The Mixing Engineer's Handbook. 4th edn. (Print copy) by
Mixing music--the process of combining and shaping the component parts of a song into a polished, completed recording--was once considered an unteachable art. The first edition of Bobby Owsinski's The Mixing Engineer's Handbook destroyed that myth forever, breaking the craft of mixing down into discrete, understandable steps and showing musicians, audio engineers, and producers exactly how to get great results in the studio. The book has since become the go-to text on mixing for recording programs in colleges and universities around the world. Now available in a completely revised fourth edition, The Mixing Engineer's Handbook remains the best, most up-to-date source for mastering the art and science of creating pro-quality mixes Among the many topics covered in the book include: The six main elements of a mix that every engineer must know The secrets of equalization and the "magic frequencies" that make vocals and instruments come to life The rules of arrangement and how they impact your mix in a big way Advanced techniques expected of today's mixer, like track cleanup, adjusting track timing, pitch correction, sound replacement, and automation tricks Tips and tricks for adding effects, sonic layering, calculating delay, and much more The book also features interviews with 25 of the music industry's most successful and celebrated engineers, who share their expertise, insights, and philosophies about mixing the many hits they've worked on. Learn the art of mixing from start to finish, and pick up tips and techniques from the pros, with The Mixing Engineer's Handbook, Fourth Edition.
Alan Parsons' Art and Science of Sound Recording. (Print copy) by
(Technical Reference). More than simply the book of the award-winning DVD set, Art & Science of Sound Recording, the Book takes legendary engineer, producer, and artist Alan Parsons' approaches to sound recording to the next level. In book form, Parsons has the space to include more technical background information, more detailed diagrams, plus a complete set of course notes on each of the 24 topics, from "The Brief History of Recording" to the now-classic "Dealing with Disasters." Written with the DVD's coproducer, musician, and author Julian Colbeck, ASSR, the Book offers readers a classic "big picture" view of modern recording technology in conjunction with an almost encyclopedic list of specific techniques, processes, and equipment. For all its heft and authority authored by a man trained at London's famed Abbey Road studios in the 1970s ASSR, the Book is also written in plain English and is packed with priceless anecdotes from Alan Parsons' own career working with the Beatles, Pink Floyd, and countless others. Not just informative, but also highly entertaining and inspirational, ASSR, the Book is the perfect platform on which to build expertise in the art and science of sound recording.
Mastering Audio: the art and the science. 3rd end. (Print copy) by
In an easy-to-grasp, holistic manner Mastering Audio: The Art and the Science, Third Edition unravels the technical mysteries that regularly challenge audio engineers. Including practical tips and real world experiences, Bob Katz explains the technical detail of the subject in his informative and humorous style. Completely reorganized to focus on workflow, this third edition details mastering by providing a step-by-step approach to the process. First covering practical techniques and basic theory, this industry classicalso addresses advanced theory and practice. The book's new approach is especially suitable to accompany a one- or two-term course in audio and mastering. Completely rewritten and organized to address changes that will continue to influence the audio world, this third edition includes several new chapters addressing the influence of loudness measurement and assessment and provides explanation of how mastering engineers must integrate loudness measurement and PLR assessment in their mastering techniques. Mastering Audio: The Art and the Science, Third Editionalso includes the newest approaches to equalization, monitor response measurement and correction, the psychoacoustics of clipping, an extended discussion of restoration and noise reduction techniques, an extended set of listening examples, and an updated chapter on surround mastering including coverage of Pure Audio BluRay.
Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio. 2nd end. (Print copy) by
Discover how to achieve release-quality mixes even in the smallest studios by applying power-user techniques from the world's most successful producers. Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio is the best-selling primer for small-studio enthusiasts who want chart-ready sonics in a hurry. Drawing on the back-room strategies of more than 160 famous names, this entertaining and down-to-earth guide leads you step-by-step through the entire mixing process. On the way, you'll unravel the mysteries of every type of mix processing, from simple EQ and compression through to advanced spectral dynamics and "fairy dust" effects. User-friendly explanations introduce technical concepts on a strictly need-to-know basis, while chapter summaries and assignments are perfect for school and college use. ¿ Learn the subtle editing, arrangement, and monitoring tactics which give industry insiders their competitive edge, and master the psychological tricks which protect you from all the biggest rookie mistakes. ¿ Find out where you don't need to spend money, as well as how to make a limited budget really count. ¿ Pick up tricks and tips from leading-edge engineers working on today's multi-platinum hits, including Derek "MixedByAli" Ali, Michael Brauer, Dylan "3D" Dresdow, Tom Elmhirst, Serban Ghenea, Jacquire King, the Lord-Alge brothers, Tony Maserati, Manny Marroquin, Noah "50" Shebib, Mark "Spike" Stent, DJ Swivel, Phil Tan, Andy Wallace, Young Guru, and many, many more... Now extensively expanded and updated, including new sections on mix-buss processing, mastering, and the latest advances in plug-in technology.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
This link will take you to the subject guide for Music Production.
