Reflective Writing by
Packed with practical advice, this concise guide explains what reflective writing is and how to approach it. It equips students with all the key information and strategies they need to develop an appropriate reflective writing style, whatever their subject area. Annotated examples from a range of disciplines and contexts show students how to put these tips into practice. It concludes with a section on applying reflective practices to personal development and career planning. This handy guide is an indispensable resource for students of all disciplines and levels, who are required to develop and demonstrate reflective qualities in their work. It will be particularly useful to students writing reflective logs on placements.
Skills for Success by
Whatever stage your students are at, it's never too soon for them to be thinking about their future. Competition for jobs is fierce, and having a degree is no longer enough. This indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and develop the skills and capabilities required by today's employers. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. This versatile resource is ideal for students on personal development modules from foundation through to postgraduate level. It can also be used independently by students from all disciplines.
How to use your degree to secure a job by 
Developing Employability for Business by
Employability is central to all university study; in an increasingly competitive graduate job market students enter Higher Education with their eyes already fixed on securing a job - their final destination.Written specifically for students, Developing Employability is an outstanding guide to the skills involved in job-hunting and entering the workplace. Straightforward, practical, and accessible, it allows students to develop, experience, and refine the techniques that will help them stand out fromthe crowd as they look forward to their future careers.Students are encouraged to engage and progress through the book; reflecting on their own skills and opportunities, and building up a wealth of practical expertise as they prepare to embark on the world of graduate employment for the first time. Developing Employability is not merely focused onstudents finding a job, but succeeding at work and moving on in their careers.A "project" woven throughout the book invites students to participate in practical, active learning; this step-by-step guide leads students through creating their own resources, such as personal development plans, e-portfolios, learning logs and CVs ensuring they are well prepared for the world ofwork. A breadth of invaluable employability skills can be acquired alongside, and aided by, academic study as Developing Employability covers entrepreneurship, social media and non-traditional routes into work, alongside conventional graduate employers.Developing Employability 1/e is supported by an extensive Online Resource Centre, featuring:Student resources:* Skills audit form* Examples of online application form questions* Targeted web links* Audio podcasts with practitioners, students and graduatesLecturer resources:* Brief notes guiding lecturers on how to run the project* Tutorial activities for those who are not running the project* Notes on how to guide students in their own skills audit
Cite Them Right by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Developing Employability and Enterprise by
Developing Employability and Enterprise shows how to help others develop the behaviours and attributes needed to thrive in the modern workplace. It offers coaches, career advisors and educators a complete guide to what employability looks like in the 21st century, both for new entrants to the world of work and those finding themselves in situations where they need to secure a new job or even career. The book shows how employability can be measured and how skills and attributes such as resilience, confidence, motivation, dealing with others, overcoming challenges and entrepreneurship can be developed through coaching and mentoring. Supported by the latest research from academia, government bodies, and practitioners, Developing Employability and Enterprise brings together some of the most influential thinkers around the world to offer a new approach to career management that looks beyond simply offering advice on résumés and CVs, job applications, job searches and interviews. It offers practical guidance on what attributes to develop and tools for how to do this including assessment options, sample exercises, notes on how to use the concepts in practice and global case studies.
Writing a Report by
Now in its 8th edition, this extensively revised and updatedhandbook explains how you can write reports that will be: A* Read without unnecessary delayA* Understood without undue effortA* Accepted, and where applicable, acted upon. Divided into three parts, the book looks in detail firstly at thepractical side of report writing, secondly at the creative side of report writing and thirdly at common types of report. There is also an extensive glossary and a selection of sample reports
Where's Your Argument? by
From first steps to final submission, this accessible guide takes students through each stage of the assignment-writing process and equips them with the skills they need to construct and develop convincing academic arguments. Concise and compact, it offers practical advice on forming ideas, structuring arguments and finding your academic voice. The authors, both of whom are experienced in working directly with students, also provide valuable guidance on a number of important subtleties in academic writing, including expressing reservations or enthusiasm in academic writing and using evidence to convey different viewpoints. Applicable to different types of assignment, this is an essential resource for all undergraduates and postgraduates who are looking to communicate their arguments effectively and improve the quality of their academic writing.
Critical thinking skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Reading, Writing and Reasoning by
Many students find the 'step up' from school or college work to university study a challenge. The same is frequently true for those returning to study after time spent in the workplace. If you find yourself in either of these situations then this is the book for you. Straightforward and sympathetic, this accessible handbook will help you to develop the essential skills in three of the core aspects of university study: reading, writing and reasoning.
Drawing on a wealth of experience of working with students in a variety of settings, Gavin Fairbairn and Christopher Winch have completely revised and updated this best selling text. It is packed with practical advice, examples and exercises that will be invaluable for all students and assist in developing effective reading practices, high quality academic writing and critical thinking skills.
The new edition contains:
Expanded coverage on plagiarism and how to avoid it
Additional guidance on structuring writing
Suggestions for overcoming writer's block
Tasks designed to reflect on key issues and practice skills
Guidance for tutors on how to help students
Report Writing by
Practical and concise, this is the essential guide to writing effective reports. It shows students how to tailor report structures and conventions to different audiences and purposes and how to manage changes in format and requirements, so that they have the tools and understanding to write reports with confidence. It includes real-life examples of student reports to illustrate the features of good report writing, and a comprehensive checklist to keep students on track. This is an invaluable resource for students of all levels who are required to write reports as part of their course.
Getting Critical by
This concise, no-nonsense guide shows students how to adopt a critical approach in order to unlock their academic potential. It explains why students need to be critical and provides practical advice on how they can integrate critical analysis into their research, reading and writing. Each succinct chapter is visually engaging and informative, and gives students the support they need to succeed in applying critical thinking to their work. It is an invaluable resource for all students who are required to write essays, reports and other pieces of extended writing as part of their course. It is also an ideal text to be used in conjunction with study skills programmes and critical thinking modules at HE and FE level.
The Interview Question and Answer Book by 
The Cover Letter Book: How to Write a Winning Cover Letter That Really Gets Noticed by 
