Access EAP by
This is an integrated EAP language and skills course for intermediate learners.
Academic Writing: a handbook for international students by
Most international students need to write essays and reports for exams and coursework. Yet writing good academic English is a demanding task. This new edition of Academic Writing has been fully revised to help students reach this goal. Clearly organised, the course explains the writing process from start to finish. Each stage is demonstrated and practised, from selecting suitable sources, reading, note-making and planning through to re-writing and proofreading. The book is divided into short sections which contain examples, explanations and exercises for use in the classroom or self-study. Cross-references allow easy access to relevant sections, and a full answer key is included. The 3rd edition has been developed in response to suggestions from both students and teachers. Featuring a new website, there is increased coverage of plagiarism, argument, cause and effect, comparison, definitions and academic style. Different forms of writing, including reports and literature reviews, are also covered. All international students wanting to maximise their academic potential will find this easy-to-use, practical book a valuable guide to writing in English for their degree courses. You can follow Stephen's blog at the following address: http: //academicwrite.blogspot.co.uk/
Oxford EAP by
Oxford EAP Upper-Intermediate is suitable for CEFR B2.Oxford EAP develops the essential skills and academic language for learners who are preparing to study English at university level, from foundation courses to postgraduate research.The course integrates the four main skills and academic language, and features authentic texts from academic and higher education books published by Oxford University Press. Oxford EAP also provides practical help in developing essential skills for academic study, such as critical thinking, effective note-taking, citation and referencing, summarising and paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism. Learners are encouraged to study independently, and to apply the course content to their chosen discipline.The accompanying DVD-ROM contains both video and audio content, including extracts from lectures, student presentations, and seminar discussions.Oxford EAP is accompanied by a Teacher's Handbook with extensive methodology notes, ideas for additional activities, and full answers to all tasks.Oxford Grammar for EAP is ideal for use with the Oxford EAP series.
Academic Writing for International Students of Business by 
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by
Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over twenty years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates.
The Business Student's Phrase Book by
This compact phrase book of key business terminology is an invaluable resource for students who want to communicate their ideas, arguments and analyses with greater clarity and precision. Divided into thirty bite-size sections, users can quickly and easily find the topic they need when preparing and writing essays, reports and case studies. Each section contains three parts: words in action, taken from real academic writing; information to help you readers use these words correctly; and 'nearly but not quite right' examples from real students' work. This is an essential companion for students studying both undergraduate and postgraduate courses in business and management, and is suitable for use at any stage of their studies. It is also ideal for those studying related disciplines, including business management, administration, HR, finance, systems analysis, project management, business law and corporate governance.
Improve Your Grammar by
An accessible study and practice book for students attending or planning to attend university or college, covering in detail all the areas where grammatical mistakes are typically made. Using realistic academic contexts, each unit explains the key grammar in a clear and lively way, and then checks understanding with easy-to-use practice exercises that build the user's confidence
Professional Writing by
Now in its fourth edition, this is a comprehensive yet concise introduction to professional writing for different media, which synthesises methods and ideas developed in journalism, public relations, management and marketing. Based on research in the field, it equips students with the ability to convey their ideas in a wealth of print and digital formats, in a variety of professional contexts internationally. It begins by examining the different aspects of the writing process before showing students how to adjust their style, tone and approach for different documents, including short memos, feature articles, press releases and reports. This new edition will continue to be an essential companion for undergraduates on professional writing and business communication modules. It will also be a valuable source of guidance for new professionals and entrepreneurs needing to get to grips with writing formal written documents.
Cite Them Right by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Writing a Report : How to Prepare, Write & Present really effective reports by
Now in its 9th edition, this extensively revised and updated handbook explains how you can write reports that will be: * Read without unnecessary delay * Understood without undue effort Accepted, and where applicable, acted upon / Divided into three parts, the book looks in detail firstly at the practical side of report writing: * Preparation and planning * Collecting and handling information * Writing and revising / Secondly, at the creative side of report writing: * Achieving a good style and choosing the correct words * Improving the overall appearance of reports / And thirdly at 23 common types of report, including: * Annual reports/ Appraisal reports * Audit reports Minutes/Progress reports * Student project reports/Technical reports / There is also an extensive glossary and a selection of sample reports
Where's Your Argument? by
From first steps to final submission, this accessible guide takes students through each stage of the assignment-writing process and equips them with the skills they need to construct and develop convincing academic arguments. Concise and compact, it offers practical advice on forming ideas, structuring arguments and finding your academic voice. The authors, both of whom are experienced in working directly with students, also provide valuable guidance on a number of important subtleties in academic writing, including expressing reservations or enthusiasm in academic writing and using evidence to convey different viewpoints. Applicable to different types of assignment, this is an essential resource for all undergraduates and postgraduates who are looking to communicate their arguments effectively and improve the quality of their academic writing.
Critical thinking skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Oxford EAP : a course in English for academic purposes by
A brand new EAP course from Oxford offering an integrated approach to teaching English for Academic Purposes and authentic texts from Oxford textbooks.Oxford EAP develops the essential skills and academic language for learners who are preparing to study in English at university level, from foundation courses to postgraduate research.With authentic content from Oxford textbooks and videos of lecture extracts, Oxford EAP is an ideal course for learners from a wide range of disciplines. Its clear structure and user-friendly approach make it an ideal resource for experienced EAP tutors as well as teachers who are starting out inthe field.
Reading, Writing and Reasoning by
Many students find the 'step up' from school or college work to university study a challenge. The same is frequently true for those returning to study after time spent in the workplace. If you find yourself in either of these situations then this is the book for you. Straightforward and sympathetic, this accessible handbook will help you to develop the essential skills in three of the core aspects of university study: reading, writing and reasoning.
Drawing on a wealth of experience of working with students in a variety of settings, Gavin Fairbairn and Christopher Winch have completely revised and updated this best selling text. It is packed with practical advice, examples and exercises that will be invaluable for all students and assist in developing effective reading practices, high quality academic writing and critical thinking skills.
The new edition contains:
Expanded coverage on plagiarism and how to avoid it
Additional guidance on structuring writing
Suggestions for overcoming writer's block
Tasks designed to reflect on key issues and practice skills
Guidance for tutors on how to help students
The Student Phrase Book by
This concise phrase book is an essential tool for all students who want to communicate their ideas, arguments and evaluations clearly and precisely. Featuring over a thousand words common to most academic disciplines, it will help students to expand their vocabulary, understand how these words are used and spot mistakes in their own academic writing. Chapters present the words in full sentences, enabling users to see exactly how they are used, and also include additional information on context, connotation and collocations. This is an ideal reference guide for students of all disciplines and levels who are required to complete written assignments as part of their course. It is also a valuable resource for students looking to fine tune their vocabulary for job searches, interviews and writing for professional purposes.
How to Write Better Essays by
This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence. Students will develop their ability to analyse complex concepts, evaluate and critically engage with arguments, communicate their ideas clearly and concisely and generate more ideas of their own. Chapters are short and succinct and cover topics such as reading purposefully, note-taking, essay writing in exams and avoiding plagiarism. Packed with practical activities and handy hints which students can apply to their own writing, this is an ideal resource for students looking to improve the quality and clarity of their academic writing. This book will be a source of guidance and inspiration for students of all disciplines and levels who need to write essays as part of their course.
Report Writing by
Practical and concise, this is the essential guide to writing effective reports. It shows students how to tailor report structures and conventions to different audiences and purposes and how to manage changes in format and requirements, so that they have the tools and understanding to write reports with confidence. It includes real-life examples of student reports to illustrate the features of good report writing, and a comprehensive checklist to keep students on track. This is an invaluable resource for students of all levels who are required to write reports as part of their course.