Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Promoting Normal Midwifery reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Essential Reading M-Z
Oxford Handbook of Midwifery, 3rd ed. by Now in its third edition the Oxford Handbook of Midwifery continues to be the essential one-stop guide to the key principles of the care and management of pregnancy, birth and beyond. Concise yet comprehensive, with its recognisable and easy-to-use Oxford Handbook format, midwives will find this a treasure trove of clear, practical guidance. Whether you are a student needing a helping hand through the subject, or an experienced practitioner needing torefresh your knowledge in an emergency, you can be sure that this handbook will be there for you. Written by experienced midwives, and following the latest guidelines and key care protocols,this is handbook is up-to-date and authoritative, with sections on sexual health, contraception, neonatal care and infant feeding. Each chapter includes assessment, diagnosis and management of care with treatment interventions. Now including new information on initiation of breast feeding with biological nurturing as well as a highlighted section on how to manage obstetric emergencies. Important psychosocial care issues are also addressed. This edition provides concise, practical andaccessible information in a logical sequence, as the layout follows the woman's journey through pregnancy, birth and early motherhood.
Call Number: 618.2 MED + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Call Number: 612.64 MIT + eBook
Publication Date: 2009/2012
Physiology in Childbearing by The new edition of Physiology in Childbearing with Anatomy and Related Biosciences continues to offer readers with a sound introduction to human biology as it relates to pregnancy and childbirth. The new edition retains the online question bank with downloadable image collection and is suitable for midwives - whether qualified or in training - throughout the world. Straightforward writing style helps demystify a challenging subject area Applies theory to practice to show how a knowledge of the biological sciences can enhance the care given to mothers and babies Designed to facilitate early recognition of pathology to help prevent morbidity and mortality Ideal introduction to basic biochemistry, cellular biology and genetics for those who have no prior knowledge of the subject areas Chapters on embryology help explain the occurrence of neonatal pathology A 'body systems approach' - including embryological development - enables an understanding of the physiological and pathophysiological changes that occur during pregnancy Clear diagrams allow an understanding of the complex three-dimensional concepts seen in biology Helpful pedagogy such as 'Main Points' boxes at the end of each chapter act as useful aide-memoires Enhances the safety of mothers and babies, both in the developed world and those countries where the provision of adequate care remains limited Revised contributor team provides an international perspective Updated design presents shorter sections of information with concise summaries of 'key points' and easy to interpret figures and tables
Call Number: 618.2 STA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Neonatal Care by
Call Number: 618.9201 WIL
Publication Date: 2008