System, or IOS. If you work with Cisco routers, it's likely that you deal with Cisco's IOS software--an extremely powerful and complex operating system, with an equally complex configuration language. With a cryptic command-line interface and thousands of commands--some of which mean different things in different situations--it doesn't have a reputation for being user-friendly. Fortunately, there's help. This second edition of Cisco IOS in a Nutshell consolidates the most important commands and features of IOS into a single, well-organized volume that you'll find refreshingly user-friendly. This handy, two-part reference covers IOS configuration for the TCP/IP protocol family. The first section includes chapters on the user interface, configuring lines and interfaces, access lists, routing protocols, and dial-on-demand routing and security. A brief, example-filled tutorial shows you how to accomplish common tasks. The second part is a classic O'Reilly quick reference to all the commands for working with TCP/IP and the lower-level protocols on which it relies. Brief descriptions and lists of options help you zero in on the commands you for the task at hand. Updated to cover Cisco IOS Software Major Release 12.3, this second edition includes lots of examples of the most common configuration steps for the routers themselves. It's a timely guide that any network administrator will come to rely on.
Call Number: 004.62 BON + eBooksISBN: 0596008694Publication Date: 2005
Understanding Computer Science for Advanced Level by
This is a revised edition which includes coverage on the influence and power of the Internet, the inclusion of JavaScript, Java, VBA and Visual Basic languages; extended business, scientific and real-time applications chapters; inclusion of the latest hardware in the input, output and storage chapters; an introductory chapter on syllabus and course requirements for Computer Science; concept checkpoints, hints and did you know sections; revision summaries and exercise and question sections.
Call Number: 004 BRAISBN: 0748740465Publication Date: 2014
CCNA Routing and Switching Study Guide by
Prepare for the new CCNA exams with this Todd Lammle study guide Cisco author, speaker, and trainer Todd Lammle is considered the authority on all things networking, and his books have sold almost a million copies worldwide. This all-purpose CCNA study guide methodically covers all the objectives of the ICND1 (100-101) and ICND2 (200-101) exams as well as providing additional insight for those taking CCNA Composite (200-120) exam. It thoroughly examines operation of IP data networks, LAN switching technologies, IP addressing (IPv4/IPv6), IP routing technologies, IP services, network device security, troubleshooting, and WAN technologies. Valuable study tools such as a companion test engine that includes hundreds of sample questions, a pre-assessment test, and multiple practice exams. Plus, you′ll also get access to hundreds of electronic flashcards, author files, and a network simulator. CCNA candidates may choose to take either the ICND1(100-101) and ICND2 (200-101) exams or the CCNA Composite exam (200-120); this study guide covers the full objectives of all three Written by bestselling Sybex study guide author Todd Lammle, an acknowledged authority on all things Cisco Covers essential Cisco networking topics such as operating an IP data network, IP addressing, switching and routing technologies, troubleshooting, network device security, and much more Includes a comprehensive set of study tools including practice exams, electronic flashcards, comprehensive glossary of key terms, videos, and a network simulator that can be used with the book s hands-on labs Bonus Content: Access to over 40 MicroNugget videos from CBT Nuggets CCNA Routing and Switching Study Guide prepares you for CCNA certification success.
Call Number: 004.66076 LAM + eBookISBN: 9781118749616Publication Date: 2013
Computer Systems Architecture by
This practical and informative publication has been designed for students on introductory computer architecture courses as part of a computer science related degree. Different institutions take a different view of what range of hardware or architectural issues should be covered in the first year of a degree course, but it is a topic area included in most courses. These courses and modules have a variety of titles including: Computer Architecture, Computer Systems, Computer Platforms and Computing Machines. The book is a clear and concise introduction to the subject, and will help students get to grips with difficult concepts, and understand how they are likely to be assessed. Key features include: learning outcomes for each chapter; explanations of key concepts; advice on exams and assessments; tips on common mistakes and how to avoid them.
Call Number: 004.65 NEWISBN: 1904995098Publication Date: 2008
Computer Organization and Design by
The new ARM Edition of Computer Organization and Design features a subset of the ARMv8-A architecture, which is used to present the fundamentals of hardware technologies, assembly language, computer arithmetic, pipelining, memory hierarchies, and I/O. With the post-PC era now upon us, Computer Organization and Design moves forward to explore this generational change with examples, exercises, and material highlighting the emergence of mobile computing and the Cloud. Updated content featuring tablet computers, Cloud infrastructure, and the ARM (mobile computing devices) and x86 (cloud computing) architectures is included. An online companion Web site provides links to a free version of the DS-5 Community Edition (a free professional quality tool chain developed by ARM), as well as additional advanced content for further study, appendices, glossary, references, and recommended reading.
Call Number: 004.21 PAT + eBooksISBN: 9780128017333Publication Date: 2016
