Events Project Management by
This book provides events management students with an accessible and essential introduction to project management. Written by both academics and industry experts, Events Project Management offers a unique blend of theory and practice to encourage and contextualise project management requirements within events settings. Key questions include: What is project management? How does it connect to events management? What is effective project management within the events sector? How does academic theory connect to practice? The book is coherently structured into 12 chapters covering crucial event management topics such as stakeholders, supply chain management, project management tools and techniques, and financial and legal issues. Guides, templates, case study examples, industry tips and activity tasks are integrated in the text and online to show practice and aid knowledge. Written in an engaging style, this text offers the reader a thorough understanding of how to successfully project manage an event from the creative idea to the concrete product. It is essential reading for all events management students. derstanding of how to successfully project manage an event from the creative idea to the concrete product. It is essential reading for all events management students.
Project Management by
The bestselling project management text for students and professionals--now updated and expanded This Eleventh Edition of the bestselling "bible" of project management maintains the streamlined approach of the prior editions and moves the content even closer to PMI®'s Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®). New content has been added to this edition on measuring project management ROI, value to the organization and to customers, and much more. The capstone "super" case on the "Iridium Project" has been maintained, covering all aspects of project management. Increased use of sidebars throughout the book helps further align it with the PMBOK and the Project Management Professional (PMP®) Certification Exam. This new edition features significant expansion, including more than three dozen entirely new sections and updates on process supporting; types of project closure; project sponsorship; and culture, teamwork, and trust. This comprehensive guide to the principles and practices of project management: Offers new sections on added value, business intelligence, project governance, and much more Provides twenty-five case studies covering a variety of industries, almost all of which are real-world situations drawn from the author's practice Includes 400 discussion questions and more than 125 multiple-choice questions Serves as an excellent study guide for the PMP Certification Exam (PMI, PMBOK, PMP and Project Management Professional are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.)
Stakeholder-Oriented Project Management by
Stakeholder-oriented Project Management: Tools and Concepts, is about managing construction projects that are characterized by complexity and uncertainty. The management of such unpredictable projects requires a stakeholder-oriented approach focused on the interests of all stakeholders: powerful ones and those having little influence, experts and laymen, local and foreign parties involved. The author offers best management practices, concepts and computer tools to support this approach. The book is of interest to students and lecturers in Civil Engineering and Business Administration as well as to practitioners interested in deepening their insights into these fields.
People and Places in Project Management Research by
This book is the second in a series of volumes focused on publishing the latest thinking and findings in the field of project management research. It focuses on people and places and their role in projects and project management, and draws from conference papers presented at the Australian Institute of Project Management national conferences held in Australia in 2012, 2013 and 2014. Contributors here consist of both academics and practitioners with authors representing the latest developments in Australia, Indonesia and Saudi Arabia.
The Essentials of Project Management by
In recent years organizations of all kinds have learned that project working, once considered significant only for engineering and construction companies, can help to ensure that the intended benefits of business change will be realized in full and on time. This development means that more people than ever before need to understand the basic process, language and purpose of project working. That awareness is important not only for those actually engaged in project work, in all sectors of industry and commerce, but also for senior managers, project sponsors and the other stakeholders. The fourth edition of Essentials of Project Management is the junior complement to Dennis Lock's comprehensive, successful and encyclopaedic textbook, Project Management (now in its Tenth Edition). Essentials provides a concise, straightforward account of the principles and techniques of project management, designed to meet the needs of the business manager or student. Using examples and illustrations, the author introduces the key project management procedures and explains clearly how and when to use them. The Essentials of Project Management remains the ideal first text for anyone new to project working or students studying project management as part of a wider business qualification or degree.
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by
PMBOK® Guide is the go-to resource for project management practitioners. The project management profession has significantly evolved due to emerging technology, new approaches and rapid market changes. Reflecting this evolution, The Standard for Project Management enumerates 12 principles of project management and the PMBOK® Guide - Seventh Edition is structured around eight project performance domains. This edition is designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes. This edition of the PMBOK® Guide: Reflects the full range of development approaches (predictive, adaptive, hybrid, etc.); Provides an entire section devoted to tailoring the development approach and processes; Includes an expanded list of models, methods, and artifacts; Focuses on not just delivering project outputs but also enabling outcomes; and Integrates with PMIstandards+™ for information and standards application content based on project type, development approach, and industry sector.
Methods of IT Project Management by
Designed for graduate, advanced undergraduate, and practitioner project management courses with an information technology focus, Methods of IT Project Management is built around the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK). The text provides students with all of the concepts, techniques, and methods found in the leading project management reference books, while also conveying practical knowledge that can immediately be applied in real-world settings. Unlike other books in this field, the material is organized according to the sequence of the project management life cycle from initial overview, through initiation, execution, and control, to close out. Following this life cycle, as opposed to covering the material by knowledge area, allows students to simultaneously learn project management concepts and methods at the same time as they develop skills they can use immediately during and upon completion of the course. The Project Management Professional (PMP) certification issued by the Project Management Institute (PMI) is the world's leading certification in this field. To help students prepare, the authors have dedicated an appendix to practice study questions and give helpful advice on preparing for and passing the PMP exam. At the end of each chapter, the text provides one or more mini-cases based on the theme of a running case study that extends through the entire book. The mini-cases provide additional opportunities for students to apply project management concepts and techniques, and they are ideal for stimulating class discussions and debates. In addition, these cases also present thought-provoking scenarios to challenge the more advanced student.
Perspectives on Projects by
Modern project management had its genesis in the field of operations research in the late 1940s, but today it is a much more diverse subject. It has evolved and developed a much wider range of methods, techniques, and skills that the project manager can draw upon. Not all these skills are relevant to every project, but an assortment of them will be relevant to most. This book aims to describe for students, researchers and managers the full range of skills that project managers can use to develop their methodologies.The authors group the skills into nine perspectives, representing nine schools of project management research and theory. By attaching a metaphor to each of these perspectives, students, researchers and managers are better able to understand each approach and decide whether it is best suited to the development of a strategy for managing their project. Perspectives on Projects builds upon the various theoretical orientations that the field of project management has developed. Featuring several case studies, drawn from a variety of settings, to illustrate how the different schools can provide different perspectives on projects, this book is an ideal text for anyone involved in project management.
The Project Book by
** Winner AUSTRALIAN BUSINESS BOOK AWARDS - BEST GENERAL BUSINESS BOOK 2020 ** Finalist AUSTRALIAN BUSINESS BOOK AWARDS - BEST BOOK 2020 Deliver great projects every time Projects are the lifeblood of organisations, but many projects fall short of expectations because of poor project management and/or poor project sponsorship. In The Project Book, author and 20-year project management and sponsorship veteran Colin D Ellis teaches you the skills and behaviours required to make your projects succeed, every time. The best projects, whether they are delivered in an agile or waterfall way, are a result of the people that lead them and the environment they create. This fail-safe and comprehensive handbook shows you how to develop the mindset and communication skills to create projects that leave a legacy for you, your team and your organisation. Project leaders and senior managers in all business and technical disciplines will benefit from the insightful guidance this book offers and better project outcomes will result. Split into two parts, individually addressing Project Leaders and Project Sponsors, this book guides large project facilitators to understand the importance of people over processes. become a project leader that people trust build a team culture of collaboration, agility and creativity upskill executives so that they're catalysts for transformation develop the organisational discipline needed for successful projects create a mature environment for your projects to thrive Engaging, informative and humorous, The Project Book will help project managers, project sponsors, scrum masters and product owners across all organisations to deliver successful projects in a way that customers will talk about for years.
Project Management by
Dennis Lock's masterly exposition of the principles and practice of project management has been pre-eminent in its field for 45 years.The Tenth Edition of Project Management explains the entire project management process in great detail, and includes brand new chapters on implementing management change projects and the role of senior management support. Everything is reinforced throughout with case examples and diagrams, many new for this edition. As with previous editions, meticulous care has been taken to ensure that the text is reader-friendly and free of unnecessary jargon, with clear diagrams and a construction that is logically organized, well indexed and simple to navigate. The result is certain to maintain this book's acclaimed status as the standard work for managers and students alike.
Project Management Essentials by
If you're new to project management or need to refresh your knowledge, Project Management Essentials, Third Edition, is the quickest and easiest way to learn how to manage projects successfully. The simple techniques and templates in this book provide you with the essential tools you'll need to be an effective project manager. It's as simple as that. Read the book and discover: How to plan well - to decide on the right things to do; The key skills and knowledge you'll need to be effective; How to create an effective charter to start projects off right; Guidelines for building a usable project plan; Tips for breaking project work into manageable pieces; Techniques for estimating project cost and schedule; How to build a team; Strategies to deal with conflict, change, and risk; How to report on the progress of the project and keep everyone concerned happy. Project Management Essentials is written in short, clear chapters to make project management more easily understood. The authors, all valued senior faculty of PM College, use both their business experience and their academic backgrounds to make these chapters come alive. This updated edition complies with the latest project management standard, the PMBOK Guide 5th Edition.
The Project Risk Maturity Model by
Martin Hopkinson equips you with the ability to assess the capability of your organisation's risk management process on four distinct levels. This enables you to assess whether your current level of risk management is appropriate for the nature and scale of the projects you are undertaking. Using an objective measure of risk management capability is extremely valuable for organisations, both the private and public sector need to demonstrate good project governance and to reassure potential project partners of their qualities. Equally the Project Risk Maturity Model provides organisations with a measure for progress in the ongoing development of project managers and teams.Includes a full, free, working example of the Project Risk Maturity Model on CD.
The AMA Handbook of Project Management by
A must-read for any project management professional or student. Projects are the life blood of any organization. Revised to reflect the latest changes to A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK(R)) and the Project Management Professional Exam(R), the fourth edition of The AMA Handbook of Project Management provides readers with a clear overview of a complex discipline. Covering everything from individual projects to programs and strategic alignment, it addresses: Project initiation and planning Communication and interpersonal skills Scheduling, budgeting and meeting business objectives Managing political and resource issues Implementing a PMO Measuring value and competencies. The book compiles essays and advice from the field's top professionals and features new chapters on stakeholder management, agile project management, program management, project governance, knowledge management, and more. Updated with fresh examples, case studies and solutions to specific project management dilemmas, it remains an essential reference to the critical concepts and theories all project managers must master.
Project Management Theory Meets Practice by
Project Management Theory Meets Practice contains the proceedings from the 1st Danish Project Management Research Conference (DAPMARC 2015), held in Copenhagen, Denmark, on May 21st, 2015. The book presents a selection of state-of-the-art research, theory and models based on studies of project management practice. Topics include: Self-organizing agile management teams How Scrum influences the temporal environment Hidden goals and what you can do Frontloading your project Metaphors used to communicate in the project Maturity in project-portfolio management Value generation in projects Heroes as catalysts in projects Project Management Theory Meets Practice is published in cooperation with the Danish Project Management Association.