Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Management and Managing: an Introduction reading list. Here you will find your essential and recommended books, as well as other resources to support you during this module.
Call Number: 658 DAF
Publication Date: 2016
Management Concepts and Practices 5th edn. by Management provides students with a thorough explanation and exploration of management concepts and practices across all management functions. The major theme of the book is management at a time of change, reflecting the challenges faced by managers with increasingly rapid developments in technology, the culture and environment in which they work and the globalisation of ideas and business activity. Written in a straightforward style, the book contains chapters contributed by experts in their field to ensure coverage of the most recent ideas and practices. It is suitable for students studying business or management in further or higher education and introductory management modules for non-specialists
Call Number: 658 HAN
Publication Date: 2008
Business Ethics by NEW EDITION, REVISED AND UPDATED This is a pragmatic, hands-on, up-to-date guide to determining right and wrong in the business world. Joseph Weiss integrates a stakeholder perspective with an issues-oriented approach so students look at how a business?s actions affect not just share price and profit but the well-being of employees, customers, suppliers, the local community, the larger society, other nations, and the environment. Weiss uses a wealth of contemporary examples, including twenty-three customized cases that immerse students directly in recent business ethics dilemmas and ask them to consider how they would resolve them. The recent economic collapse raised ethical issues that have yet to be resolved-there could not be a better time for a fully updated edition of Weiss?s classic, accessible blend of theory and practice. New to the Sixth Edition! New Cases!Fourteen of the twenty-three cases in this book are brand new to this edition. They touch on issues such as cyberbullying, fracking, neuromarketing, and for-profit education and involve institutions like Goldman Sachs, Google, Kaiser Permanente, Walmart, Ford, and Facebook. Updated Throughout! The text has been updated with the latest research, including new national ethics survey data, perspectives on generational differences, and global and international issues. Each chapter includes recent business press stories touching on ethical issues. New Feature!Several chapters now feature a unique Point/Counterpoint exercise that challenges students to argue both sides of a contemporary issue, such as too-big-to-fail institutions, the Boston bomber Rolling Stonecover, student loan debt, online file sharing, and questions raised by social media.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Management by This brand new textbook covers all of the core topics found on Introduction to Management modules, and the author's clear, accessible writing style guides students through the world of management. The book also goes a step further to enourage students to develop a critical mindset and thinkabout academic debates around the subject. Innovative Skillsets linked to each substantive chapter integrate practical skills with the topics. Skills such as time management, critical analysis, referencing, personal development planning and reviewing literature are included. Clear, step-by-step guidance helps students develop each skill,understand why it is important, and see how the topic is relevant to practical applications in the real world of business.A truly international range of case studies broadens students' horizons and encourages them to look beyond the standard examples from the UK and America. Emerging markets are becoming ever more important in the rapidly changing business environment, a fact reflected by the inclusion of case studiesfrom the Middle East, Latin America and Africa. An Online Resource Centre accompanies the textbook, and includes:For students:* Audio podcasts with the practitioners featured in the textbook.* Multiple choice questions* Suggested answers for the exercises and discussion points.* Flashcard glossary.* Web links.For registered adopters:* Test Bank of exercises.* Library of video links, with teaching notes and cross-references to the textbook.* Fully integrated and customisable PowerPoint slides.* Author blog for up to date news stories on relevant topics.
Call Number: 658 COM
Publication Date: 2014-06-24
Key Management Ideas by "The only thing worse than slavishly following management theory is ignoring it completely" -The Economist "If you are short of reading time and want to become ridiculously well-informed in a single sitting about any management fad for the last 15 years, this is the book for you" -Business Age It¿s back! and better than ever. New management ideas are springing up all the time, propagated by new gurus, adopted by consultancies, and promoted through hundreds of business books. But how do managers find time to read every new theory? How do they distinguish important ideas from pure sales hype? They read one book instead of hundreds. Key Management Ideas cuts through the padding and jargon to give concise summaries of the most important contemporary management ideas. It puts the ideas that changed the management world into the hands of those who need to implement them. Stuart Crainer provides an educated and unbiased opinion of the worth of each concept and discusses the benefits and pitfalls of applying them. New for this edition: an expanded chapter on global management a new chapter on stakeholding and corporate responsibility a scaled down section on re-engineering a revised Chapter 8 focusing on knowledge management, intellectual capital and organisational learning analysis of c. 20 new theories introduction of several more management gurus. Author : Stuart Crainer is an expert on business books and business schools. He is an experienced journalist and author whose previous titles include: FT Handbook of Management, The Future of Leadership and The Ultimate Business Library.
Call Number: 658.4093 CRA
Publication Date: 1998-10-15
IBISWorld are the global leading provider of industry & market sector research and analysis. With instant access to 450 regularly updated UK industry reports, students have instant data they can refer to on any area of the UK market. IBISWorld reports incorporate SWOT and PESTLE analysis as well as Porter’s 5 forces so it’s a fantastic reference points for assignments and dissertations.