It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search Guide for Nursing and Health Sciences: Database Searching
There is currently an issue logging in to personal EBSCOHost accounts through the log-in button at the top of the CINAHL screen. Instructions on the workaround are here: https://vimeo.com/681914476/06d713b108
The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content.
From Proquest, the UK nursing and midwifery database, covering over 270 UK journals and other English language titles, including international nursing and midwifery journals, as well as selective content from medical, allied health and management titles
Proquest Family Health database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines
Proquest. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics
(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) contains over 12 million journal citations and abstracts with authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.
Proquest provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
Finding full-text journal articles
If you find a journal article citation with no direct link to full-text, try the following:
Cinahl articles- display the citation and check the end for a DOI link at the end of the citation.
Proquest articles - use the links provided to navigate to the article in another database.
Copy and paste the article title into Discovery to check across all university collections.
Copy and paste the article title into Google- it may be freely available on the web as an open access article.
REQUEST FORM L5, L6 and L7 students can a journal article if full-text cannot be found from any of the above sources. Books can also be requested.
Medline is useful for finding articles about medical topics. Search topic: Infection control in the operating theatre
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new window(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) contains over 12 million journal citations and abstracts with authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.
Proquest search example
Nursing & Allied Health is one of several Proquest databases along with British Nursing Database and Psychology Database. They all look and work exactly the same. Search topic:The effect of smoking cessation on dietary habits