Skip to Main Content

Finding Information: Specialist Resources

Introduction to Specialist Resources

In addition to books and journal articles, we provide access to a variety of specialized resources that could be valuable for your subject area. These resources can be explored through the A-Z of Databases, which offers a comprehensive list of available databases and resources.

The A-Z of Databases includes not only traditional journal content but also more specialized sources of information. For example, you can find databases that focus on legal or business information, providing access to relevant legal cases, regulations, market research, financial data, and more. Additionally, libraries may offer resources like anatomical models or other unique tools that cater to specific subject areas.

By exploring the A-Z of Databases, you can discover these specialized resources that go beyond traditional books and journal articles. These resources can enhance your research, provide access to niche information, and support your subject-specific needs.

Specialist Resources

Newspapers

Newspapers are an important and often untapped resource available to use in your academic work. 

Newspapers are useful because they provide a variety of information such as:

  • In-depth coverage of particular countries and cities
  • Activities of regional and local governments
  • Obituaries and other biographical information (especially in archived newspapers)
  • Eyewitness accounts of events
  • Editorial analysis of news and events
  • Accounts of historical and current events

Browse our newspaper collection from the links below:

Audio-Visual

Audio-visual content refers to materials like videos, films, documentaries, TV shows, and educational programs that combine both audio and visual elements. By using audio-visual content, you can better understand difficult concepts, stay engaged and interested in your studies, and see how academic ideas apply to real-life situations. It's a way to make learning more enjoyable and practical. 

You can access all our audio-visual content via Discovery. Simply follow the below steps:  

  1. Type your search terms into the Discovery search box; you can use appropriate keywords, the title of a film, or name of a director.  
  2. To filter resources by format, utilise the left-hand pane to select the “Video” checkbox. Please note that this checkbox may not appear if your keywords do not apply to any of the audio-visual content in our collection – try another keyword or phrase. 
  3. To borrow a DVD, follow the guidance available here.  
  4. To access online content, click the blue “View now” button. 
  5. On the subsequent page, click the blue “Sign in” button and type “University of Suffolk” into the search bar. Click go.  
  6. You will be prompted to authenticate with your standard University of Suffolk credentials (S number and password).  

Can’t find what you’re looking for?  

Why not try searching directly on Box of Broadcasts (BoB)? 

BoB is an online streaming and archive service for UK educational institutions. It provides access to an extensive collection of television and radio programs from over 65 channels, including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, and more. BoB allows users to search for specific programs or browse through a wide range of categories, such as documentaries, drama, news, and educational content. 

You should now be able to search the BoB catalogue or browse by category.

Dissertation and Theses

A thesis can be a valuable source of information, particularly if it is original research or a unique perspective on your topic. When it comes to using a thesis as a source in academic work, it's important to consider the quality and relevance of the thesis to your research question or topic. For more on how to evaluate and select your sources take a look at our section on Selecting your Sources. 

University of Suffolk Dissertations 

To find high-quality (2:1 or above) undergraduate dissertations from the University of Suffolk, navigate to the A-Z of Databases and click "D" for "Dissertations". To find dissertations in your subject discipline, either browse through the results or type a keyword alongside "Suffolk Dissertations" in the search bar. 

UK Theses

UK theses are often made available through the British Library's EThOS service.

You can create an EThOS account which will allow you to download selected theses. You can also search the whole EThOS collection and, if no download is available, request the thesis through our Resource Request service. 

You can also search for dissertations published in the UK and Ireland on ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, using the "University/Institution Location" filter on the right-hand side of the screen. You may also wish to search individual institutions’ research repositories. 

International Theses

For theses outside the UK you can try the following resources:

North American institutions often have their own online repositories which can be found and searched via their websites.

Subject-Specific 

For subject-specific resources:

  1. Navigate to the A-Z of Databases
  2. Use the subject drop-down in the upper-left corner of the screen to select your subject 
  3. Browse the resources recommended for your discipline!

Alternatively, consult your Subject Guide here.