Pro Tools 101: an introduction to Pro Tools 11 (Print copy) by Frank D. CookPRO TOOLS 101 AN INTRODUCTION TO PRO TOOLS 11 takes a comprehensive approach to learning the fundamentals of Pro Tools systems. Now updated for Pro Tools 11 software, this new edition from the definitive authority on Pro Tools covers everything you need to know to complete a Pro Tools project. Learn to build sessions that include multitrack recordings of live instruments, MIDI sequences, and virtual instruments. Through hands-on tutorials, develop essential techniques for recording, editing, and mixing. The included DVD-ROM provides media files and Pro Tools sessions to accompany the exercises and projects in the text. PRO TOOLS 101 AN INTRODUCTION TO PRO TOOLS 11 is the first of two courses designed to prepare users for the Avid Pro Tools 11 Certified User exam. The second course, Pro Tools 110: Pro Tools Production I, is available exclusively through Avid Learning Partners. To find an Avid Learning Partner, please visit http://www.avid.com/support/training/find-partner.
Sound and Recording: applications and theory. 7th edn. (Print copy) by Francis Rumsey; Tim McCormickProviding vital reading for audio students and trainee engineers, this guide is ideal for anyone who wants a solid grounding in both theory and industry practices in audio, sound and recording. There are many books on the market covering "how to work it" when it comes to audio equipment--but Sound and Recordingisn't one of them. Instead, you'll gain an understanding of "how it works" with this approachable guide to audio systems. New to this edition: Digital audio section revised substantially to include the latest developments in audio networking (e.g. RAVENNA, AES X-192, AVB), high-resolution surround and parametric audio coding, workstation processing technology, mastering for iTunes, and loudness normalization Coverage of immersive audio systems such as Dolby Atmos, Auro 3D and WFS along with recent developments in audio object coding Sections on digital radio microphones, loudspeaker sensitivity issues and development, and highly directional loudspeaker systems Substantial new sections on recent developments in audio network device discovery and control and the Open Control Architecture
Call Number: 621.3893 RUM
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
The Studio SOS Book: Solutions and Techniques for the Project Recording Studio. (Print copy) by Dave Lockwood; Hugh Robjohns; Paul WhiteProfessional studio design is a specialized science, with more than a touch of "black magic" thrown in. Over the past few years, Sound on Soundmagazine has made one trip each month to a reader's studio. These visits have demonstrated that it is fairly simple to make a huge improvement to an untreated project-studio room, without spending a fortune. However, they've also proven that beginners' attempts at DIY acoustic treatments often cause more problems than they solve. Utilizing knowledge from dozens of visits to readers' home and project studios, the SOS team imparts easy-to-understand, organized troubleshooting advice. Learn how to rid yourself of monitoring problems and get an accurate monitoring system, how to enhance the sound of your recording space, and how to perfect your instrumental and vocal recordings. Decrease the time you spend re-recording and mixing, simply by improving your room with advice from the guys who have seen it all when it comes to make-do small studios. Contains: A structured look at the problems that most often plague small studios, with individual studio case studies addressing each issue Real solutions that you can both afford and implement; no thousand-dollar investments or idealized studio designs that don't work with your space! Case studies that look at small studios' specific problems, with additional break-outs tips that address quick fixes to common problems
Call Number: 781.49 LOC
Publication Date: 2013-04-26
Modern Recording Techniques. 9th edn. (Print copy) by David Miles Huber; Robert E. RunsteinModern Recording Techniquesis the bestselling, authoritative guide to sound and music recording. Whether you're just starting out or are looking for a step-up in the industry, Modern Recording Techniquesprovides an in-depth read on the art and technologies of music production. It's a must-have reference for all audio bookshelves. Using its familiar and accessible writing style, this ninth edition has been fully updated, presenting the latest production technologies and includes an in-depth coverage of the DAW, networked audio, MIDI, signal processing and much more. A robust companion website features video tutorials, web-links, an online glossary, flashcards, and a link to the author's blog. Instructor resources include a test bank and an instructor's manual. The ninth edition includes: Updated tips, tricks and insights for getting the best out of your studio An introduction to the Apple iOS in music production Introductions to new technologies and important retro studio techniques The latest advancements in DAW systems, signal processing, mixing and mastering
Call Number: 621.3893 HUB
Publication Date: 2017-11-03
The Science of Sound Recording. (Print copy) by Jay KadisThe Science of Soundnbsp;Recordingnbsp;will providenbsp;you with more than just an introduction to sound and recording, it will allow you to dive rightnbsp;into some of the technical areas thatnbsp;oftennbsp;appear overwhelming to anyone without an electrical engineering or physics background.nbsp;nbsp; The Sciencenbsp;of Sound Recordingnbsp;helps you build a basic foundation of scientific principles, explaining how recording really works. Packed with valuable must know information,nbsp;illustrations and examples of 'worked through' equationsnbsp;this booknbsp;introduces thenbsp;theory behind sound recording practices in a logical and practical way whilenbsp;placingnbsp;an emphasis on the concepts of measurement as they relate to sound recording, physical principles of mechanics and acoustics, biophysics of hearing, introduction to electronics, analog and digital recording theory and how science determines mixing techniques.
Call Number: 621.3893 KAD
Publication Date: 2012-02-17
The Science of Sound Recording. (E-book) by Jay KadisThe Science of Soundnbsp;Recordingnbsp;will providenbsp;you with more than just an introduction to sound and recording, it will allow you to dive rightnbsp;into some of the technical areas thatnbsp;oftennbsp;appear overwhelming to anyone without an electrical engineering or physics background.nbsp;nbsp; The Sciencenbsp;of Sound Recordingnbsp;helps you build a basic foundation of scientific principles, explaining how recording really works. Packed with valuable must know information,nbsp;illustrations and examples of 'worked through' equationsnbsp;this booknbsp;introduces thenbsp;theory behind sound recording practices in a logical and practical way whilenbsp;placingnbsp;an emphasis on the concepts of measurement as they relate to sound recording, physical principles of mechanics and acoustics, biophysics of hearing, introduction to electronics, analog and digital recording theory and how science determines mixing techniques.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2012-09-10
Eargle's Microphone Book: from Mono to stereo to surround: a guide to microphone design and application. 4th edn. (Print copy) by Ray A. RayburnEargle's Microphone Bookis the only guide you will ever need for the latest in microphone technology, application and technique. This new edition features more on microphone arrays and wireless microphones, new material on digital models; the latest developments in surround; expanded advice on studio set up, recording and mic selection. Ray A. Rayburn provides detailed analysis of the different types of microphones available and addresses their application through practical examples of actual recording sessions and studio operations. The book takes you into the studio or concert hall to see how performers are positioned and how the best microphone array is determined. Problem areas such as reflections, studio leakage and isolation are analyzed from practical viewpoints. Creative solutions to stereo sound staging, perspective, and balance are covered in detail. Eargle's Microphone Bookis an invaluable resource for learning the 'why' as well as the 'how' of choosing and placing a microphone for any situation.
Call Number: 621.38284 RAY
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Recording Studio Design. 4th edn. (Print copy) by Philip NewellRecording Studio Design, Fourth Edition explains the key principles of successful studio design and construction using straightforward language and the use of practical examples appreciated by readers of previous editions. Updated to reflect new industry standards, this fourth edition addresses improvements in cinema sound, with specific attention paid to B-chain electroacoustic response and calibration. Using over 50 years¿ experience, author Philip Newell provides detail on the practical aspects of recording in various environments, not only exploring the complex issues relating to the acoustics but also providing real-world solutions. While the book contains detailed discussions about performing rooms, control rooms, and mobile studios, concepts of the infrastructures are also discussed, because no studio can perform optimally unless the technical and human requirements are adequately provided for. In this new edition, sound for cinema provides a platform for highlighting many, wider electroacoustic topics in a way that is relatively easy to visualise. The way in which sound and vision interact is an important aspect of many modern multimedia formats. The new edition includes: A new Chapter 22 that will thoroughly reflect recently published SMPTE investigations which will drastically impact standards for cinema sound; The inclusion of new academic research and its practical applications; An entire new illustrated chapter on room construction principles; and The consolidation of ideas which were only emerging when the earlier editions were published.
Call Number: 621.3893 NEW
Publication Date: 2017
Sound on Sound - Current and back issues available in the library and students can be given the username and password for the online version on request