Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mixing Audio: concepts, practices, and tools. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Mixing Audio: Concepts, Practices, and Tools, Third Edition is a vital read for anyone wanting to succeed in the field of mixing. This book covers the entire mixing process - from fundamental concepts to advanced techniques. Packed full of photos, graphs, diagrams, and audio samples, it teaches the importance of a mixing vision, how to craft and evaluate your mix, and then take it a step further. The book describes the theory, the tools used, and how these are put into practice while creating mixes. The companion website, featuring over 2,000 audio samples as well as Pro Tools/ Multitrack Audio Sessions, is a perfect complement to the third edition. The new edition includes: A new 'Mixing and The Brain' chapter that provides a cognitive/psychological overview of many aspects related to and affecting mixing engineers (and, to a narrow extent, listeners). Updated figures and text reflecting recent software updates and trends.
Call Number: 621.3893 IZH
Publication Date: 2017-10-31
Pro Tools 101: an introduction to Pro Tools 11 (Print copy) by PRO TOOLS 101 AN INTRODUCTION TO PRO TOOLS 11 takes a comprehensive approach to learning the fundamentals of Pro Tools systems. Now updated for Pro Tools 11 software, this new edition from the definitive authority on Pro Tools covers everything you need to know to complete a Pro Tools project. Learn to build sessions that include multitrack recordings of live instruments, MIDI sequences, and virtual instruments. Through hands-on tutorials, develop essential techniques for recording, editing, and mixing. The included DVD-ROM provides media files and Pro Tools sessions to accompany the exercises and projects in the text. PRO TOOLS 101 AN INTRODUCTION TO PRO TOOLS 11 is the first of two courses designed to prepare users for the Avid Pro Tools 11 Certified User exam. The second course, Pro Tools 110: Pro Tools Production I, is available exclusively through Avid Learning Partners. To find an Avid Learning Partner, please visit http://www.avid.com/support/training/find-partner.
Call Number: 781.36 COO
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
The MIDI Manual: a practical guide to MIDI in the project studio. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by The MIDI Manual is a complete reference on MIDI, written by a well-respected sound engineer and author. This best-selling guide provides a clear explanation of what MIDI is, how to use electronic instruments and an explanation of sequencers and how to use them. You will learn how to set up an efficient MIDI system and how to get the best out of your music. The MIDI Manual is packed full of useful tips and practical examples on sequencing and mixing techniques. It also covers editors/librarians, working with a score, MIDI in mass media and multimedia and synchronisation. The MIDI spec is set out in detail along with the helpful guidelines on using the implementation chart. Illustrated throughout with helpful photos and screengrabs, this is the most readable and clear book on MIDI available.
Call Number: 621.3893 HUB
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
Audio Effects: mixing and mastering. (Print copy) by Audio Effects: Theory, Implementation and Application explores digital audio effects relevant to audio signal processing and music informatics. It supplies fundamental background information on digital signal processing, focusing on audio-specific aspects that constitute the building block on which audio effects are developed. The text integrates theory and practice, relating technical implementation to musical implications. It can be used to gain an understanding of the operation of existing audio effects or to create new ones. In addition to delivering detailed coverage of common (and unusual) audio effects, the book discusses current digital audio standards, most notably VST and AudioUnit. Source code is provided in C/C++ and implemented as audio effect plug-ins with accompanying sound samples. Each section of the book includes study questions, anecdotes from the history of music technology, and examples that offer valuable real-world insight, making this an ideal resource for researchers and for students moving directly into industry.
Call Number: 621.3877 REI
Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Basic Mixing Techniques. (Print copy) by (Music Sales America). In music recording, the quality of a mix is every bit as important as the quality of the performance, and potential hit singles have been ruined by poor mixing. This helpful guide blows the lid off the secrets of mixing and explains in easy and illustrated terms how you can create a professional-quality recording with even the most basic equipment.
Call Number: 621.3893 WHI
Publication Date: 2006-01-01