Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Recording Engineer's Handbook. 4th edn. (Print copy) by Bobby Owsinski's The Recording Engineer's Handbook has become a music industry standard, and this fully updated fourth edition once again offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the art of audio recording. Written with special emphasis on today's technology and the evolving marketplace, The Recording Engineer's Handbook Fourth Edition includes a complete overview of recording as it's done by most musicians and producers today in their home studios. In the book's first section, you'll learn everything from how microphones work to specific techniques for recording drums, individual instruments, vocals and much more. In the second section you'll benefit from the wisdom and down-to-earth practical advice offered by a host recording professionals including all-time greats like Al Schmitt, Eddie Kramer, Frank Filipetti and many other others. Topics covered include: An overview of recording elements, including microphones, preamps, compressors and DAWs Recording techniques and placement guidance for just about any musical instrument or vocal Prepping and recording drums and percussion Basic tracking and overdub advice and strategies, and stereo and immersive audio recording techniques Interviews with some of the world's best hit-making engineers, and much more Learn the art of recording with renowned author, teacher, producer and engineer Bobby Owsinski, and, in the interviews, explore the creative processes behind not only today's hits but the classic cuts we've enjoyed for years. See for yourself why The Recording Engineer's Handbook, Fourth Edition is the book that's a standard text in college courses all over the world.
Call Number: 621.3893 OWS
Publication Date: 2017-01-15
Alan Parsons' Art and Science of Sound Recording. (Print copy) by (Technical Reference). More than simply the book of the award-winning DVD set, Art & Science of Sound Recording, the Book takes legendary engineer, producer, and artist Alan Parsons' approaches to sound recording to the next level. In book form, Parsons has the space to include more technical background information, more detailed diagrams, plus a complete set of course notes on each of the 24 topics, from "The Brief History of Recording" to the now-classic "Dealing with Disasters." Written with the DVD's coproducer, musician, and author Julian Colbeck, ASSR, the Book offers readers a classic "big picture" view of modern recording technology in conjunction with an almost encyclopedic list of specific techniques, processes, and equipment. For all its heft and authority authored by a man trained at London's famed Abbey Road studios in the 1970s ASSR, the Book is also written in plain English and is packed with priceless anecdotes from Alan Parsons' own career working with the Beatles, Pink Floyd, and countless others. Not just informative, but also highly entertaining and inspirational, ASSR, the Book is the perfect platform on which to build expertise in the art and science of sound recording.
Call Number: 621.3893 COL
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Recording Music on Location:capturing the live performance (Print copy) by Recording Music on Location provides an exceptional collection of information regarding all aspects of recording outside of the studio. Featuring clear explanations on how to achieve professional results, this book is divided into two distinct sections: popular music and classical music. Whether you record in the local rock club, jazz caf#65533;, or in an orchestra hall, Bartlett offers sage advice on each stage of the process of location recording. Packed with hints and tips, this book is a great reference for anyone planning to venture outside of the studio. Audio examples, tracking sheets, weblinks, and downloadable checklists are available on the companion website at www.focalpress.com/cw/bartlett. This edition has been thoroughly updated and includes new sections on iOS devices, USB thumb-drive recorders, and digital consoles with built-in recorders, along with updated specs on recording equipment, software, and hardware. This edition will also show you how to prepare recordings for the web and live audio streaming, and covers spectral analysis, noise reduction, and parallel compression. A new case study will go in depth on classical-music recording.
Call Number: 781.49 BAR
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
The Ultimate Live Sound Operator's Handbook by (Music Pro Guide Books & DVDs). The second edition of The Ultimate Live Sound Operator's Handbook is updated with new text, photos, illustrations, and video examples to specifically address the important, cutting-edge concerns faced by modern sound operators of all types. High-quality audio is increasingly imperative, whether you're running sound for a rock, country, punk, or jazz band performing in clubs, arenas, or outdoor parks. With the advent and implementation of large-budget multimedia presentations, along with high-resolution multichannel audio for movies, television, and downloads, any live act must sound great to be well received by today's increasingly savvy audience members. This revised handbook focuses on each aspect of live sound in a way that is straightforward and easy to understand, breaking the process down into principles and practices that assist the modern sound tech in everything from planning and budgeting to mixing and recording the live show.
Call Number: 621.3893 GIB
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
The Encyclopedia of Music: instruments of the orchestra and the great composers. (Print copy) by This comprehensive encyclopedia gives an overview of the way music has developed, beginning with ancient civilizations through to the present day. The section on music-making shows how different instruments, ensembles and orchestras evolved and all the different elements that co-ordinate to make them function. The book then looks at the greatest composers, exploring the lives and works of the people who shaped the fabulous repertoire of pieces that have brought joy, sadness, excitement and passion to millions of listeners for hundreds of years. Each family of instruments is discussed in detail: strings, woodwind and brass, percussion and keyboards, as well as a section on the voice. All the modern orchestral instruments and their relatives are covered, plus a range of more unusual instruments and non-Western examples. The book then provides an illustrated guide to the most influential composers, starting from medieval times: those who have defined or developed particular styles of composition, and who have created for themselves a significant place in music history. There are biographies covering the life and times of each composer, listing their most important works and placing them in their historical context. Over 100 composers are featured, including the pre-eminent Bach, Mozart and Beethoven, other greats such as Vivaldi, Schubert and Tchaikovsky, and modern composers such as Carter, Boulez and Stockhausen. Each entry is accompanied by a portrait or photograph, illustrations of the places where they lived, scenes from their ballets or operas, and examples of their original manuscripts. Comprehensively written and beautifully illustrated with over 1000 paintings, drawings and photographs, this is an indispensable reference for music lovers everywhere.
Call Number: 780.3 WAD
Publication Date: 2011-10-16
This link will take you to the subject guide for Music Production.
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Pro Tools 101: an introduction to Pro Tools 11 (Print copy) by PRO TOOLS 101 AN INTRODUCTION TO PRO TOOLS 11 takes a comprehensive approach to learning the fundamentals of Pro Tools systems. Now updated for Pro Tools 11 software, this new edition from the definitive authority on Pro Tools covers everything you need to know to complete a Pro Tools project. Learn to build sessions that include multitrack recordings of live instruments, MIDI sequences, and virtual instruments. Through hands-on tutorials, develop essential techniques for recording, editing, and mixing. The included DVD-ROM provides media files and Pro Tools sessions to accompany the exercises and projects in the text. PRO TOOLS 101 AN INTRODUCTION TO PRO TOOLS 11 is the first of two courses designed to prepare users for the Avid Pro Tools 11 Certified User exam. The second course, Pro Tools 110: Pro Tools Production I, is available exclusively through Avid Learning Partners. To find an Avid Learning Partner, please visit http://www.avid.com/support/training/find-partner.
Call Number: 781.36 COO
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
The Studio SOS Book: Solutions and Techniques for the Project Recording Studio. (Print copy) by Professional studio design is a specialized science, with more than a touch of "black magic" thrown in. Over the past few years, Sound on Soundmagazine has made one trip each month to a reader's studio. These visits have demonstrated that it is fairly simple to make a huge improvement to an untreated project-studio room, without spending a fortune. However, they've also proven that beginners' attempts at DIY acoustic treatments often cause more problems than they solve. Utilizing knowledge from dozens of visits to readers' home and project studios, the SOS team imparts easy-to-understand, organized troubleshooting advice. Learn how to rid yourself of monitoring problems and get an accurate monitoring system, how to enhance the sound of your recording space, and how to perfect your instrumental and vocal recordings. Decrease the time you spend re-recording and mixing, simply by improving your room with advice from the guys who have seen it all when it comes to make-do small studios. Contains: A structured look at the problems that most often plague small studios, with individual studio case studies addressing each issue Real solutions that you can both afford and implement; no thousand-dollar investments or idealized studio designs that don't work with your space! Case studies that look at small studios' specific problems, with additional break-outs tips that address quick fixes to common problems
Call Number: 781.49 LOC
Publication Date: 2013-04-26
Modern Recording Techniques. 9th edn. (Print copy) by Modern Recording Techniquesis the bestselling, authoritative guide to sound and music recording. Whether you're just starting out or are looking for a step-up in the industry, Modern Recording Techniquesprovides an in-depth read on the art and technologies of music production. It's a must-have reference for all audio bookshelves. Using its familiar and accessible writing style, this ninth edition has been fully updated, presenting the latest production technologies and includes an in-depth coverage of the DAW, networked audio, MIDI, signal processing and much more. A robust companion website features video tutorials, web-links, an online glossary, flashcards, and a link to the author's blog. Instructor resources include a test bank and an instructor's manual. The ninth edition includes: Updated tips, tricks and insights for getting the best out of your studio An introduction to the Apple iOS in music production Introductions to new technologies and important retro studio techniques The latest advancements in DAW systems, signal processing, mixing and mastering
Call Number: 621.3893 HUB
Publication Date: 2017-11-03
The Science of Sound Recording. (Print copy) by The Science of Soundnbsp;Recordingnbsp;will providenbsp;you with more than just an introduction to sound and recording, it will allow you to dive rightnbsp;into some of the technical areas thatnbsp;oftennbsp;appear overwhelming to anyone without an electrical engineering or physics background.nbsp;nbsp; The Sciencenbsp;of Sound Recordingnbsp;helps you build a basic foundation of scientific principles, explaining how recording really works. Packed with valuable must know information,nbsp;illustrations and examples of 'worked through' equationsnbsp;this booknbsp;introduces thenbsp;theory behind sound recording practices in a logical and practical way whilenbsp;placingnbsp;an emphasis on the concepts of measurement as they relate to sound recording, physical principles of mechanics and acoustics, biophysics of hearing, introduction to electronics, analog and digital recording theory and how science determines mixing techniques.
Call Number: 621.3893 KAD
Publication Date: 2012-02-17
The Science of Sound Recording. (E-book) by The Science of Soundnbsp;Recordingnbsp;will providenbsp;you with more than just an introduction to sound and recording, it will allow you to dive rightnbsp;into some of the technical areas thatnbsp;oftennbsp;appear overwhelming to anyone without an electrical engineering or physics background.nbsp;nbsp; The Sciencenbsp;of Sound Recordingnbsp;helps you build a basic foundation of scientific principles, explaining how recording really works. Packed with valuable must know information,nbsp;illustrations and examples of 'worked through' equationsnbsp;this booknbsp;introduces thenbsp;theory behind sound recording practices in a logical and practical way whilenbsp;placingnbsp;an emphasis on the concepts of measurement as they relate to sound recording, physical principles of mechanics and acoustics, biophysics of hearing, introduction to electronics, analog and digital recording theory and how science determines mixing techniques.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-02-17
Eargle's Microphone Book: from Mono to stereo to surround: a guide to microphone design and application. 4th edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by Eargle's Microphone Bookis the only guide you will ever need for the latest in microphone technology, application and technique. This new edition features more on microphone arrays and wireless microphones, new material on digital models; the latest developments in surround; expanded advice on studio set up, recording and mic selection. Ray A. Rayburn provides detailed analysis of the different types of microphones available and addresses their application through practical examples of actual recording sessions and studio operations. The book takes you into the studio or concert hall to see how performers are positioned and how the best microphone array is determined. Problem areas such as reflections, studio leakage and isolation are analyzed from practical viewpoints. Creative solutions to stereo sound staging, perspective, and balance are covered in detail. Eargle's Microphone Bookis an invaluable resource for learning the 'why' as well as the 'how' of choosing and placing a microphone for any situation.
Call Number: 621.38284 RAY
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Recording Studio Design. 4th edn. (Print copy) by Recording Studio Design, Fourth Edition explains the key principles of successful studio design and construction using straightforward language and the use of practical examples appreciated by readers of previous editions. Updated to reflect new industry standards, this fourth edition addresses improvements in cinema sound, with specific attention paid to B-chain electroacoustic response and calibration. Using over 50 years¿ experience, author Philip Newell provides detail on the practical aspects of recording in various environments, not only exploring the complex issues relating to the acoustics but also providing real-world solutions. While the book contains detailed discussions about performing rooms, control rooms, and mobile studios, concepts of the infrastructures are also discussed, because no studio can perform optimally unless the technical and human requirements are adequately provided for. In this new edition, sound for cinema provides a platform for highlighting many, wider electroacoustic topics in a way that is relatively easy to visualise. The way in which sound and vision interact is an important aspect of many modern multimedia formats. The new edition includes: A new Chapter 22 that will thoroughly reflect recently published SMPTE investigations which will drastically impact standards for cinema sound; The inclusion of new academic research and its practical applications; An entire new illustrated chapter on room construction principles; and The consolidation of ideas which were only emerging when the earlier editions were published.
Call Number: 621.3893 NEW
Publication Date: 2017
Sound on Sound - Current and back issues available in the library and students can be given the username and password for the online version on request