The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment by
Psychological assessment has always paralleled the growth of psychology and its specialties, and it is not an overstatement to say that measurement and assessment are the cornerstones of psychology, providing the tools and techniques for gathering information to inform our understanding ofhuman behavior. However, the continued growth and new developments in the assessment literature requires an ongoing examination of the principles and practices of central importance to psychological assessment.The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment covers all areas of child and adolescent assessment. Leaders in the field summarize and synthesize state-of-the-science assessment theories, techniques, and applications. Placing an emphasis on clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues,chapters explore issues related to the foundations, models, special topics, and practice of psychological assessment. Appropriate as a desk reference or a cover-to-cover read, this comprehensive volume surveys fundamental principles of child assessment, including ability, achievement, behavior, andpersonality; covers the role of theory and measurement in psychological assessment; and presents new methods and data.
Psychological Testing by
Establishes a solid foundation of knowledge about psychological testing Psychological testing impacts virtually every corner of modern life, from education to vocation to remediation. Psychological Testing: History, Principles, and Applications, covers all variations of testing and explores social issues testing raises. This program provides readers extensive knowledge about the characteristics, objectives, and wide-ranging effects of psychological testing.
Executive Functions and the Frontal Lobes by
This volume has as its primary aim the examination of issues concerning executive function and frontal lobe development. While many texts have addressed these issues, this is the first to do so within a specifically developmental framework. This area of cognitive function has received increasing attention over the past decade, and it is now established that the frontal lobes, and associated executive functions, are critical for efficient functioning in daily life. It is also clear, and of particular relevance to this text, that these functions develop gradually through childhood, and then deteriorate during old age. These developmental trajectories, and the impact of any interruption to them, are the focus of this volume.
Changing Educational Assessment by
Assessment is a key area of interest and debate in education. Its increased use by governments as a powerful means of influencing educational practice are now features of the educational scene worldwide. This volume was the first major international review of such developments and it explores the impact of assessment on all areas of education, from teaching skills to policy-making. The contributors take a global perspective to spotlight the common problems facing teachers and students, policy-makers and politicians through the world as they seek to reconcile issues of equity and national development, educational imperatives and finite state resources. The contributions discuss the changing role of assessment and public examinations, and consider such specific issues as the development of a market economy in educational provision, the difficulties of measuring standards in international studies, and accreditation of absolute rather than relative competencies.
The Development of Children's Thinking by
The Development of Children's Thinking offers undergraduate and graduate students in psychology and other disciplines an introduction to several core areas of developmental psychology. It examines recent empirical research within the context of longstanding theoretical debates. In particular, it shows how a grasp of classic theories within developmental psychology is vital for a grasp of new areas of research such as cognitive neuroscience that have impacted on our understanding of how children develop. The focus of this book will be on infancy and childhood, and it looks at: Theories and context of development How developmental psychology attempts to reconcile influences of nature and nurture Communication in infancy as a precursor to later thinking Language development in primates and young children Cognitive and social development, including the child's understanding of the mind How studies of moral reasoning reflect upon our understanding of development
Children's needs - parenting capacity. Child abuse: parental mental illness, learning disability, substance misuse and domestic violence 2nd ed. by 
Educational Evaluation, Assessment and Monitoring by
This book looks at the foundations of school self-evaluation from a scientific as from a practical perspective. Planning concepts, restructuring of education systems, organizational theory on schools, evaluation methodology and models of school effectiveness and school improvement are discussed as contributing to the overall conceptualization of school self-evaluation. A broad range of approaches is presented and methodological requirements are discussed. School self-evaluation contains controversial issues that reflect tension between the need for objectivity in a context that is permeated by values and potential conflicts of interests. Similar tensions may be seen to exist with respect to the static and "reductionist" aspects of available data collection procedures in a complex and dynamic situation and the appeal for external accountability on the one hand and improvement oriented self-refection on the other. The mission of the book is to clarify these tensions and offer ways to deal with them in practical applications. The school effectiveness knowledge base is offered as a substantive educational frame of references that serves an important function in selecting relevant factors for data collection and the use of the evaluation results.
Cognitive Development by
Cognitive Development: The Learning Brain is a thoroughly revised and updated edition of the bestselling Cognition in Children. This full-color textbook has been re-written from the perspective of brain science and shows how new discoveries in cognitive neuroscience force us to reconsider traditional theories of cognitive development. Goswami considers the established base of cognitive developmental psychology and demonstrates how new data from brain science require a new theoretical framework based on learning. This book presents a new paradigm for teaching cognitive development, going beyond Piaget to learning and the brain. Conceptualizing cognitive development around three core domains of human knowledge - naïve physics, naïve biology and naïve psychology - the book considers the learning mechanisms available to the infant brain. Each chapter explores how these mechanisms affect different aspects of cognitive development. Starting with the development of these foundational domains in infancy, Goswami goes on to consider social cognition, language acquisition, causal learning and explanation-based reasoning, and theory of mind. Later chapters explore memory, reasoning, metacognition, executive functions, reading and numbers. The final chapter analyzes the contribution of more traditional theoretical perspectives (Piaget and Vygotsky), linking these to connectionism and neuroconstructivism. The intimate links between language acquisition and symbolic systems, cognitive development and social/cultural learning form the core of the book. This valuable textbook is essential reading for teachers and students of developmental and cognitive psychology, as well as education, language and the learning sciences. It will also be of interest to anyone training to work with infants and children. Cognitive Development: The Learning Brain is supported by online Student and Instructor Resources, access to which is free of charge to adopters of the book and their students.
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development by
This definitive volume is the result of collaboration by topscholars in the field of children's cognition. New edition offers an up-to-date overview of all the majorareas of importance in the field, and includes new data fromcognitive neuroscience and new chapters on social cognitivedevelopment and language Provides state-of-the-art summaries of current research byinternational specialists in different areas of cognitivedevelopment Spans aspects of cognitive development from infancy to theonset of adolescence Includes chapters on symbolic reasoning, pretend play, spatialdevelopment, abnormal cognitive development and current theoreticalperspectives
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
The Development of Working Memory in Children by
Using the highly influential working memory framework as a guide, this textbook provides a clear comparison of the memory development of typically developing children with that of atypical children. The emphasis on explaining methodology throughout the book gives students a real understanding about the way experiments are carried out and how to critically evaluate experimental research. The first half of the book describes the working memory model and goes on to consider working memory development in typically developing children. The second half of the book considers working memory development in several different types of atypical populations who have intellectual disabilities and/or developmental disorders. In addition, the book considers how having a developmental disorder and/or intellectual disabilities may have separate or combined effects on the development of working memory. The Development of Working Memory in Children is for undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses in development/child psychology, cognitive development and developmental disorders.
Psychological Testing by
Psychological Testing: A Practical Introduction,3rd Edition provides a comprehensive introduction tomajor psychometric principles, accompanied by "real world" examplesdemonstrating test usage in contemporary practice. The textexplores concepts including reliability, validity, normsdevelopment, approaches to both norm-referenced andcriterion-referenced interpretation, methods of studying test bias,and procedures for test development. Additionally, the bookis written in clear, student-friendly language, without omittingdifficult issues and concepts. The book describes examples oftests in major domains, including intelligence, personality (bothobjective and projective), clinical methods, achievement, interestsand attitudes, and neuropsychology.
Understanding Psychological Testing by
This book explains all aspects of psychological tests including how they are constructed and standardized. The advantages and pitfalls of tests are described and attention is given to reliability and validity. Information on becoming a test user and a guide for test takers are also included.
The Worth Expert Guide to Scientific Literacy: Thinking Like a Psychological Scientist by
Worth Expert Guide to Scientific Literacy: Thinking Like a Psychological Scientist walks you through thinking like a scientist in order to process complex information easier and better judge accuracy in scientific claims.
The Learning Sciences in Educational Assessment by
There is mounting hope in the United States that federal legislation in the form of No Child Left Behind will improve educational outcomes. As titanic as the challenge appears to be, however, the solution could be at our fingertips. This volume identifies visual types of cognitive models in reading, science, and mathematics for researchers, test developers, school administrators, policy makers, and teachers. In the process of identifying these cognitive models, the book also explores methodological or translation issues to consider as decisions are made about how to generate psychologically informative and psychometrically viable large-scale assessments based on the learning sciences. Initiatives to overhaul educational systems in disrepair may begin with national policies, but the success of these policies will hinge on how well stakeholders begin to rethink what is possible with a keystone of the educational system: large-scale assessment.
Child Development by
In the Third Edition of the topically organized Child Development: An Active Learning Approach, authors Laura E. Levine and Joyce A. Munsch invite students to take an active journey toward understanding the latest findings from the field of child development. Using robust pedagogical tools built into the chapter narratives, students are challenged to confront myths and misconceptions, participate in real-world activities with children and independently, and utilize video resources and research tools to pursue knowledge and develop critical thinking skills on their own. This new edition covers the latest findings on developmental neuroscience, positive youth development, the role of fathers, and more, with topics of diversity and culture integrated throughout. More than a textbook, this one-of-a-kind resource will continue to serve students as they go on to graduate studies, to work with children and adolescents professionally, and to care for children of their own.
Understanding Cognitive Development by
Understanding Cognitive Development provides a fresh, evidence-based research perspective on the story of children's cognitive development in the first ten years of human life. Starting with a brief survey of the key theoretical positions that have come to define developmental psychology, the textbook then focuses on the different cognitive abilities as they emerge throughout early development. Uniquely, it examines these in terms of their interdependence; that is how skills such as perception, memory, language and reasoning relate to one another. This holistic treatment allows students to see the many important intersections in this critical phase of human life development. This textbook employs a novel design that will be of immense help to both students and instructors and is intended to be read at two levels: at the first level, it provides a fully referenced explanatory account of experimental research on cognitive development with complete attention to the needs of students who have never been exposed to experimental methodology nor studies in cognitive development before. At the second level, and mapped directly onto numbered sub-sections within the text, the author uses illustrative panels designed along the lines of PowerPoint presentations to summarise studies and key findings, employing lots of pictorial material together with bullet-points to give vividness and texture to the material covered. These panels are replicated on the accompanying companion website in PowerPoint for lecturers and students to make further use of in teaching and revision. Revision points are provided at the end of every chapter. Rich in academic coverage, including a widespread database of the most important empirical research in the field, this textbook will be essential reading for students of cognitive development and developmental psychology across psychology and education.
Research Methods in Early Childhood by
Research is something many Early Childhood Studies students find intimidating. As a result this book has been designed with early childhood student in mind to help them through the research process. The book covers the whole research journey exploring the different methodologies & principles as well as how to undertake a research project, making it a whole course companion. Following a linear and progressive structure, it logically helps students work through their course and introduces the topics to beginners in simple and clearly explained terms. Once students have gained confidence, they are able to delve into the further reading suggestions and the research in focus boxes which look at international published examples of research to understand the real world effects and implications. Activities throughout help cement knowledge and case studies giving examples and scenarios of real student research show readers how to present their own findings. A brand new reader guide to research to aid navigation and a new chapter on research proposals are now also included. This new Third Edition is also complemented by online resources that offer valuable additional resources for both instructors and students, including: Videos per-chapter relating to chapter outcomes supported by critical questions Flashcard glossary to consolidate learning MCQs to test understanding Testbank of questions for assignment setting Free journal articles for wider reading PowerPoint slides If you would like to integrate these resources into your university's learning management system, use the testbanks for assement or practice, and seamlessly direct your students to the freely available extra materials, please get in touch with your local rep. Penny Mukherji and Deborah Albon will be discussing ideas from Research Methods in Early Childhood in Doing Your Early Years Research Project, a SAGE Masterclass for early years students and practitioners in collaboration with Kathy Brodie. Find out more here.
Psychological Testing: Principles and Applications by 
Child Psychopathology by
This textbook covers the classification, causes, treatment and prevention of psychological disorders in the infant through the adolescent years. Chapters balance the social and historical context of psychopathology with the physiological roots of abnormal behavior, leading students to a comprehensive understanding of child psychopathology. The book is totally up-to-date, including coverage of the DSM-5 and criticisms of it. In four parts, this textbook describes the empirical bases of child psychopathology as well as the practice of child psychologists, outlining the classification and causes of disorders in addition to methods of assessment, intervention and treatment. Students will be able to evaluate the treatments used by professionals and debunk popular myths about atypical behavior and its treatment. Complementing the lively writing style, text boxes, clinical case studies and numerous examples from international cultures and countries add context to chapter material. Study questions, diagrams and a glossary offer further learning support.
A History of Psychology by
A contemporary and engaging student friendly text with a multinational focus conveys the dynamism of the science of psychology. Student focused features offer social context, explore interdisciplinary relationships, reinforce critical thinking and ultimately show the impact and application of the science. Key features: - Each chapter begins with a highly engaging vignette or opening case, which features a familiar-to-most-students theme or topic. - Multinational and multicultural emphasis examines the development of psychology from around the world. - The text examines contemporary psychology yet does not give short shrift to the roots of psychology. - Each chapter contains a section on the impact of psychology on society as well as societal influences on the discipline which includes its influence in various fields such as medicine, education, work, criminal justice, business, advertising, and entertainment. - ′Case In Point′ boxes give students the opportunity to come to their own conclusions about issues and think critically about biases that may have influenced psychology. - Chapter opening time charts place main events, names, and theories in a visual, chronological perspective of psychology′s past and present - ′In their own words′ boxes display quotes made by famous psychologists and other scholars about psychological research and its applications - Checkpoints, chapter summaries and end-of-chapter key terms help students review and prepare for exams
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development by
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood SocialDevelopment, Second Edition presents an authoritativeand up-to-date overview of research and theory concerning a child'ssocial development from pre-school age to the onset of adolescence. Presents the most up-to-date research and theories on childhoodsocial development Features chapters by an international cast of leaders in theirfields Includes comprehensive coverage of a range of disciplinaryperspectives Offers all new chapters on children and the environment,cultural influences, history of childhood, interventions, andneuro-psychological perspectives Represents an essential resource for students and researchersof childhood social development
Developmental Psychology and Early Childhood Education by
The importance of high quality early childhood education is now universally recognised, and this quality crucially depends upon the practitioners who work with our young children, and their deep understanding of how children develop and learn. This book makes a vital contribution to this understanding, providing authoritative reviews of key areas of research in developmental psychology, and demonstrating how these can inform practice in early years educational settings. The book′s major theme is the fundamental importance of young children developing as independent, self-regulating learners. It illustrates how good practice is based on four key principles which support and encourage this central aspect of development: - secure attachment and emotional warmth - feelings of control and agency - cognitive challenge, adults supporting learning and children learning from one another - articulation about learning, and opportunities for self-expression. Each chapter includes: - typical and significant questions which arise in practice related to that area of development - an up-to-date review of key research, including insights from observational and experimental work with young children, from evolutionary psychology, and from neuroscientific studies of the developing brain - practical exercises intended to deepen understanding and to inform practice - questions for discussion - recommended further reading. This book provides an invaluable resource for early years students and practitioners, by summarizing new research findings and demonstrating how they can be translated into excellent early years practice. Watch this video of David Whitebread at his book launch, presenting the key points of the book and his reasons for writing it. David Whitebread is Senior Lecturer in Developmental Psychology and Early Years Education in the Faculty of Education, University of Cambridge.' David Whitebread will be discussing key ideas from Developmental Psychology and Early Childhood Education in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
